We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
149
37
12
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
37
12
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue apartment riad dar orange suite roof terrace dip pool a small swimming pool private house lounge chairs dinner reservations an oasis of peace breakfast each morning your luggage three nights taxi driver the main square a wonderful stay atlas mountains
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the airport taxi stand and nobody new this place so it took the taxi driver a good 15' to find out. We found out the Riad is close the the "Maison de la photographie" which every body knows! So in case you need just let them take you there and is just 5m from there.

B&B with glamour from the old days. Dark and sumptuously decorated.
Do not expect room service or views from your bedroom. They have a roof terrace with several levels where breakfast is served, Do not expect "a la carte"... just bad coffee, normal Tea and lots of local bakery. I demanded some freshly cut fruit and they provided it to me.
There is as well as a small swimming pool to get refreshing baths. We were granted by the agency free upgrade, discounts at the Hammam and complimentary free cooking class but the manager forgot about all this. We got a small discount on the bill though. The best thing is the help we got from the boys who take care of you during the stay. They guided us in and out of the places we wanted to visit as it can get really difficult to find your way around, and that is a service everyone offers for a little tip (MAD 100 approx) we found out later).
In general 7/10 for the place, 9/10 for the boys but 5/10 for the management

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vicente C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear Vicente
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you had some trouble in getting there.
Even to taxi drivers, the Medina could be a real labyrinth, fascinating to explore but confusing if you have no reference points. We will certanly include few more indications on the confirmation voucher for next guests. Again, we are sorry that the provided service did not exceed your expactations. Just pls consider that no suites have views, dealing with a typical Moroccan house, there are no street-looking windows as all the windows look onto internal courtyards. The overall concept is that of a private house, served by a local staff, which is glad to help and assist whatever the request is. As per your cooking class, as discussed with Maria, pls come in and take it next time - you won't regret!
All our best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed in the Suite of Mirrors. Said and the rest of the staff we outstanding. Particularly Said - he was so helpful and kind and friendly, and took us on a great tour of Jemaa el Fnaa one evening. The rest of the staff are also very friendly and kind. We loved our beautiful suite and felt very, very relaxed. In fact we slept better than we have in years thanks to the tranquility and quiet. Beautiful rooftop terrace to relax on and have breakfast. Just beautiful. We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy_baby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Sandy - We all, and especially Said, thank you for your lovely comment indeed!
It's always a pleasure to spend some time together and know each other - think, it does make the difference, doen't it?
We are also glad to know that you had the chance to take a break and enjoy our silence.
Do not hesitate a minute to get in touch if you want to come back, next time, we will arrange something different for one evening!
All our best - The Dar Darma Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The Dar Darma Riad is truly stunning! No expense was spared on decor, but it was very very dark, you can barely see and enjoy the decor, forget putting on make up, in all of the rooms(we stayed in 3 different rooms by the end of our stay), and freezing too. It was so cold that on our first night we switched suites because we had neither heat nor hot water in the blue suite, even though they gave us toms of space heaters, the space is so big it just wouldn't warm up. As far as location , you can't be closer to the medina, its steps away. Downside is that because its in the medina, no car can get to Dar Darma, so you have to walk a bit with your luggage through the medina to reach your taxi or tour group if your being picked up. Also getting a response from the Dar Darma was nearly impossible before our trip, we wanted to book an extra night and hat to call and email more that 5 times before we got a response. We also felt that THE MOMENT we paid for our stay, the friendly smiles and need to be accommodating stopped from staff. It was like we were no longer their problem (although we were still there for a night after we paid)

Room Tip: blue suite was my fav, better in the spring or summer due to no heat
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Beagy
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to know that your liked the decor.
Dar Darma has, in fact, a very soft atmosphere but when we realize that some guests feel it's too dark we usually provide extra lamps to put in the suite, so pls apologies for not having catch this. The plumber fixed the hot water in the blue suite the day after, pls apologies again for this inconvinient.
Actually, small taxis and cars can stop in front of the door, especially in the night when we ask our trusted taxi drivers to do so.
Above all, we are really sorry that you felt these disruptions with that normally do not belong to our service and hospitality, and to proove that, pls accept our invitation for a night in the blue suite (totally functioning) your next time in Marrakech.
In the meantime, let us wish you the best!
Dar Darma Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Albeit the hotel being beautiful and impressively well decorated, the stay was appalling and very disappointing. We were a family of 6 members travelling and we found it a rather uncomfortable stay.

First of all, I'd like to mention the hotel temperature was always very low and the heater was broken in one of the rooms. Being a very high ceiling building, it is not easy to heat it up. The rooms were very dull in light and we could barely read or see the room (while unpacking we didn't even manage to see the clothes properly!).
They lack plugs all around the hotel so in order for you to be able to charge your phone you have to dispose from one of the very limited and scarce lamps...

For the price we were charged we expected small details this kind of hotels usually have. For instance, we were not provided with shampoo, conditioner and other...only shower gel.

Breakfast was OK, nothing to mention despite the slow service...food was good and they offered large quantities.

Staff from the hotel are very keen to help and quite efficient.

I would only recommend this hotel to visit but not to stay if you want a comfortable time. We were disappointed by the quality and service promised against the reality.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casilda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Casilda,
Thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry to learn that Dar Darma did not match your expectations. We normally like soft lightning but conscious of that we are still able to fit extra lamps in suite if required. Right now we provide bath amenities made by local argan oil but can consider your suggestion.
We will take your feedback into high consideration since it will help us to impove our service and we hope you will have the chance to visit us again in the future.
Many thanks, Dar Darma Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

In writing my review, I'm having a tough time picking my favorite thing about Dar Darma. If traveling to Marrakech and you've done your homework, you know that you have to stay in a riyad. It's one of those "only in Morocco" experiences. We chose Dar Darma, and from the moment we walked in the front door we were in love. The style of the place is grand and opulent but still warm and with all the creature comforts (e.g. great beds, strong water pressure, good wifi and all the other things a savvy traveler needs). We enjoyed several delicious meals at the riyad including one rooftop dinner. The architecture is gorgeous. Several rooms share massive sitting rooms with soaring ceilings. You've just never seen anything like it. However I'd have to say the standout for me was the staff. You felt like one of the family members. As an example, a few of us needed to go out to get cash one night, so we asked the team where to go. Abdul told us that while not far away the path to the ATM was circuitous and insisted on walking us there and back. The team was always ready with a smile to greet us and felt as genuinely excited to meet us as we were to speak to them and learn more about their beautiful home country of Morocco. The staff was LGBT friendly.

I would not hesitate for one second to go back to Dar Darma. An authentic, lavish, friendly, welcoming place with stunning architecture and a great staff. Maria, Isham, and Abdul made a great trip to Morocco even greater.

Room Tip: We stayed overlooking the white atrium with black fountain. Gorgeous.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear jfg2003
Thank you very much for this heartfelt review. It was a real pleasure to have you here. Next time you choose Marrakech to be your city for a few days, be sure, here at Dar Darma we will be your family again! Maybe you can come with some friends for a special occasion and have the Riad on exclusive basis?! Hope so! In the meantime, all the best for the new year!
Laura and Maria, Icham, Abdul...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews