We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, Amazing Mohammed!”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #19 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel, Amazing Mohammed!”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

An unbelievable experience from beginning to end. The Riad was maintained impeccably, no detail was overlooked during our entire stay. I would not stay anywhere else in Marrakech, the entire experience was sublime. The best part of our stay was Mohammed, he took us around and showed us a part of Marrakech that we would not have seen otherwise. We brought our kids and the hotel was great at accommodating them as well!

Room Tip: My only suggestion to improve the hotel would be to have a more comfortable mattress and sheets. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrysta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,334
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
210
868
29
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I was very surprised to read previous review to mine. We are just back from 3 nights there and we have nothing but praise for the Riad. Yes it may be a walk to the square - but it isn't far and the area around the Riad is full of locals and colour. Completely safe.
The service was excellent; nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff. For example, we needed some change to catch a cab (no problems with the cabs) and one of the boys went out to get some change from a local shop/bank. We wanted some tea and cold drinks when we came back from an outing - no problem and NO charge on the bill. We were constantly given cold water when we went out. We ate mostly on the roof terrace. Breakfast was fixed but very tasty and plenty of it (yummy yoghurt). The evening meal was limited in choice but was equally delicious and beautifully served. The pool wasn't huge but it was fine, after all we weren't in Marrakesh to improve our swimming. We just couldn't fault the Riad. The rooms are beautiful and maybe they aren't huge but it was so nice to have the room made up every time we left it. Plenty of clean huge towels! Charming management and a well led team of staff. My husband and I and our friends would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We chose this place based on trip advisor and reading about it in a travel magazine. We weren't disappointed at all. The place is amazing, beautiful, the staff is kind and arranged for a tour guide and even a driver to drive us to Fez. We arrived our first night after traveling over 30 hours straight without any sleep and they even had a full meal of amazing salads and sandwiches ready for us. They whole staff is amazing. It was very quiet in our room. It's family-owned and Moroccan-owned, unlike many of the riads owned by foreign investors, so you're really giving to the local economy. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. (We've now stayed at two of the best riads in Marrakech.) Thank you Riad Kniza!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Riad Kniza in late March and were impressed with the attention to detail and service. For example, late one night my husband was experiencing severe back pain and we did not have any medication. Riad Kniza sent a staff member to a pharmacy for us and my husband had ibuprofen within 20 minutes. We were so appreciative of the prompt service and then equally surprised that we were not charged anything for the service nor the medication. The extra mile and attention to detail is all included with no additional cost at Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

What a gorgeous little slice of paradise in the Medina! Tucked away on a little side street, nice and quiet is this fabulous gem. I was a bit suspect at first when the driver had us hop out of the vehicle with our luggage on a very busy road and started to walk us through these somewhat dirty looking streets (cars can't fit on the streets in the medina). What a welcome surprise it was when the doors to Riad Kniza opened! This is one of a handful of RIad's still privately owned and operated by a local Moroccan family and it shows in every detail. Most days you can find Mohamed at the Riad - he is full of inside information on the all the places you must see and visit while in Morocco and if he is isn't around his son Kamel is there. I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for an upscale true Riad experience. The food is fantastic and if it is a nice morning be sure to have your breakfast on the rooftop terrace! Many thanks to Mohamed and all of his wonderful staff for making our stay truly a magical Marrakech experience!

Room Tip: If possible try to get the Senior Suite Yakout! Big, spacious, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerriH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 km away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#293 of 499 in Marrakech
76 reviews
0.5 km away
Darsor
Darsor
#340 of 499 in Marrakech
4 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#344 of 499 in Marrakech
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Le Pavillon Du Golf
Le Pavillon Du Golf
#322 of 499 in Marrakech
57 reviews
0.5 km away
Dar Tuscia
Dar Tuscia
#298 of 499 in Marrakech
170 reviews
0.5 km away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#459 of 499 in Marrakech
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price range (per night): $210 - $558
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing