We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Gem in the Heart of Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech
Ranked #121 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Found this place on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a try, and I can say that I had an absolute blast here. The riad is insanely beautiful and very traditional. If you want an "authentic" experience apart from the typical hotel, this is it. The riad is also located in the center of the medina so you are walking distance from everything that is worth seeing in Marrakech. Just a few minutes from the Souks and Jemaa el Fna Square (though check the advice on the square, it can be quite an overwhelming mess).
The rooms are setup to face a central courtyard and the feeling is less of a hotel room and more of a room in a private house. May take a bit of getting used to, but everyone was incredibly welcoming and added to an excellent experience. Be aware that the primary language there is French and that is mainly what the owners speak but they get by well in English, just may need to be patient.
Free wifi provided which is a MUST as most US cell carriers don't provide roaming service there.
The owners and staff were incredibly nice and welcoming and made us feel right at home. Breakfast is served on the roof with beautiful views of the surrounding city. The entrance can be a bit tricky to find but this is because the medina of Marrakech is a mash of roads and alleys. The riad is in one of the central alley's so getting exact directions can be tricky. The owner of the riad was so nice and actually took us on a tour of the square and souks (having a local is VITAL).
Best piece of advice is to arrange a direct pickup from the airport. We paid 20 Euro at the time and it was perfect as we didn't have to try and negotiate a cab fare (NOTORIOUSLY difficult) and you get a direct walk to the room.
If you want an incredible place to stay in the absolute heart of Marrakech at an affordable price, this is it! Loved it!

Room Tip: The managers are very accommodating, send them a message if you have specific concerns. All the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riaddarkhmissa, Gérant at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2015

Jordan thank you for your comment, it goes straight to the heart, all the Riad Dar Khmissa team and happy to have contributed to the success of your stay.
We hope to see you soon among us.
Friendly.
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2014

A beautifully decorated riad that is perfectly located for exploring Marrakesh Medina. The staff were perfect – very pleasant and welcoming, they were happy to offer us anything to make our stay better (including airport transfers, offering to show us around the town, advice on bartering and prices in the souks, and mint tea for relaxing in the evening). Abdu, who looked after the riad during the nights, was particularly excellent. The roof terrace is fantastic – the perfect place to relax after exploring and bartering in the souks, especially the hot tub! We stayed in the suite and enjoyed having a royally decorated bathroom! The room and communal areas were always exceptionally clean and welcoming. The breakfast was very filling and was a mixture of Moroccan and French cuisine. We were delighted that we had chosen to stay at Riad Dar Khmissa and would definitely choose it for our accommodation if we were to return to Marrakesh.

Room Tip: The suite comes with a royally decorated bathroom and lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riaddarkhmissa, Gérant at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2015

Many thanks for your nice comments. We where so glad To have you home. And it was our pleasure to help you throughout your journey with us. Hope To see you back sometime soon.
Many Thanks from michel and the Riad Khmissa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

My mom and I went to Marrakech not knowing what to expect. What we found was a fabulous city and wonderful hosts. Michel, Vincent and everybody working at the Riad went out of their way to make our short stay a fantastic one. The Riad and the Villa are both excellent locations, decoration cleanliness and amenities wise, the meals delicious.
I simply cannot say just how fantastic this place was. A must when visiting Marrakech.
So to Michel et Vincent merci pour tout. C'etait fabuleux. Salutations du Mexique. Diana et Lourdes

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riaddarkhmissa, Gérant at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2015

Diana Hello, Hello Lourdes,
What about reading your review if Thanks thank you very much from all the Riad Khmissa team, we are proud to have contributed to the success of your stay.
It was not difficult for us to please people as wonderful as you are.
Thank you for your good humor and simplicity.
It is true that we had immediately feel about us, us have already met and then Spanish Leitizia helpful to us to communicate.
Thank you for that little air of Mexico
I hope our paths will still have the opportunity to recross here or elsewhere.
I kiss you.
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Can't recommend Dar Khmissa enough. If and when we get back to Marrakech this is our spot. Sadly we only spent one night here, but it was still enough time to blow us away! The owners are AMAZING. Very responsive when I emailed before our trip. Then when we got to Marrakech I called to find out how much we should pay to take a taxi. When we kept being told the rate would be double (later learned there are 2 types of taxis, petit and grand), Vincent actually came and picked us up for the rate of a petit taxi!

The riad is tucked down a small alley, which makes for a quiet and peaceful location though being inside the medina and only a 10minute walk from Jema El Fna. The riad itself feels like a beautiful home. The roof deck, where we checked in and were greeted with mint tea and delicious cookies, is spectacular. There are 3 different areas, so there's lots of space for both gatherings and your own private oasis. Our room was the blue room and appreciated that it was supplied with all sorts of things to make sure our stay was comfortable, extra blankets, pillows, fan, robes!

The best aspect of our short stay was Vincent, a real ambassador to the city. Even though we were only there for the afternoon, he helped us make the most of our time. We really felt like he was invested in our experience both at and beyond the riad.

We left on a tour at 8am the next morning. We were still able to enjoy breakfast - which was amazing with so many different kinds of fruit jams, jellies and honey and long with other delicacies - AND Vincent was there to see us off. Thank for you to all the staff at Dar Khmissa who were all very kind and lovely for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Epacopac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riaddarkhmissa, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2015

Thank you so much for this beautiful message
this touches us deeply.
I am very happy to have contributed to the success of your stay
I hope we will see you here and there one of these days
Sincerely
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had heard great reviews about this Riad so had high expectations. The location is amazing and so close to the markets and anything you need. Abdou made the stay - hands down! He was personable, shared a lot about the location, his background and above and beyond to make our stay perfect. On the other hand, it felt like we were imposing on Vincent. We weren't welcomed by him and felt like he was staying out of our way. The rooms were nicely laid out but not 100% clean. My pillow had several hairs (not mine) and stains on it so appeared not to be clean. The breakfast was not great and we were surprised at no jams/honey on the table. Very basic bread, some sliced cheese, grilled bread and whole oranges. I wouldn't necessarily go back but simply for the location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krukker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riaddarkhmissa, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hello Kate,
We just read your comment on trip advisor .
We are saddened that the problems you had during your stay in our house.
I can assure you that this is a mistake and not a fact customary .
All elements of the rooms (sheets, pillowcases , towels etc) are changed after each ride.
I agree that it is unacceptable to have a pillowcase stained even if it is clean , steps were taken to summer
I am surprised that you put 2 for the quality of the bedding , in fact we have changed all our bedsteads and mattresses there are less than three weeks.
I want to tell you that I had a lot of fun to have you in my house , I do not think you have given the opposite impression .
Especially since you Judy had recommended our house.
Regarding the breakfast it is true that lacked jams, as it is manufactured by us , we may rarely be out , this is unfortunately what happened that morning.
By cons there were three kinds of Moroccan pancakes , fresh bread , cheese , ham, butter, fruit juice.
I hope that if you have the opportunity to return to Marrakech you will be our pleasure to come back to us so that we can delete this sad impression.
Plair to hear from you.
Cordially.
Vincent .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
1,308 reviews
0.5 km away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#25 of 1,172 in Marrakech
1,849 reviews
0.9 km away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 499 in Marrakech
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1 km away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
6.8 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech

Address: 166 Derb Jemaa Lakbira | Arset Moussa Lakbira, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $81 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Khmissa will seduce you with its freshness and calme. In the heart of the Medina, close to the famous Jemaa El Fna square, in a neighborhood that is the most authentic and warm Marrakech. You will see the top of his extensive garden terrace throughout the year, the heads of historical work of art marocain. In Riad Dar Khmissa, the art of living is obvious, as well as the art of giving the right to receive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Khmissa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing