We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing time.”
Review of Riad ABHAR

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad ABHAR
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My parntner and myself stayed at the Riad Abhar for 5 nights (kgb deal) we actually ended up in the annex (riad 2) which we preferred, it was so peaceful, we had the top floor bedroom which is right by the roof terrace. On arrival it can be quite daunting but don't let the ally ways put you off, its all very safe. The half day tour was great so was the massage and the food was different every night which was always tasty. I can't recommend this Riad enough everything about it, including the friendly staff just made our stay all the more enjoyable and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Visit Le Salama, just off the main square 3 floors up is the bar where they do happy hour from 3pm u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pudga30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

I booked it because other friends found it via Groupon, and I'm very pleased. We got offered a very good price for a 3-person room. We moved on the last night to a more luxurious suite-type room, with kitchen and all.
Service was very good, Saida speaks perfect Spanish, French and English (and Arabic, I assume!). The breakfast, included, was very good, and the day we ate lunch there it was really tasty. The location is really good, very close to Jamma el Fna inside the Medina.
They also organise tours and drivers to different tourist activities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMashirito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed in the Riad Abhar for four nights last week and I was amazed how good it was. I booked the accommodation through hostelbookers.com and having only stayed in Hotels when away, I was slightly skeptical.

Any Riad you stay in, In Marrakesh will be difficult to find as they are all tucked up down an alley somewhere. This Riad is gorgeous inside, we had a HUGE room, with massive shower, seating area and a view over the inside courtyard. The roof terrace was a perfect place to sit and watch the sun go down with a couple of beers away from the busy streets.

Abdul was amazing, ever curtious and polite. He arranged everything we needed including a free tour of the Palaces and Saadian Tombs which was free! A wonderful Guide named Fatima took us around and was funny, polite and extremely knowledgeable. Abdul also organised a trip to the Atlas mountains which was also a great day out.

We are also asked to change rooms to accommodate a family booking which we were happy to do, and for our "troubles" we were offered a free dinner in the hostel which was also very nice.

Nothing was too much for Abdul to organize for us which was unexpected and very nice of him to do so.

The Riad is literally a 3 minute walk from Jeem el Fna once you know which was you are going. The local stalls soon recognize your face and wont hassle you too much every time you walk past. The room was bright, clean, had air con available, safe if needed, clean towels, beds were made, everything you would expect of a hotel. The breakfast was very nice too and different every day.

To sum everything up, we paid £120 for four nights for two people. You will have nothing to complain about. Its beautiful and it made our stay in Marrakesh even more pleasant. Well done to Abdul and his team! We will be back.

If you want to know more about the food in the area and what to expect when you get there check out my food blog www.bparris.wordpress.com

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We booked a 5 night break in the Riad Abhar in Marrakech as a 21st anniversary getaway through a KGB deal. The whole experience of ancient Marrakech was brilliant. This hotel / riad is right in the middle of the medina, down an alleyway in the heart of old Marrakech.

The service of the riad manager Othmann was top class. He arranged everything from pick up at Marrakech airport to tour of the Medina and a ham-mam massage, lovely breakfasts and fantastically tasty 3 course dinners (all in the KGB deal).

It was like stepping back to old Arabia/morocco with so many souks/market stalls selling everything you can think of buying. the Muslim call to prayer and the general ambiance and feel of the place. Believe me if you like authentic not plastic people and places you will love this place(both marrakech and riad Abhar).

We stayed in Riad Abhar 2 (just down the street 50 metres away) - had superb room, lovely open air moroccan courthyard and delicious authentic moroccan breakfasts(tea,coffee,orange freshly squeezed juice, pancakes, breads, etc). We had dinner at Riad Abhar 1 - we had a range of authentic 3 course dinners including chicken, beef, fish and lamb all served hot in those earthenware oven pots with lots of vegetables.

I agree that the pestering from the shop keepers can get a bit much but after a day or so you just politely say NO THANK YOU and all will be well.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants the authentic Moroccan holiday.

We would definitely return one day - probably by rubbing the magic lantern and sitting on the handmade Berber carpet my wife bought in the souk !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HALFCORONA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I little difficult to find so recommend getting someone from the hotel to pick you up from the airport. We paid a boy to show us where it was and despite being down an alley and looking a little shifty. We were pleasantly surprised with how lovely the hotel was. Quirky and cute, clean and friendly. Recommend it. staff are friendly and it is situated close to the souks. Expensive to eat in the hotel so better to eat in the square.

I will def go back for a little get away

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 km away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 499 in Marrakech
2,109 reviews
0 km away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0 km away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0 km away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
0 km away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#268 of 499 in Marrakech
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad ABHAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad ABHAR

Address: 4, Derb Toubib Rahba Kedima | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 306 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $111 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad ABHAR 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is 200 year old and consists of:4 double rooms and 2 family suitesAll are equipped with bathroom, toilet, air conditioning, additional heating (on request), hairdryer, safe, great bedding, wireless internet access throughout the house.Featuring a large patio with a fountain in the middle, Riad Abhar offers a large living room fireplace with a beautiful terrace solarium with panoramic views over the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riad ABHAR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abhar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing