We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family exploration of Marrakech”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Amirat Al Jamal
Ranked #345 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 13 February 2015

The riad could not be better staffed by two gentlemen who act as gourmet cook, general manager, housekeeping, luggage service, advisor about local customs. Certainly the location is ideal, proximate to the City Square with its evening buzzing with activities easily visualized as similar 1,000 years ago. The ancient walkways from the riad also lead to the souks and ancient attractions some so special they are best left to the exploratory. The conversations with staff about Berber traditions and pride at breakfast and over a splendid Christmas dinner were as memorable as all the travels. Spend one night and be charmed, spend three nights and you will be immersed in the ancient culture and traditions like you could never have expected. We had drinks at the Churchill Bar and the other famous spots but the most memorable was this less famous window to the people of Morocco. Do not miss a one in a lifetime chance to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third fllor access a roof top terrace for spectacular views of the city and the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank teggleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2014

Peggy was amazing. She planned our honeymoon through Morocco in May 2012 via Morocco Custom Travel (sorry I'm late to write this!). We couldn't have asked for a better trip to celebrate our life together.

Riad Amirat Al Jamal:
The Riad was clean, beautifully furnished and safe. The staff, including Hamidou and Sayyid were incredibly hospitable. We were happy to have fresh fruit and veggies, which were washed appropriately - as we had avoided them for the rest of the trip to be cautious. A special tagine was made for us, which was a treat. The location was perfect walking distance to the main square.

This location was the last of a long honeymoon throughout the region. We were lucky that Peggy was there. She is a wealth of knowledge about both the country and culture. She was able to answer so many questions we had accumulated along the trip.

Morocco Custom Travel:
Peggy worked with my husband to plan an adventurous 10 day trip throughout Morocco. While she usually caters to higher-priced vacations, she was more than happy to help us with our honeymoon. She even worked a few deals to get us into really nice riads. She went out of her way to make us feel special. Our trip was led by Hussein, who was incredibly polite and professional. He spoke English, Arabic, French and 2 of the 3 Berber dialects. I believe he was also studying Spanish. Mustafa was our driver. Though he did not speak English, he was incredibly nice and a more than capable driver (especially in the race-track style roads of the Atlas mountains). We traveled to Casablanca, Rabat (where we stayed in an orange grove), Fez, Marrakesh and day trips to Ifrane, Meknes, Essaouira and Volubilis. We road camels into the desert, where we watched the sunrise. After, we had mint tea with a nomadic woman.

MCT and Peggy Ward offered us a view into Morocco we could have never obtained by ourselves. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Grand Chamber Suite was so nice! It was quiet. The bathroom was comfortable with a great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Peggy Ward has put together a fantastic place to stay in Marrekech . We stayed here for 4 nights in early May as the first stop on a 21 day tour of Morocco. The room was well furnished . The staff was more than welcoming. Several times we were walked to restaurants and then waled back to ensure we would not get lost. Two nights we ate at the Riad. While chicken tagging was very good , a fish pastilla we had was just out this world.

Oh that tour we went on was put together by Peggy's MCT . It was for 21 days. Every day brought us a new wonder.

Thanks Peggy.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Beautiful raid in a perfectly central location in the heart of the medina. We stayed in 2011 in the best room which was a feast for the eyes. Perfect hospitality. Marrakech and the medina is chaotic and culturally challenging for some western tourists - so it is surprising to find these amazingly beautiful raids hidden away - great contrast!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyB947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here four nights and initial impressions are excellent. Peggy the American owner has an amazing eye for interior design and everything fits perfectly. BUT our room looked so nice with large bedside lamps that left no room for a book or water on the bedside table, the two beautiful chairs, draped with georgeous fabric left no room for any kind of table and we had nowhere to put books, iPad, hats, suntan lotions, etc. same in bathroom and we ended up putting stuff on the floor to. Ate room for our wash bag and toothbrushes. Breakfast did not compare with other riads we had stayed in. One boiled egg, no choices, simple bread and one pancake. The day we had a pain au chocolat there was no chocolat in it! One day we got three apricots and two dates, one day four oranges. Sayid was vary nice staff member and lit the fire for us, made pots of tea and 'opened up' the sun terrace when we got back in the afternoon. The position of the raid is perfect, but it needs some improvements

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RomseyChechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.3 km away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#104 of 500 in Marrakech
138 reviews
0.3 km away
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Riad Hotel Essaouira
#186 of 500 in Marrakech
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#357 of 500 in Marrakech
101 reviews
0.3 km away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#79 of 500 in Marrakech
559 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#336 of 500 in Marrakech
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amirat Al Jamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amirat Al Jamal

Address: 33 Rue Fhal Zefritti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, authenticity, impeccable service, convenience, and comfort—Riad Amirat al Jamal offers everything a client needs for a relaxing stay in Marrakech. Part of an Alaouite Dynasty palace, this riad features five air-conditioned chambers, individually decorated with Berber artifacts and Moroccan artwork. Two minutes from Jemaa el Fna, the riad boasts three terraces, swimming pool with fountain and massage jets, salon with fireplace and library, satellite television and DVD, and computer for client use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Hotel Marrakech
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing