We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond 5 Stars.... Best Hotel I've ever stayed at.”
Review of Villa Makassar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Makassar
Ranked #31 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2016

There is so much to share about this well hidden jewel under the African sun. I have stayed in some spectacular and unique hotels all around the world, but this is something even more memorable.

So I invite you to sit back, dear reader, to relax and perhaps pour yourself a glass of wine and allow me to indulge you with the tale the Villa Makassar from the perspective of a couple of English travellers.

Your experience of the hotel starts long before you start packing as they mail you to enquire if they can assist you in arranging airport transfers and confirming your travel details. Not an automated spreadsheet, no sir, a warm and personally typed note from the owner.

When one arrives at Marrakesh from London becomes acutely aware that the world looks somewhat different, one drives down large avenues lined with gardens and palm trees then with hardly a warning the car veers off into a tiny gateway in the sandy covered wall signalling that you have entered the 1000 year old Medina. After driving past King Mohammed VI's humble abode the car squeezes into a tiny lane and abruptly stops outside a large and ornate door.

With some trepidation you crack open the door and something remarkable happens, your eyes struggle to adapt to the dimmed lighting in the gorgeous entrance hallway. You are ushered into the sumptuous lounge, sink into the feature sofas and check in commences.

The staff look after every detail and immediatley start to "fix" things, excursions, reservations, transfers. Nothing is too much. We were most privileged to have an opportunity to discuss our trip intentions with the owner over Arabic Pastries and a glass or two of Mint Tea. A more kind, informative and warm person you will not meet. He took time to answer our every question, to alert us to the latest street scams (there are many in the Kasbah and in the main square) and to help us to understand the correct costs of standard things like taxi fares etc.

You are then given a tour of the entire walled hotel (essentially 2 x quadrangles, a huge roof terrace and bar, a small plunge pool and the restaurant and kitchens). The spa is under the main quadrangle and is worth a look just to feast your eyes on a stunning example of interior design. Another interesting feature is the "fish tank" kitchen. There is no part of the spotlessly clean kitchen, or any food preparation that cannot be witnessed from the square.

There are 2 classes of room, each individual in every respect and following a tour of the entire hotel you are shown your room and briefed on its features.

The decor is magical with subdued lighting, stunning furniture, delightful art deco design features and object d'art cleverly arranged to magnify the experience. The bathroom is gorgeous with a huge feature shower and in our case the most stunning towel rail (it was elliptical shaped and stored the towels as well as warming them) as well as a heated floor. Naturally there is WIFI throughout which enabled us to be able to have a video call with our children from the Kasbah!

A lovely nights sleep is followed by a relaxed breakfast with the warmest and most considerate service. We had local Breads/Pastries/yoghurt with fresh orange juice and tea.

Now my dear friends, some of you are a little more focussed on the self indulgent practices than I am, but with some gentle coercing I was convinced to try the spa package at the hotel. I was washed, steamed, scrubbed (and I mean every inch of my hide!), oiled, rinsed and then massaged. We had the spa package as a couple and it was such a treat. The hotel had arranged a BIG day for us with a day long excursion into the mountains (a "must see" dear friends) followed by a spa treatment then a dinner at the hotels excellent restaurant (more of that later). The spa is sumptuously arranged and the tepidorium has a remarkable feature of ceiling fish tanks....

After a brief interlude to put on some fresh clothes we descended to the restaurant for dinner and were treated to the best of Morocco and washed down with a surprisingly good local drop of vino. The food and service were Michelin star standard and to be frank it was like finding a discrete dining room being run by the staff from the Savoy grill.

If you have any doubt of the ability or intent of the staff, let me assure you that they are totally focussed on making your stay something magical. As we went to depart our local tour company messed up our airport transfer, we had limited currency left and our stress levels were rising like a Russian space rocket. Claudine, the manager quickly arranged a cab, paid on account and took payment from me via card. We arrived on time and with a sensation that we had never really been in any jeopardy.

When you think about it, that is the most precious feeling a hotel can impart to a guest.

To the Owner and staff, Sam and I would like to express our sincere thanks, you made a long weekend into the trip of a lifetime, I even heard the phrase "This has been the best day of my entire life" from my partner after the day that the hotel arranged for us. We cannot express more heartfelt admiration.

Room Tip: They were all perfect, let the hotel arrange your transfer to/from the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sumoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2016

My husband and I stayed here in February 2016 for three nights and absolutely loved our stay. It was our first trip to Marrakech and we wanted to experience the hustle and bustle of the Medina whilst having a little piece of calmness to return to each day.

The Riad is on a quiet street and very well located to the main square in the medina (10-12 minutes walk), inside it is spacious and calm. The art deco style is lovely and offers something different. You can see how much time and effort has been spent furnishing the hotel/riad to absolute perfection.

The bedrooms are lovely, although a little on the dark side. There is a wonderful roof terrace and spa.

The service we received was absolutely fantastic. Everyone was so friendly, we booked 2 guides through the front desk - one to take us through the medina and souks and another to take us to the Atlas Mountains, both guides were wonderful and very well chosen by the hotel.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and all other meals we had out, although had we have stayed for more than three nights, we certainly would have eaten in one night. The breakfast was lovely; you don't order anything, instead, they'll bring you a section of fruits, local delicacies, breads, pancakes, etc. and freshly squeezed juices. The restaurant manager remembered what drinks we asked for on our first morning (breakfast tea and fresh fruit smoothie) and always made sure they were ready for us each morning at breakfast.

I have removed a star for two reasons; firstly as already mentioned, the room was too dark - understandably the style of lamps chosen were reflective of the art deco style, but it would have been useful if they'd included more of them as the low lighting made it difficult to read (and apply make up with confidence) :-)

Secondly; wifi was an issue - it only works in the restaurant, lounge area and lobby, it does't work in any of the bedrooms. For three nights, it was actually rather refreshing not getting caught up in the digital world when we were in our bedroom, but because it was our first time in Marrakech we needed to come down to the lounge area quite often to check locations of restaurants, reviews, local maps, etc.

All in all, it was a truly wonderful experience and we absolutely loved Marrakech. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We saw two rooms, both were quite dark - if this would be a problem for you, ask for a lighter/brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

As soon as we arrived at the airport and were met by our transfer we knew we were in for a good week so headed to the hotel with positive vibes! On arrival we were welcomed with traditional Moroccan tea and told about excursions available before given a tour of the hotel and finally being shown to our room - what a fantastic start!

Our room was compact but had everything we needed for a four night stay including a large shower and bath robes, both of which are a thumbs up from me.

The hotel staff could not have been friendlier and were so attentive to your every need, nothing was too much. They arranged all our tours and the providers were all great.

We tested out the Hammam/Sauna and the Jacuzzi plus I had a facial and a massage in the spa which were both lovely.

We'd love to return to Villa Makassar in the summer months when we can make more use of the roof terrace and sun beds!

One last thing - a BIG thank you to all at Villa Makassar who made our stay superb :)

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LizzieLB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel is truly amazing. Stunning rooms: loved the jacuzzi in the floor of our first room then we were upgraded to another very large room with a beautiful four poster bed. Breakfasts on the rooftop in the lovely December sun. Was lovely and peaceful going at off peak times.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank BarbaraMMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We stayed at Villa Makassar for 6 days and had an excellent experience. Everyone was very kind and professional: the staff was great and Claudine directed us to the right people in Marrakech, helping us make the stay in Marrakech even more pleasant. The spa was relaxing (recommend the hammam) and the restaurant's menu was highly appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotchAtHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
1,340 reviews
6.4 km away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
974 reviews
8.1 km away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#92 of 500 in Marrakech
459 reviews
0.5 km away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#23 of 500 in Marrakech
1,214 reviews
0.1 km away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#59 of 500 in Marrakech
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makassar

Address: 20 Derb Chtouka | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $207 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Makassar 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 stars Art Deco Boutique Hotel with heated swimming pool and SPA, restaurant, 10 non smoking rooms and suites, 5000 sqf terrasse, lift, 3 patios, 2 lounges, direct access with car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Makassar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing