We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
107
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip two nights call to prayer an oasis the hustle and bustle peggy koutoubia morocco guide square medina rabat coolness alley casablanca rooftop mustafa
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We only had time for a brief stay in Marrakech and could not have chosen a better Riad. It is a very quick walk to the Jemaa el Fna and not too hidden down narrow alleys for when you're trying to find your way back. This is not an impersonal experience; the American owner, Peggy, has made Marrakech her home and is a fount of knowledge of all things Moroccan from art, tradition and culture to shopping. The Riad is filled with treasures and wonderful pieces that she has collected and each one has a meaning or story. Along with her lovely staff, Hamidou and Said, nothing is too much trouble. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished and comfortable, with a safe for valuables, hairdryers, bathrobes - everything you could need. Everything was so clean with great attention to detail. The terraces are a lovely spot to relax with a drink and a book. Hearing the call to prayer in the evening from the many mosques nearby is a beautiful, haunting sound. Apparently, the nearer your home/Riad is to the Koutoubia Mosque the more expensive the property value - so she explained - we were in the Mayfair of Marrakech - quite funny when you see the state of the alley! Just dip inside for a charming oasis that will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingbedbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My sister and I were lucky enough to stay at the Riad Amirat Al Jamal for 3 days 2nd-5th March 2013. It really is an oasis of calm in the middle of the wonderful mayhem which is Marrakech. What a fount of information and knowledge of Moroccan culture is Peggy the American owner, we were taken care of by Hamidou (a brilliant chef) and Said and entertained by Peggy. The Riad is delightfully furnished in traditional style with added American comforts. It has a lovely roof terrace and an inner courtyard with a pool, which I am sure would be great in summer. It was great to be made 'at home' in a place so different from home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

If you are going to Marrakech, this is the ONLY place to stay!! Beautifully decorated by the owner herself in warm colors and with Moroccan art and handiwork, this road was MORE than I dreamed of. Hamidou and Said are the wonderfully friendly caretakers of this oasis in the midst of the crazy medina. Hamidou is a great chef, and Said is a warm soul. Peggy of MCT (Morroco Custom Travel) set everything for our stay in Marrakech and beyond. We had a driver and guide to take us to Erfoud for a sunrise camel ride (11 hour drive) over the middle atlas mountains. She set up great hotels for us out there. Saw wonderful scenery and ate delicious food. I can't say enough about our trip. It was a wonderful 20th wedding anniversary adventure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Riad Amirat Al Jamal is a five minute walk from the madness and excitement that is Jemaa el Fna square. Whenever we had had, temporarily at least, our fill of snake charmers, storytellers, acrobats, bargaining at the souk, and crowds of people, my wife and I just slipped back into the peace and quiet of the riad, which is elegantly simple and simply elegant. I especially liked, and took advantage of, the several sections of the riad where one can sit, reflect, and recharge, each one beautifully and comfortably furnished. The rooftop terrace is a perfect place to watch the sun rise, to see it set behind the Koutoubia Mosque, and to hear the call for prayer coming from many mosques, near simultaneously. It's magic. Our hosts, Said and Hamidou, were the best. Said set beautiful tables each morning for breakfast, and Hamidou prepared delicious meals. We had dinner at the riad two of our four nights in Marrakech. Hamidou's lamb tagine was definitely worth 5 stars. In addition, Said and Hamidou made reservations for us, answered questions, served us drinks on the rooftop, and even guided us through a bewildering maze of alleys to and from a restaurant our first night. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Hamidou and Said are the most amazing, wonderful hosts! They gave us such a warm welcome each time we entered and nothing was too much trouble. They created such a warm environment, and made us feel very safe and cared for - it made us feel so at home. The was magnificent and the setting so beautiful, tucked away, right in the heart of the medina and amongst the action! It was so nice to be able to dip into the bustle outside the medina and return to the beautiful, quiet, calm of the riad! :) thank you so much, Hamidou and Said!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beggsy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews