We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An oasis of calm in the madness of the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #3 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Nw England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in the madness of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at Riad le Clos des Arts for five nights in February. Georgina and Massimo and the rest of the staff made us so welcome during our stay, they really couldn't do enough for us.

This traditional riad is located right in the heart of old Marrakech, an enjoyable walk from the main square Jemaa el-Fnaa. The sites and smells of the old city are right on your doorstep.

Superbly appointed, the rooms are all located off the main courtyard, there are quiet booths to relax on the ground floor, to a small pool and sun deck area on the top.

It was enjoyable feasting on the daily breakfast out in the sunshine, a superb way to start to day, the staff always on hand to offer advice or tips.

If I had to offer a tip, well it isn't the easiest place to find when you first get into Marrakech so take advantage of the hotel taxi service from the airport.

We had a great time in Marrakech and wouldn't hesitate to stop at Riad le Clos des Arts if we have the fortune to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo T, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest
thanks for your encouraging feed back. We hope you ll visit us again.
Massimo and Giorgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    32
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
153
672
50
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

All we can say is WOW! Wonderful and helpful hosts and staff, they helped us in every aspect of seeing and getting around Marrakesh. No hotel could ever provide the personal attention; they made us feel like friends. Setup a guide of the Medina for an afternoon-- this was our highlight of the stay. Arranged transportation back to the airport. The food was very good, loved the fresh yogurt and fruit for breakfast! The riad itself was a beautiful space, relaxing and quiet.

Room Tip: Can not go wrong with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rshappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

It's hard to compare a Morocco riad with the usual tourist hotel so forget the usual perks and Holiday Inn accoutrements. At Clos des Arts just settle for marvelous hosts, good creative food, helpful staff and a quiet, spacious room where you can stretch out and enjoy your leisure after hitting the sites.
Giorgina greeted us with a staff person several blocks from the riad and walked us back to riad. She gave us a quick but thorough overview of the area, directions to the square, and answered our few questions. We had a different and creative dinner there one of our evenings,
And our breakfast was tasty and quite ample with the best yogurt (I don't even eat yogurt normally) ever tasted.
Both our guest room and public areas were spotless. Bed was comfortable. If one small caution, it would be that the stairs to our room were difficult, but that was the sase in all the places we stayed and visited.
I would highly recommend Clos des Arts.
Bravo Giorgina et Massimo.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wwtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples, italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was one of the best places I have ever stayed in. The hosts were incredible and were able to answer any questions we had. They were also able to schedule tours and spa appointments. The breakfast and mint tea were delicious! The staff was great. Georgina and Massimo made us feel at home and were so generous. The room was one of the best I've ever stayed in. It was better than most American hotel rooms. Overall the experience was great and I will definitely be going back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjbNaples_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

If you are staying in Marrakech you should try to stay in this special Riad in the heart of the medina. This was an mazing place to stay. We were in a great location, the Riad was do peaceful at night you would not have known you were 2 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of medina life!. Giorgina and Massimo were brilliant hosts , we would definitely go back there again if we ever return to Marrakech, they were very attentive and gave many tips for getting around the Medina. Make sure you also eat there at least one evening if you are staying. It was the best meal we had in Marrakech . The rooms are beautifully kept and the attention to service and detail was of the highest standard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 km away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.4 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.5 km away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#1 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.8 km away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#7 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price range (per night): $191 - $266
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 3 suites, 2 superior rooms and 2 smaller double rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing