We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
149
37
12
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
37
12
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue apartment riad dar orange suite roof terrace dip pool a small swimming pool private house lounge chairs dinner reservations an oasis of peace breakfast each morning your luggage three nights taxi driver the main square a wonderful stay atlas mountains
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017

I stayed at the Riad Dar Darma in February of this past winter. I've wanted to write a review for them for some time but work and life got the better of me. I have travelled to Morocco (I'm half moroccan myself) many times and this is easily on of the best Riads I have stayed in. The house is beautiful and will give the exact type of experience a new or seasoned traveler would expect from staying in a Riad in the Marrakech Medina. I also want to take a moment to single out Said who manages the Riad (especially in the evening). He was amazing and so helpful - to the point where he even cooked my partner and I a meal himself when we had to stay late to catch our flight out. I would definitely stay again next time I am in Marrakech!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite of mirrors, which was lovely, but all the rooms are unique and beautiful.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andrewbergel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Andrew, so kind of you! Thank you for having found the time to write this fab review!
It was a pleasure indeed having you and your wife staying with us.
So, in the name of Said and the Staff all, pls allow me to say that you will be more than welcome next time!
The Dar Darma Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Dar Darma is oozing charm and tranquility. As you enter in off the hectic streets of the Medina, you are instantly transported into a cool, quiet and calm sanctuary from which you just left. The halls and communal areas are dimly lit that some may find stuffy, we found to be the perfect dichotomy from the intense sensory overload that Marrakech is famous for. What brightens the riad is the wonderful staff, and their constant desire to ensure you have a wonderful stay with them, as well as while you are in Marrakech in general. Maria, has a wonderful laugh and a glowing smile that never fades, even while she walked us through maps of the Medina and the winding routes to get to one of our many destinations. Said, like Maria, is always smiling and is always on the move to fetch you a refreshing orange juice on the rooftop garden as the sun falls over the city, or offering to walk you to your evening meal through the initially confusing streets. Isham, was always available with a story, or personal insight into life in Morocco, that gave you a feeling of welcome and ease as you wandered the riad or relaxed while enjoying breakfast in the fresh morning air.
While some travelers may desire flat screen TV's in their room, a bedside phone, or room service at their beck and call... this is not the place for you. Dar Darma is purely a stunningly beautiful and tranquil riad in the heart of an amazing city. The decor was charming and clean, the staff was warm and friendly and always working to improve our stay. We found it to be wonderfully romantic and would highly recommend it if you seek a unique riad while in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Orange Suit, two story. romantic and very charming.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickF1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Nick - reading your review is like reading a flowing fairy story. Thank you so much!
Smiling, being discreet and kind, doing the best to make guests experience the Moroccan taste and hospitality is our primary desire. And it becomes easier to do when guests like you are staying. Allow us to take your 'finale' and let you know that we found your review to be wonderfully kind and would highly hope to see you again!
The Dar Darma Staff, all smiling!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the airport taxi stand and nobody new this place so it took the taxi driver a good 15' to find out. We found out the Riad is close the the "Maison de la photographie" which every body knows! So in case you need just let them take you there and is just 5m from there.

B&B with glamour from the old days. Dark and sumptuously decorated.
Do not expect room service or views from your bedroom. They have a roof terrace with several levels where breakfast is served, Do not expect "a la carte"... just bad coffee, normal Tea and lots of local bakery. I demanded some freshly cut fruit and they provided it to me.
There is as well as a small swimming pool to get refreshing baths. We were granted by the agency free upgrade, discounts at the Hammam and complimentary free cooking class but the manager forgot about all this. We got a small discount on the bill though. The best thing is the help we got from the boys who take care of you during the stay. They guided us in and out of the places we wanted to visit as it can get really difficult to find your way around, and that is a service everyone offers for a little tip (MAD 100 approx) we found out later).
In general 7/10 for the place, 9/10 for the boys but 5/10 for the management

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vicente C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear Vicente
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you had some trouble in getting there.
Even to taxi drivers, the Medina could be a real labyrinth, fascinating to explore but confusing if you have no reference points. We will certanly include few more indications on the confirmation voucher for next guests. Again, we are sorry that the provided service did not exceed your expactations. Just pls consider that no suites have views, dealing with a typical Moroccan house, there are no street-looking windows as all the windows look onto internal courtyards. The overall concept is that of a private house, served by a local staff, which is glad to help and assist whatever the request is. As per your cooking class, as discussed with Maria, pls come in and take it next time - you won't regret!
All our best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed in the Suite of Mirrors. Said and the rest of the staff we outstanding. Particularly Said - he was so helpful and kind and friendly, and took us on a great tour of Jemaa el Fnaa one evening. The rest of the staff are also very friendly and kind. We loved our beautiful suite and felt very, very relaxed. In fact we slept better than we have in years thanks to the tranquility and quiet. Beautiful rooftop terrace to relax on and have breakfast. Just beautiful. We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy_baby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Sandy - We all, and especially Said, thank you for your lovely comment indeed!
It's always a pleasure to spend some time together and know each other - think, it does make the difference, doen't it?
We are also glad to know that you had the chance to take a break and enjoy our silence.
Do not hesitate a minute to get in touch if you want to come back, next time, we will arrange something different for one evening!
All our best - The Dar Darma Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The Dar Darma Riad is truly stunning! No expense was spared on decor, but it was very very dark, you can barely see and enjoy the decor, forget putting on make up, in all of the rooms(we stayed in 3 different rooms by the end of our stay), and freezing too. It was so cold that on our first night we switched suites because we had neither heat nor hot water in the blue suite, even though they gave us toms of space heaters, the space is so big it just wouldn't warm up. As far as location , you can't be closer to the medina, its steps away. Downside is that because its in the medina, no car can get to Dar Darma, so you have to walk a bit with your luggage through the medina to reach your taxi or tour group if your being picked up. Also getting a response from the Dar Darma was nearly impossible before our trip, we wanted to book an extra night and hat to call and email more that 5 times before we got a response. We also felt that THE MOMENT we paid for our stay, the friendly smiles and need to be accommodating stopped from staff. It was like we were no longer their problem (although we were still there for a night after we paid)

Room Tip: blue suite was my fav, better in the spring or summer due to no heat
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Beagy
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to know that your liked the decor.
Dar Darma has, in fact, a very soft atmosphere but when we realize that some guests feel it's too dark we usually provide extra lamps to put in the suite, so pls apologies for not having catch this. The plumber fixed the hot water in the blue suite the day after, pls apologies again for this inconvinient.
Actually, small taxis and cars can stop in front of the door, especially in the night when we ask our trusted taxi drivers to do so.
Above all, we are really sorry that you felt these disruptions with that normally do not belong to our service and hospitality, and to proove that, pls accept our invitation for a night in the blue suite (totally functioning) your next time in Marrakech.
In the meantime, let us wish you the best!
Dar Darma Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews