We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad; great help on our tour”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Amirat Al Jamal
Ranked #356 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We started our 10 day trip of Morocco with two nights at this riad in Marrakech. It was a beautiful residence, right in the heart of the old city (the medina). The owner Peggy arranged, at our request, to hire two wonderful musicians to play for us over dinner our second night there. NOTE: The owners also offer tour planning services for Morocco. We were looking for this, to make the most of our time in the country. She put together a FANTASTIC 10-day itinerary for us, and found a perfect guide and driver to accompany us and ensure that every step of our experience was well chosen and suited to our particular interest in the local culture, history, and the arts. So, whether you are looking for a fantastic tour guide, or just a stunningly beautiful residence for a night in Marrakech, you cannot do better than starting at Riad Amirat Al Jamal!

Room Tip: Top floor is closer to the beautiful roof garden, but the Wifi signal is weak. (We just walked down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We only had time for a brief stay in Marrakech and could not have chosen a better Riad. It is a very quick walk to the Jemaa el Fna and not too hidden down narrow alleys for when you're trying to find your way back. This is not an impersonal experience; the American owner, Peggy, has made Marrakech her home and is a fount of knowledge of all things Moroccan from art, tradition and culture to shopping. The Riad is filled with treasures and wonderful pieces that she has collected and each one has a meaning or story. Along with her lovely staff, Hamidou and Said, nothing is too much trouble. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished and comfortable, with a safe for valuables, hairdryers, bathrobes - everything you could need. Everything was so clean with great attention to detail. The terraces are a lovely spot to relax with a drink and a book. Hearing the call to prayer in the evening from the many mosques nearby is a beautiful, haunting sound. Apparently, the nearer your home/Riad is to the Koutoubia Mosque the more expensive the property value - so she explained - we were in the Mayfair of Marrakech - quite funny when you see the state of the alley! Just dip inside for a charming oasis that will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingbedbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My sister and I were lucky enough to stay at the Riad Amirat Al Jamal for 3 days 2nd-5th March 2013. It really is an oasis of calm in the middle of the wonderful mayhem which is Marrakech. What a fount of information and knowledge of Moroccan culture is Peggy the American owner, we were taken care of by Hamidou (a brilliant chef) and Said and entertained by Peggy. The Riad is delightfully furnished in traditional style with added American comforts. It has a lovely roof terrace and an inner courtyard with a pool, which I am sure would be great in summer. It was great to be made 'at home' in a place so different from home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

If you are going to Marrakech, this is the ONLY place to stay!! Beautifully decorated by the owner herself in warm colors and with Moroccan art and handiwork, this road was MORE than I dreamed of. Hamidou and Said are the wonderfully friendly caretakers of this oasis in the midst of the crazy medina. Hamidou is a great chef, and Said is a warm soul. Peggy of MCT (Morroco Custom Travel) set everything for our stay in Marrakech and beyond. We had a driver and guide to take us to Erfoud for a sunrise camel ride (11 hour drive) over the middle atlas mountains. She set up great hotels for us out there. Saw wonderful scenery and ate delicious food. I can't say enough about our trip. It was a wonderful 20th wedding anniversary adventure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Riad Amirat Al Jamal is a five minute walk from the madness and excitement that is Jemaa el Fna square. Whenever we had had, temporarily at least, our fill of snake charmers, storytellers, acrobats, bargaining at the souk, and crowds of people, my wife and I just slipped back into the peace and quiet of the riad, which is elegantly simple and simply elegant. I especially liked, and took advantage of, the several sections of the riad where one can sit, reflect, and recharge, each one beautifully and comfortably furnished. The rooftop terrace is a perfect place to watch the sun rise, to see it set behind the Koutoubia Mosque, and to hear the call for prayer coming from many mosques, near simultaneously. It's magic. Our hosts, Said and Hamidou, were the best. Said set beautiful tables each morning for breakfast, and Hamidou prepared delicious meals. We had dinner at the riad two of our four nights in Marrakech. Hamidou's lamb tagine was definitely worth 5 stars. In addition, Said and Hamidou made reservations for us, answered questions, served us drinks on the rooftop, and even guided us through a bewildering maze of alleys to and from a restaurant our first night. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.3 km away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#117 of 500 in Marrakech
143 reviews
0.3 km away
Riad Hamdane & SPA
Riad Hamdane & SPA
#97 of 500 in Marrakech
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#67 of 500 in Marrakech
402 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#217 of 500 in Marrakech
552 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#416 of 500 in Marrakech
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amirat Al Jamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amirat Al Jamal

Address: 33 Rue Fhal Zefritti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#178 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, authenticity, impeccable service, convenience, and comfort—Riad Amirat al Jamal offers everything a client needs for a relaxing stay in Marrakech. Part of an Alaouite Dynasty palace, this riad features five air-conditioned chambers, individually decorated with Berber artifacts and Moroccan artwork. Two minutes from Jemaa el Fna, the riad boasts three terraces, swimming pool with fountain and massage jets, salon with fireplace and library, satellite television and DVD, and computer for client use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Hotel Marrakech
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing