We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,359)
Filter reviews
1,359 results
Traveller rating
1,285
63
6
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,285
63
6
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lisa michael douiria suite roof terrace the hustle and bustle beautiful riad restaurant recommendations atlas mountains detailed map plunge pool drop off point great hosts heart of marrakech long weekend an oasis of calm the main square mint tea yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,359 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

My husband and I first visited Marrakech back in 2011 and were delighted with our stay at Dar Charkia. Planning our return to Marrakech in January 2018, we didn't think twice about where we wanted to stay: it was Dar Charkia, of course!

And once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our suite (the Douiria) was spacious and quite luxurious. Our breakfasts were delicious and varied. The riad's manageress, Samira, was extraordinarily attentive, well-organized, and helpful. It's 'guardian', Rachid, went out of his way to be of service.

The weather was quite cold at night while we were there (late January), but our suite had adequate heating. Our king-sized bed had a very comfortable mattress and toasty-warm coverings.

If you are looking for well-run accommodation in an excellent location, I highly recommend Dar Charkia.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 566Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

A wonderful Riad in the heart of Marrakech. It is stunningly beautiful and our room was gorgeous, opening straight onto the Courtyard and pool. Breakfast was lovely, and different each day and the meal we enjoyed on our first night was beautifully cooked and presented. From the moment of arrival nothing was too much trouble and Sammi and Rashid were absolute stars - so very very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Ideally situated to walk to all of the main central tourist sites, and a nice walk to the Gardens Majorelle. Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

Magical Riad in the heart of the Medina, run by excellent helpful staff, making sure you are safe, secure, and most of all that you enjoy the city. Had an amazing time because of their recommendations.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hormazd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakchiaBritgirl, Owner at Dar Charkia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thankyou so much for taking the time to post a review on Dar Charkia. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our devoted staff looked after your needs well.
Thankyou again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Our stay in Marrakech was really made by our quaint Riad. The staff was incredibly hospitable and helpful for everything we needed or had questions about when exploring. Marrakech can be tough to navigate but Rasheed made sure we found the place with ease. The design of the rooms in really charming. I highly recommend this Dar.

Room Tip: Just read the details in the email they send you when you book, It has all of the secrets.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakchiaBritgirl, Owner at Dar Charkia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thankyou so much for taking your valuable time to post a review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us - our staff endeavour to help all our clients during their stay and fulfill any queries, questions and general needs. Thankyou again for posting a review - every single one is vital. Happy new year and all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

We stayed at Dar Charkia for three nights in mid-December. After booking, the Riad was very good about communicating with us and providing any information we needed. They offered an airport transfer to the Riad for 150 dirhams (about $15), which was pretty standard. Taking a taxi on our own would've probably saved us about $10, but for just arriving to a foreign country and being exhausted, it was nice to have a person waiting for us at the airport with a sign that had our name on it. Also, I enjoyed talking with the driver, whose English was quite good.

The riad itself was in a good location, just outside the main part of the Medina (Old Town area with all of the souks), and right off a main road, which made it easy-ish to find at the end of the day. We were about a 5-minute walk to all of the main souks, about 10 minutes from the Djemma el Fna, about 20 minutes from Bahia Palace, and about 25 minutes from the Jardin Majorelle.

The inside of the riad was beautiful and contemporary. An orange tree grows right in the middle of the courtyard, and in the morning you can hear birds chirping while you eat breakfast. There are nice little rooms off the main area with wonderful Moroccan flourishes, and a terrace on the roof as well. However, because it was winter when we visited, we didn't spend much time in these areas as it was a bit too cold. When it's a bit warmer, however, I can imagine these would be nice spaces to hang out in.

We were originally booked in the Saada suite, but because of an issue with the heating system in the room, the Riad was gracious enough to upgrade us to their Douiria Suite. If you have the opportunity to book this room, I highly recommend it, because it was awesome. Very spacious, lots of fantastic little touches, with a big bed and nice bathroom. The bathroom had a blowdryer, and the room had an easy-to-use safe. Also, we had a fireplace in our room, and the excellent staff member Rashid was kind enough to make a fire for us each night we were there. This was definitely one of the many highlights of our trip. During our stay it was also spectacularly quiet here—we couldn't believe how silent it was at night, being in a city.

All of the staff were great. We communicated via email with Lisa, one of the owners, and were met on our first night by Samira, the manager. Both were kind and very helpful. However, after our first night we were mainly in contact with Rashid, who again was really great and helped answer any questions we had, in addition to serving us breakfast and making fires for us nightly. The guy really went above and beyond—thanks Rashid!

Finally, the breakfast at Dar Charkia was pretty good—be prepared for lots of bread (bread 4 different ways for most of our breakfasts). But the yogurt, coffee, and eggs here were also nice.

The only con, or "complaint" I really had was that the hot water in the bathroom would only last for about 3-4 minutes, so if you have multiple people staying in the room it might be a good idea to space your showers out (not sure if this is an issue in the other rooms as well).

Overall, though, Dar Charkia was a really great place to start our two-week trip in Morocco. I'd definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: I'd recommend paying a little more and staying in the Douiria Suite, because it was great—the best room we stayed in in Morocco!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PostcardPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews