We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just sorta average”
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
Ranked #156 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 26 February 2012

food cold but then that is always a problem with buffet style. Could do with 'finishing touches' in the rooms like matching tiles in bathrooms, getting the paint on the wall not the skirting - small things but which make it smarter. Warm and friendly but do make sure you dont leave things lying around! Amazing they dont accept travellers cheques and nor do the banks

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalcolmRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 533 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in early February- two late 20's females. We got a super cheap last minute deal ( Flights and Hotel £200)and it absolutely fufilled requirements.

We asked for a room with a balcony in an email before we went - which I would recommend. The room was airy and spacious. The bedroom had twin beds pushed together, but as it was January it got quite cold in the evenings so we put on the heater which was available in the room. The bedroom and bathroom were both clean. The bath was a bit chipped, but shower was good and plenty of hot water.

The breakfast was good - pancake and omelette station, boiled eggs, toast, pastries, cereals, cheese, olives and some tinned fruit. There were also some strange juices (Cucumber,Carrot,Beetroot) which i imagine were for the detoxers - I however stuck to tea!

The location was also good for us as we didnt want to stay in the chaotic medina. It was a 25min walk to Jamal el Fna down Rue Yougoslavie. As we are young(ish) spritely things, and the weather was pleasant the walk was no problem. I dont imagine I would want to do it in the middle of summer though.
We walked this a few times, but after a long day we also got a Cab (max 100MAD) or horse and carriage back ( max 150MAD) back to the hotel.

There was a handy supermarket a few roads down ( where we bought some drinks to put in our room fridge) as well as a handy corner shop 15m down from the hotel. There were plenty of restaurants in the vacinity - so eating local wasnt a problem - however some of the more popular/expensive restaurants you have to book ( we missed out going to a recomended restaurant over the road as we didnt book ahead)

The pool was under refurb when we went - but looked nice.On one sunny day we headed up to the massive roof terrace which had amazing views of Marrakech and the Atlas mountains. As it was a Tuesday afternoon - we had the whole thing to ourselves.

Last thing is staff. The reception staff were all friendly and polite - the restaurant staff were less so.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We travelled to Marrakech for 1 week as a couple with the aim balancing the week between seeing the sights of Marrakech and taking some time to relax.

The hotel has an impressive entrance hall and feels quite authentic Moroccan. The rooms are perhaps in need of a little modernising but ours was clean and spacious with two glass doors leading to a balcony with chairs and table. Bathroom and shower were nice and clean.

There was refurbishment going on whilst we stayed which meant that we did not have access to the pool or bar, but the staff we generally very good about helping us to work around this. All of the staff we met were very friendly and spoke good English, helping us out when we tried as much French as we could manage.

The food has its good and bad points. Breakfast is standard each day, but there's plenty of choice. The usual continental selection omelettes and pancakes make in front of you. Dinner buffet could be a bit of a disappointment as it was generally a buffet. Nothing was labelled so this was tricky, especially having a nasty nut allergy. Being half board, we tended to eat out on a evening with good restaurants nearby. Lunch is usually 3 course arrangement from a set selection and was generally very nice, and beautifully presented. The chef was always around to ask questions of and was very helpful.

We opted for a traditional Moroccan Hammam in the downstairs spa and I cannot recommend this enough. For 160DH (about £12) we got a steam, rub and scrub for 1 hour (book in advance). Incredibly relaxing and we came out so clean. They had no problem with is going in as a couple. Great experience.

The open top bus goes from right outside the hotel and this is the stop for both routes. 170DH for 2 days hop-on hop-off service. Do this on day one as a great orientation of the city.

Excursions can be booked through the hotel. Pretty cheap by comparison to others and they go with a local tour company. Don't expect much more than a bus to and from with stops on the way to look at bottles of oil and the like. Depends on your expectations. Book a proper guided tour for a little more elsewhere if you want showing round properly.

The exchange at reception does great rates for Dirhams with little or no commission, plus there's a cash machine. Take cash and get it changed here for real ease.

We were allowed access to a courtesy room after we had checked out as we weren't flying until the evening. This allowed us to have a shower and change before we left. Nice service.

All in all, the poor reviews for this hotel seem to be from a few years ago. This hotel seems to have made great efforts to improve all round and it's a very pleasant place to stay in a good location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luke_boro_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I spend in this hotel only one night when I was on trip to Marrakech.

I was thinking long time what rating I should put for this hotel. AVERAGE rating it is not fair to put but VERY GOOD it is too much for this hotel so my rating is GOOD.

Hotel is located not so far away from centrum but with this evening traffic in Marrakech everywhere you must spend long time in TAXI so maybe better idea is to walk.
Close to hotel it is some pubs, restaurants and another hotels.

Hotel offer swimming pools and SPA but I was so short period that I didn't used them.
Anyway it was not possible to use becouse in swimming pools wasn't any water. It was February so I can understand this.

Food was good but not so many variables.
For breakfast was only eggs and one kind of ham and cheese.

It was possible to exchange currancy in the hotel and prices was much more better than in Agadir.

Room was good but it was very cold inside and when I tried to turn on the heater - current disappear. However they fixed it very fast.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors - nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSiemion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The hotel was great and it was my favourite one out of 5 that we stayed in during our Morocco tour. We had breakfast and dinner there and the food was really good. Our room was clean, spacious and warm (we got an electric radiator). The bathroom was also clean.

The hotel has a really lovely Moroccan decor, with richly ornamented ceilings and doors in open areas.

It's located about 30 mins of walking distance from the Jamaa el Fna place. The taxis are not expensive and there is also a really cheap direct bus (but it runs only to ~10 pm).

Free wi-fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rocking_pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#137 of 499 in Marrakech
716 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#138 of 499 in Marrakech
540 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel La Renaissance
Hotel La Renaissance
#359 of 499 in Marrakech
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Moroccan House Hotel
Moroccan House Hotel
#329 of 499 in Marrakech
590 reviews
5.1 km away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#207 of 499 in Marrakech
778 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#456 of 499 in Marrakech
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#110 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#180 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $61 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing