We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay! (Definitely recommended)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Ranked #379 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Perfect location in the heart of Marrakesh. Walking distance from every must see and must do. Very clean. Good price- definitely worth the money. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is also good. A must stay if it fits into your budget!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2017

I have stayed at Hotel Cecil a number of times in the past but it must be about four years since my last visit. Nothing much has changed. No frills, just the basics of a clean secure base for those that want to spend most of their day out and about. The rooms are small, the beds are comfortable.
One change I did notice was that breakfast, served on the roof terrace, is no longer brought to you on a tray but is a self service system now. Not a problem and probably best for guests and hotel. The choice is still the same simple but adequate fare: tea; coffee; milk; freshly squeezed orange juice; selection of bread; simple breakfast pastry; choice of preserves; boiled egg; cheese triangle. The seating area did also seem to have been improved with ample shade if required.
This visit I stayed in room 22, on the ground floor. This has the advantage of having windows on both sides of the room allowing for greater air flow but unfortunately has two major disadvantages: 1) almost everyone has to walk directly past the door and window of that room reducing privacy and increasing noise; 2) the other window is on to the narrow road that the hotel is on. This is a busy thoroughfare for people going to other hotels beyond or taking a shortcut to other routes. It also seems to be a great spot for everyone to stop and talk loudly on their phones and/or have a cigarette. The noise from Djma el Fnaa square can be heard but it is far enough away for me to be able to block it out.
Wifi and phone signals are available but really only in the central open part or on the roof. This may depend slightly on the signal reception of your own equipment too.
I was originally booked to stay for 2 nights. Whilst I was there I changed my plans last minute and stayed for a 3rd night. I could have changed room, but I decided that it just was not worth the effort for me at that stage. I had already booked to stay at a Dar in another part of the Medina for my final 2 nights in Marrakech.

Would I stay there again? Yes as it is a convenient location for my needs, but I would always compare it for value against other properties in the area that suit my needs.
Would I recommend it to others? Yes - provided they understand that it really is a no frills establishment ( and would advise they request not to have rm 22).

Room Tip: Room 22 noisy and less privacy than most others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank boringFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Superb location, close to Jemaa el Fna square. Staff were helpful and friendly, amazing rooftop terrace with okay breakfast. Unfortunately I had poor wifi in my room, bed had bed bugs and it was a little noisy at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on bottom floor near the walkway streets are loud and noisy at night. Every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GoldCanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Cecil hotel is located on a narrow street (cars can not travel there) close to the Jemaa el Fna square.
It consists of two riads bonded together, forming thus a place where one can feel the traditional Moroccan atmosphere.
The staff is very helpful.
Breakfast on the terrace looking to the Jemaa el-Fna square, is a wonderful time. The same is the sunset, with the minaret of the Koutoubia mosque silhouetted on the sky.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank costi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely little riad, centred around a tall flowering tree, in a traditional style. Traditional decor, I had an ensuite which was great - included a simple breakfast on the terrace so great value.
The only things to mention - google maps gives a very complex way of finding the place - I got quite lost and although locals were friendly and helped, it was an annoyance when I finally got there and realised it was literally 20 steps from the main door to the jemaa el-fna. Perhaps a sign there would help, or contact google?!
Also, due to this proximity and the fact all the rooms face one another it is noisy - you can hear al the neighbours and constant drumming etc. I didn't mind this, but if you're someone that will, perhaps choose somewhere else :)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank css_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 km away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#334 of 499 in Marrakech
151 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#361 of 499 in Marrakech
101 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#316 of 499 in Marrakech
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#102 of 499 in Marrakech
137 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Riad Hotel Essaouira
#185 of 499 in Marrakech
171 reviews
1.1 km away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#269 of 499 in Marrakech
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cecil Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil Marrakech

Address: Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $30 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cecil Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing