We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Marrakech Riad - Great New Year's Eve Fiesta”
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Ranked #40 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This was my 2nd time visiting Riad Dar Najat, and it was even better this time around.

The hotel itself is just as beautiful with all of it's African decor and lush terrace, and all the familiar staff were still there. Olivier and his crew are still delivering top-notch service and atmosphere at a great price. It really is the "Coolest Riad in Marrakech". It's a great, little boutique hotel that is in a great location, only about a 5 minute walk from the Jemaa el Fna. It's a perfect choice for a romantic getaway, or couples retreat.

The music is always groovy, from classic reggae to more modern instrumental Arabic music and jazz, it really sets a cool tone. The terrace is still fantastic with all of its art and trees and plants. The food, breakfast, lunch and dinner was fantastic and served whenever it was asked for. Excellent service and friendly, multi-lingual staff.

The New Year's Eve Fiesta was absolutely great and the full house of guests had a great time with great, Gnawa musician and bellydancers. The food (and wine) was also amazing at the party. Beer and liquor was available too! Wow. Great party in a great place with great people. I didn't use the jazuzzi on the roof, but it sure looks good...

There is free wifi everywhere in the riad as well, including the rooms. What more could one ask for in accommodations?

I don't normally stay in the same place twice, but Riad Dar Najat is different. It's really a memorable small hotel, with memorable service and value. Thanks for everything Olivier and staff! Hopefully I will return yet again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 486 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2011

Well, it's real easy to describe Dar Najat - especially the owner who is probably one of the most accomodating people I have ever met, Mr. Olivier! He and I started corresponding over email and I believe we have a lot from what he told me. Olivier tried his level best to give me accomodations but since I was with a group it was taking me a bit long and he definitely gave many options, and very quickly - the guy never sleeps! In the end we couldn't stay there but he hosted a very nice dinner for my friends and I. Just amazing - try the royal couscous! It's HUGE! Olivier also went out of his way to help us planning my day tour to Essouria, what a pleasant day that was, and he also spent time with us there - which owner does that? He took the time to share his eyes with us, and it was wonderful! I thank you Olivier - and now we remain friends cross continents but all totally worth it. I would definitely recommend this place - his staff is wonderful, as is little brownie his dog, food is superb, place is class and fun! Located in a great area! It's a maze but after the first day you will figure it all out!

Oh and he knew it was a special occasion for us in Morocco and invited us for a meal at the riad, and made sure we were well taken care of. One thing for sure is that if you stay here, you will be taken care of every step of the way! There's no doubt about it, from travel assistance, to accomodation, to meeting and greeting you. Olivier and his team know what it means provide the best customer service possible!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AS005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful five-day trip to Marrakech. We stayed at Riad Dar Najad. The riad is very cozy and located in the very heart of the Medina itself, just a five min walk to the Jemma el Fna square. The service is excellent, everybody was so helpful at the hotel! We owe the staff a special thanks for being so flexibile with our acoommodation due to a last minute booking! The transfer to and from the aiport was included in the price and it was really useful.

We also booked the New Year's party at the Riad and enjoyed it so much! The owner of the hotel (who greeted us personally upon arrival and showed us around) was there with his family and the atmosphere was very firendly. Loads of food (and drinks), nice entertainment (two belly dancers and the traditional "gnawa" music), a lot of dancing and fun!

The rooms are very comfy and nicely decorated in traditional stye. Due to this particular last-minute arrangement, we stayed in three different rooms at the riad and can confirm they are all very nice! :-) It was very pleasant to chill out on the very beautiful roof terrace of the Riad. That's where the breakfast took place every morning. Breakfast deserves a special word of praise: it was absolutely delicious and so much food! Every morning we god smth different: pancakes, eggs, some traditional pancakes....always fresh orange juice and pastry, jam and butter. Absolutely yummy and such a good start for the day! Every evening there's a drink waiting for you on the terrace, including beer etc. One can also have dinner at the hotel, but inform the staff in the morning.

Otherwise, there's a couple of very nice restaurants in the neighbourhood (La Porte du Monde is 5 min away and offers very nice traditional food for very reasonable prices on a nice roof terrace). The hotel staff will also be happy to recommend any other restaurants or attractions (we booked a one day trip to the mountains, cost 70 EUR per couple, stops on the way in different traditional markets and villages, etc - enjoyed it a lot!). All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much and writing these lines I am already a bit sad to be back to winter...Thank you very much, guys!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZwarteKater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Service was excellent! Nothing was too much trouble, everybody was made to feel very welcome and treated like long lost friends! Rooms were comfortable quirky and clean, the atmosphere was extremely relaxing or if you wanted to stroll to the market or out for dinner you were given you're personal guide. Very impressed.. Have recommended it to several friends who have been and others who are going in may. I will go back for sure.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
3  Thank Helene19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I had not been to Marrakesh before but my daughter had been there a few months previously and persuaded my to do a side trip there on my latest Australia/UK commute. “Stay away from your boring hotels, Dad, and put up somewhere with a bit of local character and atmosphere”, she insisted…..

I picked Dar Najat pretty much at random (I think it was the highest-rated on Trip Advisor which had available rooms at the right time at a fair price) and stayed there for 3 nights in November 2011. Did it have atmosphere ? Oh yes, and it WAS “cool” ! Did it have local character? Definitely! – mainly in the form of the main man, owner and manager, the charming, energetic, and rather mysterious Oliver.

The riad is well-located. although it took me some time to get properly oriented and find the best way to the square and the souks – which were only about 5 minutes away down the fascinating laneways when I got it right. I could have asked, but sometimes it’s best to find your way the long way around! The building is of the traditional courtyard design and the (necessarily) narrow rooms are carefully and thoughtfully decorated, clean and comfortable. The staff (a real mix of characters) were really friendly, informal and attentive – constant smiles – and always kept an eye on my glass, coffee cup or plate. Up on the roof, where there’s a good choice of chairs, tables and lounges, very cool and eclectic music plays (Oliver was once a DJ) but is not intrusive and adds to the cruisy feel of the place.

I had only praise and no complaints about this informal riad and its engaging staff. Just as my daughter warned me in advance, a riad would not offer the ‘western-style”, predictable, impersonal hotel format and trimmings - so you don’t go there if you are looking for overnight room-service or a uniformed concierge. But you do go there if you want atmosphere, fun and a memorable stay in Marrakech, and definitely if you want to kick the boring business-style travel habit, as I did.

I certainly got the personal touch. Thanks, Oliver, for being so kind and inclusive to this sad, middle-aged man! I really appreciated your thoughtfulness and hospitality, and the personal lengths to which you went to ensure I was occupied and my visit was enjoyable. Thanks also for pointing me in the right direction for sights, shops and restaurants, not to mention just the most superb Hamam in Morocco – I could have gone there every day! Trying to keep up with you (and your wonderful dog), physically as well as mentally, as we chased around Marakech, dodging traffic and pausing only for the occasional coffee and (your) interesting conversation and observations, made the stay an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Distracted59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 km away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
593 reviews
1.2 km away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.2 km away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#31 of 500 in Marrakech
778 reviews
1.8 km away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,060 reviews
1.7 km away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#68 of 500 in Marrakech
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $124 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Najat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat,Traveller's Choice 2015 by Trip Advisor. "Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a very intimate riad with a hot tube Jacuzzi on the roof terrace, 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing