We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Overrated - average uninspired food”
Review of NOMAD

NOMAD
Ranked #139 of 1,017 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: USD 6 - USD 13
Cuisines: Moroccan, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: In 2014, Kamal Laftimi and Sebastian de Gzell took over an old carpet store off the famed Rahba Lakdima spice square (places des épices) and, alongside interior designer Romain Meniere, transformed it into “Nomad”. With a strong emphasis on fresh local produce and ample variety for vegetarians, pescetarians, and carnivores alike, the lively restaurant serves simple “Modern Moroccan” cuisine: revisions of traditional local cuisine and international dishes with a Moroccan twist. Spread over 4 floors, with intimate dining rooms and two levels of terraces that offer fantastic views of the surrounding Medina and Atlas mountain range (when visible between November and May), Nomad is perfect for both lunch and dinner, or to simply repose from the hustle and bustle of the souks with a much-needed drink.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were impressed by the ratings however the food is only edible and despite ordering 2 cold and 2 hot starter, we were surprised by the size of the dishes. Could be sample perhaps. The lamp chops were over done and turned into a gum. I end up spending more energy than I got from the dinner. Don't really bother. Not worth in the slightest booking etc.

Thank sserhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laftimigroup, Responsable relations clients at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your review with us.We are sorry to hear about your disappointment,
Your review was well noted and was immediately addressed to the managers.
You are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 255 of 3,993 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Was recommended for its views-the views are of satellite dishes and corrugated tin roofs in poor repair. Food is mediocre, edible but uninspired. Service is abysmal—we were sitting outside. There were fresh bird dropping on the seat which we pointed out to the waitress. She responded with a shrug and walked away. No liquor license.

Thank Carmen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laftimigroup, Responsable relations clients at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your review with us.
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment while your visit. We will make sure this won't happen again.
You are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Nice couscous, the pastilla is terrible, the amlou ice cream is amazing. Service is absolutely terrible, but really terrible, setting is nice.

Thank JPMoralesBroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laftimigroup, Responsable relations clients at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your review with us.
You are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal on the terrace of Nomad and would heartily recommend the restaurant to all. The food and service were great. Make sure you have a reservation!

Thank 421Traveler_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laftimigroup, Responsable relations clients at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your review with us.
You are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My friend and I booked the roof top terrace for lunch and it was the best idea! Food there is really tasty and healthy and the 360º views over Marrakech are breathtaking.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nurietta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laftimigroup, Responsable relations clients at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your pleasant review.
You are welcome back anytime.
It's always a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NOMAD also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to NOMAD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing