We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you value your life don't go!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam
Ranked #31 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you value your life don't go!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed at this beach resort in the little hut's to the rear of the hotel. The first night we were there we were robbed whilst sleeping. I woke up at 4 am to find all our money, camera and ipod had gone and the door was broken into. (there is supposed to be security everywhere). When we went to report it to reception the manager was talking to us the next minute they dragged in a security guard and had a shot gun to his head and they were beating him. The manager said they caught him pinching wood so it could of been him.
The manager was accomadating and moved us into the hotel area free of charge, whilst we were there we kept asking for a poilce report only to be told things take a long time in Tanzania it will be here tomorrow, tommorow came and went no police report we were then told we would be emailed it when we got back to england.....you guessed it were still waiting.
We were also told that an italian couple walking down the beach had all there belonging's stolen and they were actually knifed as well so if your young and value your life just don't go......Awful experience...The plus side the staff who worked at the hotel were really nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank claireloupul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoungWorldTraveller, Owner at Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Dear Customer,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, any merits and criticisms are taken seriously. It is unfortunate that out of so many of our customers, local and international, you did not have an enjoyable experience with us at South Beach Resort. Please let us inform you that since your incident last year, we have upgraded and hired much better security (a reputable private security firm) and are pleased to say that your incident is one of isolation and has not reoccurred. We would also like to mention that any armed guards on the premises are never within view of our guests. We have never had any issues nor do such a thing that you mention in your review as we remain as professional as can be in all our services seen and unseen.
It is unfortunate that we were unable to obtain any police reports, not through lack of trying and following up on your issue but in receiving cooperation in the matter with the local authorities, we humbly apologize for any inconvenience albeit such an outcome was not within our control.
Dar-es-Salaam is a safe city, but as any other, one must take precautions when strolling around at night and in less developed areas. South Beach actively looks after its guests within its resort premises and across the beach in front of it. Guests have found the walk down the beach during sunset or in the afternoon to be of breath taking beauty where there are also other hotels on the strip. We also warn that going in the opposite direction where there is no further major developments to be unsafe and tread at one's own risk.
We humbly invite you to return so that we may show you how much fun and relaxing the resort is and apologise again for any unsatisfying experiences you may have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    20
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
20
12
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We travelled to Dar for our 10th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful, relaxing time!! South Beach was quick to confirm our booking via email and arranged pickup at the airport at 02:30 in the morning. Although we booked one of the traditional huts, we "upgraded" to the hotel for a more luxurious experience. Food was delicious and service excellent. We enjoyed the company of the manager who was eager to share the do's and dont's of Dar and we appreciated his input. We would recommend South Beach without a doubt, although it gets a bit noisy and crowded over weekends, but the music stops at 22:00 so a peaceful sleep will follow. They also have DSTV at the bar so we were able to enjoy our South African rugby while the locals were partying away!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

On arriving at 03:00 am via thier very efficient airport transfer, we were allowed to check in and upgraded into thier hotel (we had initially booked for their Cabana's). The view from our third floor balcony was fantastic and all the facilities in the room made for a very pleasent experience. We were advised that we would have to move to the Cabana's over the weekend, which we duly did. The Cabana's were basic but proved to be very comfortable. However, the bathroom facilities were awful - they had not been cleaned and our numerous requests for this were ignored. It must also be said that while our overall experience was a pleasent one, we did find the crowds of day visitors on the weekend to be rather overwhelming. The service we received, with the exception for our requests to clean the bathrooms, was good. The resort is located a fair distance from the main city and our trip would have been enhanced had we hired a car - as public transport to a from the hotel proved to be rather costly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rdaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

This was my first time in Dar es Salaam. I had expected a dusty, crowded, unsafe city and prepared for a tiring and tedious few days. I was pleasantly surprised when I found South Beach on the internet on the island of Kigamboni, a 2 minute ferry ride from the centre of Dar. It’s a different world. Beach, ocean (albeit that the seawater is not too clean), no traffic and city jungle. Nice! Very relaxing and within easy reach of the city.
The hotel is western style, expect a 3* Holiday Inn sort of idea. Rooms are spacious and new looking, bathroom is good, view is nice. Food is mostly good for both western and Asian tastes, which is not easy to find in Africa. The hotel is clean and the number of staff in this huge place is enormous. The pool is very nice, especially since swimming in the sea is not always so appealing. They serve shisha waterpipes, which is a favourite of ours. So why am I not giving higher marks? Simply because it lacks wifi and a gym (important to us personally) and it could do with a little more atmosphere and hospitality. The amount of concrete and unused gaping holes of space is amazing. Also we did not like the very loud weekend parties – but I think this will be a plus for other travellers.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerxxxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

..It was realy nice experience mixing business with fun, service was fine, room was nice, i enjoyed water sports, swimming pool, rain dance although the deejay was not that good that day what i needed was hot water in the bathrooms and water not to be salty..otherwise it was fun!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nkalufya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
19.5 km away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
24.6 km away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Re...
#10 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
26.4 km away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#17 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
9.8 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
28.8 km away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#23 of 101 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam

Property: Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam
Address: Kigamboni, Box 3034, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 101 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price range (per night): $107 - $162
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Kigamboni area or better known as South Beach, features an exclusive location on the Indian Ocean front. It is located comfortably away from the hustle and bustle of the city, 8 kms from the Kigamboni ferry.Thirty-six (36) well furnished, air conditioned rooms with one double bed and one single bed in each room. Every room also offers a private balcony overlooking the Indian Ocean.South Beach Resort is the perfect location and environment to cater to all your functions from Birthday Parties, corporate day-out parties, corporate team building events and entire company family day out events up to 4000 people! Our premises facilitates and supports the company's goals, whether it is to bring departments closer together, or to provide excellent entertainment and catering to the entire staff and their loved ones. our state of the art conference centre equipped with all the essential technology, stationary and comfort is the best in South Beach which can accommodate up to four (4) different conferences at once or open up into one large hall for up to 400 people. The conference hall can also be converted and decorated to host amazing, memorable wedding parties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing