We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Luxury in the Medina”
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #8 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Sorry for the cheesy title. My wife and I stayed here for four nights in March. This is not a hotel - it's like staying in a beautifully furnished museum. Stay here and you will quickly see the difference between a hotel and a riad. I cannot imagine what was spent to furnish this place but I have never stayed in a hotel where ever single public space was filled with interesting furniture, art, books, games, etc. The pictures on the website do not do this place justice. Here are the qualities that really stood out:

Location. Riad Noir is located in a maze of little alley ways but in a great part of the Medina. My first thought when we got there was "I will never, ever remember how to find my way back. But we quickly did and never got lost. The location of the riad makes you feel like you're staying in a neighborhood with the people who live there rather than in a touristy hotel. I loved that. The riad is a very short walk from the edge of the souks and close to some very good restaurants.

Accommodations. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite Guépard and it was both enormous and luxurious. I had a case of bronchitis while there and was able to sleep a night or two on the sofa in the sitting room of the suite so as not to disturb my wife. The rooftop terrace and hot tub was a wonderful place to unwind after long days of sightseeing and shopping. I will never forget listening to the street music from our roof the last evening we were there. The roof has great views of minarets and mountains. Sigh.

Dining. I usually avoid hotel restaurants if I can but the food at Riad Noir is some of the best I've eaten any where. We miss Mama Latifah, the chef at Riad Noir. There is no menu for dinner - you eat what Mama Latifah makes, and you will love it. I am kind of a picky eater and loved it all, including a pumpkin soup. Our one biggest regret from our stay was not taking the cooking class with her as we have tried to make tagine at home and not come close to hers. She is an incredibly talented chef and an incredibly sweet person who bid farewell to us at the door when we left.

Service. Everything you could want. Attentive without being annoying. All of the staff were remarkably and genuinely friendly. We've stayed in hotels where the staff acted like programmed robots but everyone at Riad Noir made you feel welcome. Special recognition must be given to Yassine at the front desk who was an endless source of good recommendations and a welcome face every time we returned. We also loved talking to Ali, the bartender, who made great drinks and was a pleasure to spend time with.

Privacy. One other thing that really struck me about Riad Noir was how private it was. It was full several of the nights we were there but we rarely saw anyone and felt like we had the place to ourselves. There are so many private sitting areas and nooks for you to get lost in.

We absolutely loved our stay at Riad Noir d'Ivoire. We were suppose to spend our last two nights in the Atlas Mountains but our lodging completely fell through (you suck, Kasbah Agounsane). When we found out the owners of that lodging left for vacation and left us without a place to stay, my wife called Riad Noir d'Ivoire immediately and we were welcomed back with open arms. Literally. The staff hugged us when we checked back in and we were so happy to spend two more nights there.

We absolutely loved Marrakech at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a big reason why. I definitely want to see more of Morocco and we will make a point come back to this place. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_NDI, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review, we are delighted to read about your experience with us.

We could not be happier to know you have found the Riad and it's design, the food and service, all things that have made your stay wonderful. It's great to know you have been welcomed and the Riad was a place you were happy to return to. You must come back again for your cooking class!

We hope to see you both soon, you are welcome anytime.

Warm regards
Nabila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017

I cannot begin to describe how amazing this place is. I booked Noire d'Ivoire as a birthday surprise for my husband. The stunned (but delighted) look on his face as he looked around the first of the two beautiful courtyards is something I will cherish for a long time! We loved every minute of our stay. Yassine and all the team could not have done more to make us feel welcome and cared for; truly they made us feel like nothing was too much trouble. Our suite was magnificent; the fire in the room in the evening, so welcoming and romantic; the hammam experience in Coco's spa was one of the most relaxing treatments I have ever experienced; breakfast on our own private terrace in our bathrobes - just delicious; and enjoying our own tagines for lunch having bought the ingredients in the local markets and learned to cook them under the capable guidance of Big Mama Latifah was utterly memorable. May just be the best place I have ever stayed in,

Room Tip: all rooms are different so do look on the website for the one you think you would prefer. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HNMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_NDI, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Good afternoon,

We are delighted to read your review, thank you for taking the time to write such kind words.

It's great to know that your husband's birthday surprise was memorable and that you appreciated all elements of the Riad and the experiences we offer. We are always happy to hear the team have made you feel welcome and cared for, this is our greatest pride.

We hope to see you return again, you are welcome anytime!

Warm regards
Nabila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We stayed for 9 nights, along with our two boys and were made incredibly welcome. Such friendly staff, luxurious rooms stylishly decorated with plenty of space, balcony, large baths, swimming pool, delicious and generous breakfast, lovely Tagine dinners. Great bar too. Private rooftop jacuzzi. All your needs catered for. In a quiet street withing the Medina, close to Bab Doukalla. The best hotel we've been to. A dream!

Room Tip: We shared two rooms with our kids. Both were wonderfully generous in proportions, so peaceful and am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank victoriaakirakimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_NDI, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear Victoria,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful review.

It was our pleasure to have you and your sons stay with us for this time and know that the staff have made you feel welcome. It's so lovely to hear that you have enjoyed all aspects of the Riad's design, atmosphere and service. We couldn't ask for more than being 'a dream' .

It would be our pleasure to have you all stay with us again in the future. We hope it's not too long until we see you again!

Warm regards
Nabila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Noir d'Ivoire is a perfect place to stay for all travelers liking luxury and boutique accommodations: a delicious riad nested in Marrakech's old city, with friendly and dedicated staff ready to help you with all your requests. Definetly a hit!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pablo_the_sonar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_NDI, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Good afternoon,

It's great to receive your review, thank you for taking the time to write it.

We are so happy to hear the team have been attentive and friendly throughout your stay and delighted you have found the Riad a 'hit' and enjoyed it's design and atmosphere.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future. We hope to see you soon.

Warm regards
Nabila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We had the most amazing 4 days in Marrakesh...but what totally made the holiday was staying in this delightful Riad....nothing is too much trouble for the staff, who make you feel like one of the family, from handing out phones in case you get lost ( we didn't but that was only because directions were brilliant in the first place) to playing our music through the sound system when we were the only guests there one evening. It honestly felt like staying in your own Riad...with friends looking after you!
We had great fun exploring the city on a walking tour organised by the staff and had a fantastic trip to the Atlas Mountains with a local company ...ask for Majeed. We also took advantage of the cooking course and had a Hamman...all highly recommended.
We would return tomorrow if we could and would never dream of staying anywhere else in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatanAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_NDI, Manager at Riad Noir d'Ivoire, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Good afternoon,

We are so happy to receive your review, thank you for taking the time to write it.

You really did explore the culture and area over the four days you were here, it's great to know you enjoyed the experiences we offer guests. We are delighted to hear that you felt like staying in the Riad made your holiday and you felt like you were returning to friends after your trips. We could not ask for a nicer compliment.

You are welcome anytime, it would be our pleasure to see you again.

Warm regards
Nabila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 km away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,781 reviews
1.8 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
1.5 km away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 500 in Marrakech
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#26 of 500 in Marrakech
205 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,038 reviews
4.9 km away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $277 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic, luxury boutique hotel composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include bar, Spa with traditional hammam, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing