We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
USD 125
View deal
Hotels.com
USD 125
View deal
ZenHotels.com
USD 121
View deal
Trip.comUSD 126
TravelocityUSD 125
getaroom.comUSD 225
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
516
128
30
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
516
128
30
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi room main pool gala night usb sockets relaxation pool moroccan night pool bar themed evenings buffet restaurant robes and slippers plenty of sunbeds well run hotel amazing hotel main restaurant smaller pool relaxing holiday moroccan dishes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2021 via mobile

The hotel is pleasant enough. We visited for a honeymoon trip and we’re met with a bottle of sparkling wine in our room and a decoration on the bed, which was nice. The gardens are lovely with fruit trees and plenty of space to sunbathe. One tip is to avoid the pool area if you like peace and quiet. The gardens offer this.

Having said all this, it is an average hotel in my view. The food is generally bland and repetitive. I say this as someone who really isn’t fussy about food. Perhaps unsurprisingly, they’re better at Moroccan dishes, but the rest is very mediocre.

The bar service is also mediocre in my opinion. Ask for a cocktail and they literally splash a bit of spirit into the glass and fill the rest with ice and juice. I regularly had to ask for a more reasonable measure of alcoholic drink (so I could at least taste it). The main pool is freezing too. Not so bad if the weather is hot (which it was), but it really is cold.

Having said all this, the staff in general are pleasant enough. For a honeymoon it was just all really underwhelming.

Marrakesh is a city of many sides. On one hand the hustle and bustle of this North African city is intoxicating and a great experience, particularly in and around the souks and in the street food venues. On the other it is undoubtedly heavily polluted with a taste of petrochemicals and smog in your mouth and nostrils when you’re out and about around the main square. The hotel grounds do thankfully offer a relief from that.

Tip:we actually had less hassle in the main square at night. You will get harassed but be firm and polite and it’s generally fine. Bartering in the souks is a must. Not only do they expect it (and most have fun with it), but their prices for tourists are hugely inflated (again unsurprisingly in fairness and who can blame them?).

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank ANDREW1971022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachida Arifi, Guest Services / Front Office at TUI BLUE Medina Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2021

Dear ANDREW1971022,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review.

Regarding the food, the menu of the buffet is set on a 14 days cyclic basis according the TUI Blue concept, offering international dishes with a moroccan corner and vegetarian & dietary dishes at every meal. Also, we have themed nights such as Barbecue/Fish dinner in alternanance every 2 weeks, Gala dinner every Thursday, Moroccan night every Saturday. Furthermore, our kitchen team with their executive chef are always available on the spot all the time for any special request, suggestion. Usually our food is well appreciated and very praised from our guests.
As per the drinks, the menu of our bars (lobby bar, pool bar) is well diversified offering all the intenationally known cocktails, wines, bottled and drafted beer, sparkling wine and champagne, local wines..etc. included in the All inclusive formula. Also, available in the hotel, our Piano bar where you can find a premium drinks list that can be served with extra charge.
For the pool, we have 2 outdoor ones; the main big pool where we host our water activities as well and the relax pool, which is quiet and is heated in the winter weather permitting as published in the brochure.

Thank you for choosing Medina Gardens


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2021 via mobile

The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are clean, modern and spacious. We opted for the hot tub room and were initially disappointed as the hot tub was dated and their was no privacy at all in the ground floor, however we changed rooms and it was a lovely experience!

Food is okay, not fabulous can get very repetitive after 11 days. The food at the culinarium was lovely, so we had lunch there most days. Please be aware that their are lots of cats around whilst you’re eating, begging for food which can be irritating. The drinks, again nothing special they were poured from bottles behind the bar so often they would be flat and warm. Be aware the bar shuts at 11pm and despite whether you were in the queue waiting to be served before that. They will not serve you at 11:01pm.

Initially, we had difficulty getting sunbeds, we were up at 8am and there was nothing left by the pool, however there were plenty by the gardens if you are happy with that.

Cherith was kind and helpful and provided us with regular updates on the Moroccan ban from the uk.

There was also a new member of staff Mohammed …. Who was a total credit to the team he offered us drinks by the pool regularly and always went out of his way to chat.
We enjoyed our stay but feel it is missing some important features in order to make it 4*

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank georgia110198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassen JOUHRI, Directeur général at TUI BLUE Medina Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2021

Dear Georgia,

Thank you for your last review and for choosing Tui Blue Medina Gardens. The satisfaction of our guest is on the top of our objectives, we have read your comment carefully and let me clarify some points:

The buffet: we have a buffet cycle that extends over 10 days, that means, the composition of the buffet changes every day by offering different dishes. In the evening you have different thematic dinners throughout the week (Moroccan, sundown, gala, white night ...)
Drinks in the restaurant: in order to offer a better quality of service, we have removed the dispensers, your drinks are served on the table from bottles that are kept cold and are always consumed during service (the shelf life of a bottle does not exceed 10 min during the service), so it is impossible to have soft drinks flat and warm as you have prentended. Even if there was a problem, you should have reported it to our waiters and they will be pleased to change your drink immediately. Besides, As I know, you never made a complaint about it.
The Bar: due to local restrictions related to the COVID protocol, the lobby bar must close at 11 pm, you were informed about this restriction, so there is no reason to make a complaint about it.
The sunbeds: as already explained, we have reduced the number around the main pool to respect the distanciation. As you mentioned, there are enough sunbeds in the garden which are a few steps from the pool.
I do not know on what criteria you judged that our hotel does not deserve its 5 stars, as we can notice from your comment, you have fully enjoyed your holidays and you have never made the slightest complaint on the spot. If necessary, you should better inform us and we would have done our best to satisfy you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2021 via mobile

The hotel itself is large with approx 350 rooms.
It is cleaned and looked after very well and the gardens are beautiful.
Felt very safe as gates manned at front of hotel.
The food for an all inclusive was very good but repetitive and the a la carte was awesome.
Loved the hotel and our stay was great.
We decided to upgrade to a swim up room for 10 nights purely as we found the standard hotel room too small and the thought of having to compete to get a sunbed at 5am was not appealing.The hotel does have signs up about towels reserving sunbeds but do not enforce whatso ever.On hearing people talk all sunbeds were reserved by 6.
The drinks were disappointing.
Very basic bar and served with flat bottled coke.All fizzy was a warm bottle on the side.
Drinks aside we loved our stay. The spa was good and used regularly.

Overall great holiday x

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Angela e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassen JOUHRI, Directeur général at TUI BLUE Medina Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2021

Dear Angela,

Thank you for your last review and for choosing Tui Blue Medina Gardens. The satisfaction of our guest is on the top of our objectives, we have read your comment carefully and let me clarify some points:
Our property has only 182 rooms not 350

The Restaurant : we have a buffet cycle that extends over 10 days, that means, the composition of the buffet changes every day by offering different dishes. In the evening you have different thematic dinners throughout the week (Moroccan, sundown, gala, white night ...)
Drinks in the restaurant: You have a large choice of drinks available (sodas, wine, bottled beer, draft beer, coffe, tea, sparkling wine, spirits and a large choice of cocktails). In order to offer a better quality of service, we have removed the dispensers, your drinks are served on the table from bottles that are kept cold and are always consumed during service (the shelf life of a bottle does not exceed 10 min during the service), so it is impossible to have soft drinks flat and warm as you have prentended. Even if there was a problem, you should have reported it to our waiters and they will be pleased to change your drink immediately. Besides, As I know, you never made a complaint about it.

The sunbeds: as already explained, we have reduced the number around the main pool to respect the distanciation. As you mentioned, there are enough sunbeds in the garden which are a few steps from the pool.

Thank you again for trusting our property and hope to see you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2021

My wife and I changed our honeymoon 4 times from last year and we ended up choosing marrakech as we couldnt go to the USA. So we book tui medina gardens for two weeks. 11/10/21-25/10/21

From landing tui were great easy to find the coach and transfer was 10/15 minutes to the hotel where we were met by reps and given late dinner which was great after a full day travelling.

We booked the jacuzzi room we were fortunate enough to be on the top row of rooms looking over the gardens. The room was big very modern nice bed, coffee making facilities amazing shower. We couldn't fault the room it was perfect. Cleaners did great every day. The only fault with the room was were pretty sure the jacuzzi wasnt cleaned we didnt mind as it was too hot to go in it anyway. Be wary if you book a jacuzzi room as you may be on the bottom floor by the restaurant or doorway and everyone can see and hear.

The resort is lovely we didnt sit by the relax pool we were either in the gardens or by the big pool. The gardens are beautiful very well maintained. The big pool is very cold which was great in the hot weather. Every where is clean and perfect.

The food was good I wouldnt say amazing, it gets very samey after a week. My wife and I ate out alot to try the local food and the traditional morrocan food and it was so much more flavourful than what the resort would say was local food. We found the resort food very bland not what we expected from morrocan food. The service in the restaurant wasn't great and we realised if you were that type of "person" or a girl in your 20s you got constant service and drink refills.

Which brings me onto the staff if you asked I imagined you would of got but me and my wife dont nag the staff they're already doing enough and the drinks are free it's all inclusive so waiters would just ignore us and go speak to the younger girls or the posh couples that moan and nag. We never had any complaints about the staff me and my wife arent here for the all inclusive service were in Morocco we went out every day to explore and get a taste of the real morroco and those that stayed in and drank alcohol all day didnt leave the resort got better service.

The sunbeds were a problem but as I said for me and my wife this didnt bother us we went out every day so we would come back about lunch when it was too hot to be walking had lunch at the resort got some hours sun bathing by the pool then went out again at night. If sunbeds are your problem just lie on the grass theres loads of it about.

The drinks were ok I had a few beers throughout the stay and my wife is pregnant so she coulnt drink. We found alot of their fizzy drinks were flat alot of time. The beer was nice what you would expect from all inclusive.

Cherith ( I think that's how you spell it) was amazing from the moment we landed until she left. The water polo was amazing we loved that and we did the aerobics once.

The evening entertainment was hit and miss we would usually get back from our travels around 2100/2130 and something would be on.

In conclusion we loved our honeymoon we both wanted to visit marrakech and were glad we did. We maybe shouldnt of done all inclusive as we wanted to be out if staying in is your thing this resort is for you. We just felt we got treated differently. They didnt make much effort towards us especially as it's our honeymoon we did have a message on the bed and a bottle of sparkling wine which was lovely but then that was it for two weeks no mention. I would recommend this hotel for a week or ten days but that's enough we wouldnt come back here but that's just our personal opinion but I would recommend to friends and family.

Tui also handled the flight issue very well

Great honeymoon with the best wife xxx

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2021

A some-what indepth, but honest review.

Myself and my partner booked this as our first holiday together.

We stayed here for 1 week between 15th Oct - 22nd Oct and from the moment we arrived, to the moment we left - this has to be the most relaxing holiday we've both experienced.

PROS:

Hotel (all): The hotel itself, including our room and all of it's facilites (Restaurant, bars, toilets etc) were extremely clean. Everywhere you walked the smell was incredible, we're not sure what cleaning products they use but my word they're amazing.

Rooms: We had fresh towels every day, the room was mopped, the bed was made, our toilet and shower area was cleaned every day and fresh water / Pepsi were popped into our fridge. Our bed was changed every other day which is perfectly reasonable, however, you can request your bed to be changed every day should you wish. Also in the rooms, you had USB port sockets built into your main wall socket, you get 2 each side, meaning you don't actually need to bring adapters for your bedside charging.

Staff: Majority of the hotel staff are excellent. Whatever you needed, it was done for you. No questions asked. There are exceptions to very few for this though.

Reps: The TUI Reps:- Emma, an amazing lady. If you needed something sorting she was extremely pro-active in doing so and would catch up with you should she need to go away with the issue to deal with it. Emma was always so approachable, very down to earth and always had a smile on her face when she saw us. (I think that's just a northerners bond to be fair.) Thank you Emma. We can't wait to see you soon!

Cherith, such a wonderful, bubbly, enthusiastic character. Always up for a laugh around the pool when we took part in Water Polo or Aqua Fitness (She's quite relentless then..) From the moment we crossed paths, she would always come over for a chat, even if busy - she'd make time to see what we were upto and have a little dig at us if we were to tired to even get in the pool, let alone take part in the activites. Cherith, remember "Wave." We'll see you soon too.

Hotel "pets": The hotel cats. I cannot stress how amazing this was, they do not beg for food, they simply see if you offer anything, if you don't they move along. They always came over for a quick tickle and then strutted off to go about their day. The hotel does infact actually looks after them, de-fleeing / worming them and feeding them. Also, the tortoise garden. These little guys are incredibly cute. You have to really look for them on some days as they tend to play hide-n-seek from you. But, when they're out - simply ask one of the reps or gardeners and you are more than welcome to hold one for the perfect photo opportunity (one I personally wish I had taken up!)

CONS:

**Although this was a superb holiday, there are always cons. Non of these are a complaint, just putting the information out there for others to expect the same.**

As mentioned in previous reviews, the sunbeds situation.

On our first couple of days after arriving, we tried the honest way of getting one from 8:00AM, onwards. Genuinely, there wasn't a single sunbed around the pool. However, we managed to find the final two beds hidden in the beautiful gardens towards the rear, a kind staff member allowed us to move them to the pool this day.

From then onwards, we had to follow suit of every other guest and get up earlier and earlier each day as the week went on. We finally gave up on Tuesday. Guests were spotted outside at 5:30AM - 6:00AM using their torches on their mobiles, placing towels on the beds and heading back to their rooms. Majority of whom, not returning to the sunbeds for hours on end therefore not giving other guests a chance to use them. This was reported to the reps who I know informed the General Manager, unfortunately, it's a difficult situation for the hotel to deal with as it would cause arguments should the staff remove the towels of a bed, for you to use it.. We don't really have anything bad to say about the GM regarding this as it's impossible to manage. (**THIS IS NOT A COMPLAINT.**)

MINOR CON:

The below is to be expected at an all inclusive hotel no matter who it's with or where it is.

Food(ish): The food in the main buffet restaurant was generally always freshly prepared and there was plenty of choice, even for myself as I'm a fussy eater. However, on some occasions, the food was sub-par. Alot of the meats were very chewy / tough which would indicate it's either overcooked, or, it's been sat in the heaters for a while. Some of the meat was labelled as "boneless". However, we chose to eat this given it's "boneless" but there was still bones in it, which lead to parts of the meat not being cooked properly due to the bone itself (the rest of the meat was cooked thoroughly.) Because of this, it did sometimes put us off from trying other foods that contained similar meats incase we bit into a bone. Apart from this very minor setback, the food itself was delicious, even during the "Morrocan Night" that the hotel held, serving up Morrocan classics.

Can it be noted: A very personal touch, on many occiasions, the Chef would come out to speak with us and tell us about the food too. This was very nice to see as he was passionate about what he had prepared for the guests and wanted us to personally enjoy the food too.

SUMMARY:

Overall, we cannot complain. Our stay was perfect from the moment we set foot into the hotel. The staff, rep's and even guests were so welcoming and friendly. We are currently looking to book again for November 2021 as we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. No matter where you go, there are cons. However, there are so many pro's to list that out-weigh the negatives. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing couples holiday, or even honey-moon, Check out Medina Gardens and experience it for yourself.

Thanks again to the General Manager, the hotel staff and reps. I can't name names as I cannot remember all of you individually so it wouldn't be fair but thank you for making our holiday so effortless. We hope to come back in November and see all of your smiling faces again.

- Josh & David.

Room tip: Rooms on front of hotel are quieter.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheet99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews