We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)
USD 87
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel le Caspien(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
USD 69
USD 48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
USD 396
USD 222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 147
USD 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 158
USD 145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
USD 290
USD 280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 353/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palais Khum(Marrakech)
USD 161
USD 135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 435
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 483
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 565/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 1,165
USD 1,126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
127
196
63
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
196
63
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe main squareprivate bathroombudget hotelfree breakfastroof terracecentral locationjemaa elorange juicesingle roomboiled eggsair conditioningthe ground floorhotel roomnice breakfastfirst floorheart of marrakech
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Amazing location right in the center of Marrakech. The staff is friendly and can easily understand English.

The place is simple and clean with an average breakfast and a lovely balcony towards the Jemaa el Fna square.

The wireless is a little bit poor in the rooms, but good in the common zones.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank João O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Perfect location in the heart of Marrakesh. Walking distance from every must see and must do. Very clean. Good price- definitely worth the money. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is also good. A must stay if it fits into your budget!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

I have stayed at Hotel Cecil a number of times in the past but it must be about four years since my last visit. Nothing much has changed. No frills, just the basics of a clean secure base for those that want to spend most of their day out and about. The rooms are small, the beds are comfortable.
One change I did notice was that breakfast, served on the roof terrace, is no longer brought to you on a tray but is a self service system now. Not a problem and probably best for guests and hotel. The choice is still the same simple but adequate fare: tea; coffee; milk; freshly squeezed orange juice; selection of bread; simple breakfast pastry; choice of preserves; boiled egg; cheese triangle. The seating area did also seem to have been improved with ample shade if required.
This visit I stayed in room 22, on the ground floor. This has the advantage of having windows on both sides of the room allowing for greater air flow but unfortunately has two major disadvantages: 1) almost everyone has to walk directly past the door and window of that room reducing privacy and increasing noise; 2) the other window is on to the narrow road that the hotel is on. This is a busy thoroughfare for people going to other hotels beyond or taking a shortcut to other routes. It also seems to be a great spot for everyone to stop and talk loudly on their phones and/or have a cigarette. The noise from Djma el Fnaa square can be heard but it is far enough away for me to be able to block it out.
Wifi and phone signals are available but really only in the central open part or on the roof. This may depend slightly on the signal reception of your own equipment too.
I was originally booked to stay for 2 nights. Whilst I was there I changed my plans last minute and stayed for a 3rd night. I could have changed room, but I decided that it just was not worth the effort for me at that stage. I had already booked to stay at a Dar in another part of the Medina for my final 2 nights in Marrakech.

Would I stay there again? Yes as it is a convenient location for my needs, but I would always compare it for value against other properties in the area that suit my needs.
Would I recommend it to others? Yes - provided they understand that it really is a no frills establishment ( and would advise they request not to have rm 22).

Room Tip: Room 22 noisy and less privacy than most others.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank boringFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Superb location, close to Jemaa el Fna square. Staff were helpful and friendly, amazing rooftop terrace with okay breakfast. Unfortunately I had poor wifi in my room, bed had bed bugs and it was a little noisy at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on bottom floor near the walkway streets are loud and noisy at night. Every night.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GoldCanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Cecil hotel is located on a narrow street (cars can not travel there) close to the Jemaa el Fna square.
It consists of two riads bonded together, forming thus a place where one can feel the traditional Moroccan atmosphere.
The staff is very helpful.
Breakfast on the terrace looking to the Jemaa el-Fna square, is a wonderful time. The same is the sunset, with the minaret of the Koutoubia mosque silhouetted on the sky.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not facing the street
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank costi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews