We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sanctuary in the Medina. A perfect blend of tradition and comfort.”
Review of Riad Dar Darma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Darma
Ranked #295 of 1,194 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Dar Darma is oozing charm and tranquility. As you enter in off the hectic streets of the Medina, you are instantly transported into a cool, quiet and calm sanctuary from which you just left. The halls and communal areas are dimly lit that some may find stuffy, we found to be the perfect dichotomy from the intense sensory overload that Marrakech is famous for. What brightens the riad is the wonderful staff, and their constant desire to ensure you have a wonderful stay with them, as well as while you are in Marrakech in general. Maria, has a wonderful laugh and a glowing smile that never fades, even while she walked us through maps of the Medina and the winding routes to get to one of our many destinations. Said, like Maria, is always smiling and is always on the move to fetch you a refreshing orange juice on the rooftop garden as the sun falls over the city, or offering to walk you to your evening meal through the initially confusing streets. Isham, was always available with a story, or personal insight into life in Morocco, that gave you a feeling of welcome and ease as you wandered the riad or relaxed while enjoying breakfast in the fresh morning air.
While some travelers may desire flat screen TV's in their room, a bedside phone, or room service at their beck and call... this is not the place for you. Dar Darma is purely a stunningly beautiful and tranquil riad in the heart of an amazing city. The decor was charming and clean, the staff was warm and friendly and always working to improve our stay. We found it to be wonderfully romantic and would highly recommend it if you seek a unique riad while in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Orange Suit, two story. romantic and very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Nick - reading your review is like reading a flowing fairy story. Thank you so much!
Smiling, being discreet and kind, doing the best to make guests experience the Moroccan taste and hospitality is our primary desire. And it becomes easier to do when guests like you are staying. Allow us to take your 'finale' and let you know that we found your review to be wonderfully kind and would highly hope to see you again!
The Dar Darma Staff, all smiling!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the airport taxi stand and nobody new this place so it took the taxi driver a good 15' to find out. We found out the Riad is close the the "Maison de la photographie" which every body knows! So in case you need just let them take you there and is just 5m from there.

B&B with glamour from the old days. Dark and sumptuously decorated.
Do not expect room service or views from your bedroom. They have a roof terrace with several levels where breakfast is served, Do not expect "a la carte"... just bad coffee, normal Tea and lots of local bakery. I demanded some freshly cut fruit and they provided it to me.
There is as well as a small swimming pool to get refreshing baths. We were granted by the agency free upgrade, discounts at the Hammam and complimentary free cooking class but the manager forgot about all this. We got a small discount on the bill though. The best thing is the help we got from the boys who take care of you during the stay. They guided us in and out of the places we wanted to visit as it can get really difficult to find your way around, and that is a service everyone offers for a little tip (MAD 100 approx) we found out later).
In general 7/10 for the place, 9/10 for the boys but 5/10 for the management

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vicente C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear Vicente
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you had some trouble in getting there.
Even to taxi drivers, the Medina could be a real labyrinth, fascinating to explore but confusing if you have no reference points. We will certanly include few more indications on the confirmation voucher for next guests. Again, we are sorry that the provided service did not exceed your expactations. Just pls consider that no suites have views, dealing with a typical Moroccan house, there are no street-looking windows as all the windows look onto internal courtyards. The overall concept is that of a private house, served by a local staff, which is glad to help and assist whatever the request is. As per your cooking class, as discussed with Maria, pls come in and take it next time - you won't regret!
All our best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed in the Suite of Mirrors. Said and the rest of the staff we outstanding. Particularly Said - he was so helpful and kind and friendly, and took us on a great tour of Jemaa el Fnaa one evening. The rest of the staff are also very friendly and kind. We loved our beautiful suite and felt very, very relaxed. In fact we slept better than we have in years thanks to the tranquility and quiet. Beautiful rooftop terrace to relax on and have breakfast. Just beautiful. We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy_baby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Sandy - We all, and especially Said, thank you for your lovely comment indeed!
It's always a pleasure to spend some time together and know each other - think, it does make the difference, doen't it?
We are also glad to know that you had the chance to take a break and enjoy our silence.
Do not hesitate a minute to get in touch if you want to come back, next time, we will arrange something different for one evening!
All our best - The Dar Darma Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The Dar Darma Riad is truly stunning! No expense was spared on decor, but it was very very dark, you can barely see and enjoy the decor, forget putting on make up, in all of the rooms(we stayed in 3 different rooms by the end of our stay), and freezing too. It was so cold that on our first night we switched suites because we had neither heat nor hot water in the blue suite, even though they gave us toms of space heaters, the space is so big it just wouldn't warm up. As far as location , you can't be closer to the medina, its steps away. Downside is that because its in the medina, no car can get to Dar Darma, so you have to walk a bit with your luggage through the medina to reach your taxi or tour group if your being picked up. Also getting a response from the Dar Darma was nearly impossible before our trip, we wanted to book an extra night and hat to call and email more that 5 times before we got a response. We also felt that THE MOMENT we paid for our stay, the friendly smiles and need to be accommodating stopped from staff. It was like we were no longer their problem (although we were still there for a night after we paid)

Room Tip: blue suite was my fav, better in the spring or summer due to no heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Beagy
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to know that your liked the decor.
Dar Darma has, in fact, a very soft atmosphere but when we realize that some guests feel it's too dark we usually provide extra lamps to put in the suite, so pls apologies for not having catch this. The plumber fixed the hot water in the blue suite the day after, pls apologies again for this inconvinient.
Actually, small taxis and cars can stop in front of the door, especially in the night when we ask our trusted taxi drivers to do so.
Above all, we are really sorry that you felt these disruptions with that normally do not belong to our service and hospitality, and to proove that, pls accept our invitation for a night in the blue suite (totally functioning) your next time in Marrakech.
In the meantime, let us wish you the best!
Dar Darma Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Albeit the hotel being beautiful and impressively well decorated, the stay was appalling and very disappointing. We were a family of 6 members travelling and we found it a rather uncomfortable stay.

First of all, I'd like to mention the hotel temperature was always very low and the heater was broken in one of the rooms. Being a very high ceiling building, it is not easy to heat it up. The rooms were very dull in light and we could barely read or see the room (while unpacking we didn't even manage to see the clothes properly!).
They lack plugs all around the hotel so in order for you to be able to charge your phone you have to dispose from one of the very limited and scarce lamps...

For the price we were charged we expected small details this kind of hotels usually have. For instance, we were not provided with shampoo, conditioner and other...only shower gel.

Breakfast was OK, nothing to mention despite the slow service...food was good and they offered large quantities.

Staff from the hotel are very keen to help and quite efficient.

I would only recommend this hotel to visit but not to stay if you want a comfortable time. We were disappointed by the quality and service promised against the reality.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casilda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Casilda,
Thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry to learn that Dar Darma did not match your expectations. We normally like soft lightning but conscious of that we are still able to fit extra lamps in suite if required. Right now we provide bath amenities made by local argan oil but can consider your suggestion.
We will take your feedback into high consideration since it will help us to impove our service and we hope you will have the chance to visit us again in the future.
Many thanks, Dar Darma Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 km away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#98 of 500 in Marrakech
83 reviews
0.2 km away
Dar Assiya
Dar Assiya
#138 of 500 in Marrakech
87 reviews
1 km away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 500 in Marrakech
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#105 of 500 in Marrakech
297 reviews
0 km away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#94 of 500 in Marrakech
421 reviews
0.9 km away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Darma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Darma

Address: 11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 1,194 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $310 - $1,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Darma 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Darma is a private dwelling that can offer privacy, low-key services and traditional Moroccan hospitality in a relaxed, exclusive atmosphere. A few steps from the Museum and the Medersa Ben Youssef. You can enjoy this experience in the intimate surroundings of your suite, in the relaxation areas or on the terraces with breathtaking views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Darma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Darma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing