We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveller rating
728
51
6
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
728
51
6
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews karma suite roof terrace classic room security guard mobile phone deluxe room an oasis mint tea taxi stand atlas mountains every morning whole team wonderful stay hammam and massage central courtyard recommend staying here boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 792 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This little Riad is very stylish with Moroccan / Italian decor - the roof terrace overlooking the city is also a great bonus.
The 4 rooms in this Riad are each unique, with lovely moroccan features. The only negative was the bathrooms were traditionally designed and therefore have no door between the bedroom & bathroom (only a curtain).
The location was a very convenient 5min walk to the souks and a 10min walk to the main central square.
Whilst all the staff were excellent, the highlight of this Riad was most definitely the food. Fatuma (the chef) has designed a traditional menu executed brilliantly. We also visited several different restaurants recommended by friends and guidebooks, none of which compared to the Fatuma's cooking!!
The internal courtyard provided a serene setting for relaxing and eating meals.
As an extra touch, this Riad has it's own Hammam room and will also organise massage treatments in your room.
Overall, a fantastic trip, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oli_B_4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Let’s be clear. This is a good hotel. In fact, it’s a very good hotel indeed. Actually, one of the best. And it’s not often you can say that.

My wife and I wanted a week-long break whilst the kids went away for half-term with the school so we found the Riad72 on the Mr & Mrs Smith website. The description didn’t really do it justice so it was a bit pot-luck that we chose it.

It’s quite an exceptional place – just four luxury individually-designed rooms surrounding a lush Moroccan courtyard with an outstanding roof terrace “solarium” and a wonderful staff.

We emailed a few days before and they explained that a hotel transfer from the airport would be provided. Fifteen minutes after emerging from arrivals [allow one hour for passport control if you’re last off the plane] we were walking down an unremarkable side alley and through a rather unlikely front door which revealed the oasis within. It has a real ‘wow’ factor. It was perfectly situated within the Medina but not absolutely in the hub-bub of the Souk, yet on-hand for all the attractions.

When we arrived at 9am, although check-in wasn’t until later that day, it wasn’t a problem and a full breakfast was provided – one of many splendid and tasty meals prepared by the in-house chef, the charming Fatouma. The manager Alexandre explained about the various attractions and gave us a map that featured the other properties owned by the same Italian company [Riad Due & Riad12]. Later we went to the RiadDue, which was just as nice but a bit more ‘funky’ – it has TV.

We spent the rest of the day until the room was ready on the Sun Terrace. This is billed as the tallest in the Medina and it’s not an idle boast. It can’t be overlooked and there are some supremely comfortable sun-beds [proper mattresses], a [very] little plunge pool, outside shower and shaded sitting area. It couldn’t be better…. although there’s a periodic interruption from nearby Mosque’s competing for worshippers with a Call To Prayer. Some days we didn’t leave the Riad at all. Paradise.

We stayed in the Amal room, one of the larger ones with an enormous comfortable bed, tall ceilings and a bathroom with the largest marble bath imaginable. The nice thing about this room was that it had a little balcony sitting area overlooking the atrium, where you can take tea. The decoration was beautifully sumptuous and very tasteful. The other rooms were either not as large, having a shower instead of bath or didn’t have this platform.

The Riad has free high-speed wi-fi but no TVs. It’s perfectly peaceful – although we brought our Internet Radio to listen to the BBC in the room.

The food is exceptionally tasty and it’s cooked by the personably Fatouma – everything is made from scratch by her in the kitchen which you can see through the courtyard window. There’s a dedicated staff – about ten of them, which for four rooms is amazing – but they were never intrusive and the very essence of understated professionalism. French is the main language but all speak broken English. There is a lovely French lady, who speaks perfect English, that visits every morning at breakfast to check everything’s okay or to assist with tours – another couple wanted to play golf and she sorted it for them.

The only downside was the fact that the Mosque Call-to-Prayer started at about 5am on some mornings - but if you can't stomach that you shouldn't really be in Marrakech.

As you can probably tell, my wife and I were seriously impressed by the Riad72. If you go, you won’t be disappointed. Five Stars.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The riad 72 is an outstanding, unique and unforgettable place to stay.
" Thousand welcomes" was the first we heard, when we finally arrived there.
And this was the way we really felt ! Alexandra, Fatima, the beautiful young Morrocan lady & Rashid let us feel like in paradise, they red our lips........
The atmosphere is tranquill and just beautiful - it´s hard to leave this place!
And we still dream of the best dinner we had in Morocco - prepared by Fatima!
Thank you from the depth of our hearts!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibe_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Riad 72 is a stylish, unflashy, quality hideaway in the centre of Marrakesh. The rooms are spacious and elegant, the staff is wonderful, the food is unbelievable and the location is perfect for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumbosoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My husband and I have travelled extensively and appreciate high quality accommodation, something a bit different, stylish, modern, yet authentic and Riad 72 fulfilled our expectations. From the communication we had with the Riad, prior to our arrival, about transfers from the airport, and being met by the concierge who loaded our bags into a cart and escorted us to the riad from the taxi, and preparing us dinner on our arrival (we had a night flight) we were thoroughly catered for and looked after.

Rashid was fantastic, he took the time and went through a map of the main tourist attractions, on our arrival, whilst we drank mint tea (the best mint tea by far!!!) In the uber gorgeous courtyard area whilst listening to chill-out music on the riads ipod. Nothing was too much trouble.

We had breakfast at the Riad, freshly prepared by Fatima, gorgeous! Which we ate on the roof terrace. The chef was amazing, by far the best tagine during our stay. Taxis were arranged for us and I had a massage in my room which was again by far the best I have ever had.

Overall our time in Marrakech will be remembered for the hospitality and friendliness of the staff at the Riad. We felt humbled by the experience and would definitely recommend Riad 72 to anyone wanting a bit of luxury and tranquility.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CactusJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews