We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
107
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip two nights call to prayer an oasis the hustle and bustle peggy koutoubia morocco guide square medina rabat coolness alley casablanca rooftop mustafa
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Peggy Ward has put together a fantastic place to stay in Marrekech . We stayed here for 4 nights in early May as the first stop on a 21 day tour of Morocco. The room was well furnished . The staff was more than welcoming. Several times we were walked to restaurants and then waled back to ensure we would not get lost. Two nights we ate at the Riad. While chicken tagging was very good , a fish pastilla we had was just out this world.

Oh that tour we went on was put together by Peggy's MCT . It was for 21 days. Every day brought us a new wonder.

Thanks Peggy.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Beautiful raid in a perfectly central location in the heart of the medina. We stayed in 2011 in the best room which was a feast for the eyes. Perfect hospitality. Marrakech and the medina is chaotic and culturally challenging for some western tourists - so it is surprising to find these amazingly beautiful raids hidden away - great contrast!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyB947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here four nights and initial impressions are excellent. Peggy the American owner has an amazing eye for interior design and everything fits perfectly. BUT our room looked so nice with large bedside lamps that left no room for a book or water on the bedside table, the two beautiful chairs, draped with georgeous fabric left no room for any kind of table and we had nowhere to put books, iPad, hats, suntan lotions, etc. same in bathroom and we ended up putting stuff on the floor to. Ate room for our wash bag and toothbrushes. Breakfast did not compare with other riads we had stayed in. One boiled egg, no choices, simple bread and one pancake. The day we had a pain au chocolat there was no chocolat in it! One day we got three apricots and two dates, one day four oranges. Sayid was vary nice staff member and lit the fire for us, made pots of tea and 'opened up' the sun terrace when we got back in the afternoon. The position of the raid is perfect, but it needs some improvements

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RomseyChechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We started our 10 day trip of Morocco with two nights at this riad in Marrakech. It was a beautiful residence, right in the heart of the old city (the medina). The owner Peggy arranged, at our request, to hire two wonderful musicians to play for us over dinner our second night there. NOTE: The owners also offer tour planning services for Morocco. We were looking for this, to make the most of our time in the country. She put together a FANTASTIC 10-day itinerary for us, and found a perfect guide and driver to accompany us and ensure that every step of our experience was well chosen and suited to our particular interest in the local culture, history, and the arts. So, whether you are looking for a fantastic tour guide, or just a stunningly beautiful residence for a night in Marrakech, you cannot do better than starting at Riad Amirat Al Jamal!

Room Tip: Top floor is closer to the beautiful roof garden, but the Wifi signal is weak. (We just walked down a flight to send emails, but if you want to be able to do so in the room, you should go on a lower floor.)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We only had time for a brief stay in Marrakech and could not have chosen a better Riad. It is a very quick walk to the Jemaa el Fna and not too hidden down narrow alleys for when you're trying to find your way back. This is not an impersonal experience; the American owner, Peggy, has made Marrakech her home and is a fount of knowledge of all things Moroccan from art, tradition and culture to shopping. The Riad is filled with treasures and wonderful pieces that she has collected and each one has a meaning or story. Along with her lovely staff, Hamidou and Said, nothing is too much trouble. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished and comfortable, with a safe for valuables, hairdryers, bathrobes - everything you could need. Everything was so clean with great attention to detail. The terraces are a lovely spot to relax with a drink and a book. Hearing the call to prayer in the evening from the many mosques nearby is a beautiful, haunting sound. Apparently, the nearer your home/Riad is to the Koutoubia Mosque the more expensive the property value - so she explained - we were in the Mayfair of Marrakech - quite funny when you see the state of the alley! Just dip inside for a charming oasis that will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingbedbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews