We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Blend of Moroccan and European Charm in the Heart of the Medina”
Review of Riad Dar Darma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Darma
Ranked #284 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2017

If you are unfamiliar with Marrakech, you will have to consider two options of accommodations while planning your trip: 1) do you want to stay in a resort-like setting with multiple quarters and amenities some distance away from the heart of all the action? or 2) do you want to stay in a more traditional and intimate "riad" that is walking distance from the colorful visuals and fragrant street-food Marrakech has to offer? If you are a traveler who truly enjoys immersing in the culture that is unique to your destination, then opt for option 2 and look no further than Dar Darma.

Like many of the riads near the main square known as Jemaa el fna, when you first approach Dar Darma's door, you question whether you are in the right place. The streets leading up to Dar Darma are narrow dirt roads filled with pedestrians, motorcylces zipping by and carriages led by donkeys, all at the same time! Once the door to Dar Darma opens, you are enchanted by the friendliness of your greeter, Said ("Sayeed"), or anyone else who may be available that day. As you walk towards the main courtyard, your eye cannot ignore the bold black and white design of old and new. Moroccan touches are everywhere, from the lanterns hanging from the ceiling to the gold brass accent pieces here and there. The photos available on the internet of Dar Darma are accurate representations of what to expect and truly beautiful.

Service-wise, you are always greeted with a smile and courtesy. Maria, one of the main office-staff members, is very knowledgable and gracious, always asking whether we needed assistance with dinner reservations or anything else. It was impressive to learn that all of the staff members were multilingual, including English. We selected the Orange Suite for our stay, because it was described as romantic and private, and indeed it was. We were also fortunate to stay in the Blue Apartment for one evening, which is spacious and architecturally stunning- a more luxurious option to the already perfect Orange Suite.

Meals were cooked by an on-site cook and they were deliciously seasoned with a home-cook's comforting touch. It was great to enjoy breakfast, dinner, or a refreshing glass of fresh-squeezed orange juice on Dar Darma's private roof-top area. There is also a small pool on the rooftop, along with lounge chairs, perfect for relaxing in the afternoon after a day of bargaining in the souks. I highly recommend paying the nominal fee for airport transfers, as the friendly staff will assist you with your luggage, and an escort will walk you to the main street where the airport car will pick you up or drop you off.

In a nutshell, if you are looking for medium-level luxury at a fair nightly rate, an extraordinarily accommodating staff, and proximately to the bustle and excitement of the medina, then Dar Darma will exceed your expectations. Thank you Maria, Said, Isham, the lovely cooks, and the rest of the staff for a memorable and enjoyable trip!

Room Tip: Orange Suite for active couples seeking privacy (narrow staircase in room); Blue Apartment for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear Alinne
We are sooo glad that you chosed the option 2! When the owners renovated and refurnished the house they thought exactly that they wanted the old and the new in it; the Moroccan fused to the Italian and Oriental style; few romantic suites larger than normal and a home comforting touch everywhere! Happy that you appreciated!
When such a feeling arises, we can't wait to see you again! On this matter, do you have considered the option 3? And so rent the whole Riad with a sparkling group of friends?!
...in the meantime, have a lovely life!
The Dar Darma Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

I stayed at the Riad Dar Darma in February of this past winter. I've wanted to write a review for them for some time but work and life got the better of me. I have travelled to Morocco (I'm half moroccan myself) many times and this is easily on of the best Riads I have stayed in. The house is beautiful and will give the exact type of experience a new or seasoned traveler would expect from staying in a Riad in the Marrakech Medina. I also want to take a moment to single out Said who manages the Riad (especially in the evening). He was amazing and so helpful - to the point where he even cooked my partner and I a meal himself when we had to stay late to catch our flight out. I would definitely stay again next time I am in Marrakech!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite of mirrors, which was lovely, but all the rooms are unique and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andrewbergel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Andrew, so kind of you! Thank you for having found the time to write this fab review!
It was a pleasure indeed having you and your wife staying with us.
So, in the name of Said and the Staff all, pls allow me to say that you will be more than welcome next time!
The Dar Darma Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Dar Darma is oozing charm and tranquility. As you enter in off the hectic streets of the Medina, you are instantly transported into a cool, quiet and calm sanctuary from which you just left. The halls and communal areas are dimly lit that some may find stuffy, we found to be the perfect dichotomy from the intense sensory overload that Marrakech is famous for. What brightens the riad is the wonderful staff, and their constant desire to ensure you have a wonderful stay with them, as well as while you are in Marrakech in general. Maria, has a wonderful laugh and a glowing smile that never fades, even while she walked us through maps of the Medina and the winding routes to get to one of our many destinations. Said, like Maria, is always smiling and is always on the move to fetch you a refreshing orange juice on the rooftop garden as the sun falls over the city, or offering to walk you to your evening meal through the initially confusing streets. Isham, was always available with a story, or personal insight into life in Morocco, that gave you a feeling of welcome and ease as you wandered the riad or relaxed while enjoying breakfast in the fresh morning air.
While some travelers may desire flat screen TV's in their room, a bedside phone, or room service at their beck and call... this is not the place for you. Dar Darma is purely a stunningly beautiful and tranquil riad in the heart of an amazing city. The decor was charming and clean, the staff was warm and friendly and always working to improve our stay. We found it to be wonderfully romantic and would highly recommend it if you seek a unique riad while in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Orange Suit, two story. romantic and very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Nick - reading your review is like reading a flowing fairy story. Thank you so much!
Smiling, being discreet and kind, doing the best to make guests experience the Moroccan taste and hospitality is our primary desire. And it becomes easier to do when guests like you are staying. Allow us to take your 'finale' and let you know that we found your review to be wonderfully kind and would highly hope to see you again!
The Dar Darma Staff, all smiling!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the airport taxi stand and nobody new this place so it took the taxi driver a good 15' to find out. We found out the Riad is close the the "Maison de la photographie" which every body knows! So in case you need just let them take you there and is just 5m from there.

B&B with glamour from the old days. Dark and sumptuously decorated.
Do not expect room service or views from your bedroom. They have a roof terrace with several levels where breakfast is served, Do not expect "a la carte"... just bad coffee, normal Tea and lots of local bakery. I demanded some freshly cut fruit and they provided it to me.
There is as well as a small swimming pool to get refreshing baths. We were granted by the agency free upgrade, discounts at the Hammam and complimentary free cooking class but the manager forgot about all this. We got a small discount on the bill though. The best thing is the help we got from the boys who take care of you during the stay. They guided us in and out of the places we wanted to visit as it can get really difficult to find your way around, and that is a service everyone offers for a little tip (MAD 100 approx) we found out later).
In general 7/10 for the place, 9/10 for the boys but 5/10 for the management

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vicente C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear Vicente
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you had some trouble in getting there.
Even to taxi drivers, the Medina could be a real labyrinth, fascinating to explore but confusing if you have no reference points. We will certanly include few more indications on the confirmation voucher for next guests. Again, we are sorry that the provided service did not exceed your expactations. Just pls consider that no suites have views, dealing with a typical Moroccan house, there are no street-looking windows as all the windows look onto internal courtyards. The overall concept is that of a private house, served by a local staff, which is glad to help and assist whatever the request is. As per your cooking class, as discussed with Maria, pls come in and take it next time - you won't regret!
All our best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed in the Suite of Mirrors. Said and the rest of the staff we outstanding. Particularly Said - he was so helpful and kind and friendly, and took us on a great tour of Jemaa el Fnaa one evening. The rest of the staff are also very friendly and kind. We loved our beautiful suite and felt very, very relaxed. In fact we slept better than we have in years thanks to the tranquility and quiet. Beautiful rooftop terrace to relax on and have breakfast. Just beautiful. We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy_baby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Sandy - We all, and especially Said, thank you for your lovely comment indeed!
It's always a pleasure to spend some time together and know each other - think, it does make the difference, doen't it?
We are also glad to know that you had the chance to take a break and enjoy our silence.
Do not hesitate a minute to get in touch if you want to come back, next time, we will arrange something different for one evening!
All our best - The Dar Darma Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 km away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#95 of 500 in Marrakech
84 reviews
0.2 km away
Dar Assiya
Dar Assiya
#144 of 500 in Marrakech
87 reviews
1 km away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 500 in Marrakech
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#105 of 500 in Marrakech
298 reviews
0 km away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#94 of 500 in Marrakech
421 reviews
0.9 km away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Darma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Darma

Address: 11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $314 - $1,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Darma 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Darma is a private dwelling that can offer privacy, low-key services and traditional Moroccan hospitality in a relaxed, exclusive atmosphere. A few steps from the Museum and the Medersa Ben Youssef. You can enjoy this experience in the intimate surroundings of your suite, in the relaxation areas or on the terraces with breathtaking views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Darma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Darma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing