We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Amirat Al Jamal
Ranked #345 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We booked our trip to Morocco through Peggy, owner of Morocco Custom Travel. Peggy planned our 9 day trip to maximize the site seeing while allowing us some rest time at both her riad and other 5-star local hotels. We spent a total of 5 nights in the riad, not contiguously, and went to Casablanca and Rabat (staying over in Rabat), then to Fes for two nights, back to the riad in Marrakech and then to Essaouira for one night. We finished with one more night at the riad before flying to London on our way home. The riad itself is sublime. It's inside the medina (old town). To get to it you go down a couple of very small streets/alleys and then come to this beautiful door. Once inside you experience a true Moroccan home (Peggy's home) that's been restored and kept true to its roots while affording modern conveniences. We had two rooms between three of us, and had full use of the rooftop where we had a beautiful view of the Koutoubia Mosque and could hear the call to prayer from there and others. Even the rooftop is beautifully decorated. Peggy could be an interior designer if she weren't busy with her travel business. In the riad Peggy has two employees, Sayeed and Hamidou. They were like family by the end of our stay. They greeted us in the street when we arrived with the driver who also works for Peggy. Mustafa picked us up at the airport in a very clean Mercedes van that was ours for the week. Sayeed and Hamidou took care of our bags, cooked us breakfast and three dinners, and Sayeed waited on us and kept our room very clean. At the riad it was up to us whether to eat dinner there and what we wanted. Peggy and our guide, Rachid, who works with Peggy, suggested the lemon and olive chicken. Our chicken was walking around that morning. Hamidou prepared it. They are all Berbers and could not be more kind, respectful and efficient. Peggy runs a tight ship and it shows. We learned so much from Peggy and Rachid, who accompanied us on our entire trip. Rachid has a Master's degree in tourism from the oldest university in Morocco, and is very proud of his heritage and his country. HIs passion shows in every interaction. During our trip to other cities,we sometimes chose to eat at our hotel (prices there are not high in the hotels like they are in the USA), and when we chose to eat out, Rachid made our reservations and Mustafa drove us and waited for us, then took us back to the hotels. We were safe, happy and healthy the entire time. Peggy and Rachid pick only restaurants where they know that no one has been sick. They have a clean track record since 2008 and it didn't break with us. I can't say enough positive things about this experience. People have been asking me would I go to Morocco again. My answer is simple - I would if I did it through Peggy and had not just any guide and driver, but the ones we had. There was no smoking, our van was always stocked with water and tissues, and while Mustafa focused on safe driving, Rachid was free to answer any and all of our many questions about the country and its unique culture.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UDLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2017

Comfortable, Clean, and in a great location right by the square. It is an oasis in the middle of all of the hustle and bustle of the square and the medina.

As you walk down the last alley to get to the Riad you feel the coolness from the stone walls, but the team there makes you feel warm and welcome. From meeting us at our van from the airport to breakfast, to making sure we had everything we needed, Hamidou and Sayyid were awesome.

We started and ended our tour around Morocco in Marrakech, and stayed at the Riad on both ends of our trip, and I think we found that it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dwaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015

There really isn't a better place to stay in Marrakech than Riad Amirat Al Jamal. It is conveniently located just steps from the famous square and yet once inside it's walls, you are in a tranquil world of beauty and calm. Peggy Ward has done an excellent job of restoring this gem, and surely is an expert on Morocco. Her manager, Rachid Izemreten, is a personal friend who is one of the top-rated, government-certified guides in Morocco. Rachid speaks 5 languages, and he is an expert on the country. His wonderful family carry out the daily operation of this treasure of a riad. This is a wonderful place to rest, relax or a romantic place for a honeymoon. Go to Morocco. Don't miss Marrakech. And be sure to stay at Riad Amirat Al Jamal.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

The riad could not be better staffed by two gentlemen who act as gourmet cook, general manager, housekeeping, luggage service, advisor about local customs. Certainly the location is ideal, proximate to the City Square with its evening buzzing with activities easily visualized as similar 1,000 years ago. The ancient walkways from the riad also lead to the souks and ancient attractions some so special they are best left to the exploratory. The conversations with staff about Berber traditions and pride at breakfast and over a splendid Christmas dinner were as memorable as all the travels. Spend one night and be charmed, spend three nights and you will be immersed in the ancient culture and traditions like you could never have expected. We had drinks at the Churchill Bar and the other famous spots but the most memorable was this less famous window to the people of Morocco. Do not miss a one in a lifetime chance to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third fllor access a roof top terrace for spectacular views of the city and the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank teggleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Peggy was amazing. She planned our honeymoon through Morocco in May 2012 via Morocco Custom Travel (sorry I'm late to write this!). We couldn't have asked for a better trip to celebrate our life together.

Riad Amirat Al Jamal:
The Riad was clean, beautifully furnished and safe. The staff, including Hamidou and Sayyid were incredibly hospitable. We were happy to have fresh fruit and veggies, which were washed appropriately - as we had avoided them for the rest of the trip to be cautious. A special tagine was made for us, which was a treat. The location was perfect walking distance to the main square.

This location was the last of a long honeymoon throughout the region. We were lucky that Peggy was there. She is a wealth of knowledge about both the country and culture. She was able to answer so many questions we had accumulated along the trip.

Morocco Custom Travel:
Peggy worked with my husband to plan an adventurous 10 day trip throughout Morocco. While she usually caters to higher-priced vacations, she was more than happy to help us with our honeymoon. She even worked a few deals to get us into really nice riads. She went out of her way to make us feel special. Our trip was led by Hussein, who was incredibly polite and professional. He spoke English, Arabic, French and 2 of the 3 Berber dialects. I believe he was also studying Spanish. Mustafa was our driver. Though he did not speak English, he was incredibly nice and a more than capable driver (especially in the race-track style roads of the Atlas mountains). We traveled to Casablanca, Rabat (where we stayed in an orange grove), Fez, Marrakesh and day trips to Ifrane, Meknes, Essaouira and Volubilis. We road camels into the desert, where we watched the sunrise. After, we had mint tea with a nomadic woman.

MCT and Peggy Ward offered us a view into Morocco we could have never obtained by ourselves. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Grand Chamber Suite was so nice! It was quiet. The bathroom was comfortable with a great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.3 km away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#103 of 499 in Marrakech
137 reviews
0.3 km away
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Riad Hotel Essaouira
#190 of 499 in Marrakech
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#354 of 499 in Marrakech
101 reviews
0.3 km away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#82 of 499 in Marrakech
558 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#334 of 499 in Marrakech
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amirat Al Jamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amirat Al Jamal

Address: 33 Rue Fhal Zefritti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, authenticity, impeccable service, convenience, and comfort—Riad Amirat al Jamal offers everything a client needs for a relaxing stay in Marrakech. Part of an Alaouite Dynasty palace, this riad features five air-conditioned chambers, individually decorated with Berber artifacts and Moroccan artwork. Two minutes from Jemaa el Fna, the riad boasts three terraces, swimming pool with fountain and massage jets, salon with fireplace and library, satellite television and DVD, and computer for client use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Hotel Marrakech
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing