We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
152
42
11
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
42
11
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jemaa el fna square breakfast was delicious tagine hammam luggage terrace riad raid medina furniture loungers bustle
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Dec 2012 we had the junior suite for four nights. The room was lovely looking with two sofas, sunken bath/shower, mini fridge and tv with satellite. There were also built in wardrobes and plenty of cupboard space.

Location was fantastic, three mins walk to the main square and all its attractions and despite being in the middle of the city it was remarkably peaceful and relaxing.

We didn't eat at the hotel; apart from breakfast which was the standard Moroccan fare of hard boiled eggs, fruit juice, yoghurt and an assortment of bread based products and preserves.

Reception area and courtyard were very pretty and the spa area looked nice and smelled wonderful. Hammam and various treatments were available but hubby and I are not too keen so didn't try them.

The roof terrace was furnished with a couple of loungers, plenty of low chairs and tables and a high table we used to play cards in the morning sun.

Wifi didn't work in the room but if you put your wifi device on the open widow sill it worked fine or better still sat on the rooftop terrace.

The pool is on the ground floor, behind the courtyard and is very small, more of a plunge pool than for swimming. We didn't fancy a dip as there were only upholstered chairs in the courtyard to sit and dry off on. So we guessed you had to walk, dripping wet back to your room. No fun with a winding uneven stone staircase but the pool did look very attractive.

Likes:

Location
Sunken shower
Large bright and airy room
Roof terrace

Dislikes:

Incredibly hard bed that was dome shaped
Only one plug for TV or Satellite neither work without the other but I don't think the satellite works anyway

Room Tip: Standard rooms looked very small with the bed pushed against the wall and little walking around room. The suite are worth paying extra for
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Great and friendly Raid, two minutes away from the main square. Brilliant location. An oasis of calm. Very attentive and friendly service. Food amazing. Each mornign we were served fresh orange juice, bolied egg, youghurt, crepes and Moroccan bread with butter and jam. On our last night we ate a meal the Raid we had ordered a tangine but they brought out a 3 course meal of fresh salad an melon and grapes for afterwards. The riad also has a massage parlour and I had a really good massage! The staff do speak some English , was really useful that I spoke French too! Definitely recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Have a massage and a meal at the Riad! Excellent service!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireSpain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Lets start with the location - if you want earthy, local experience then this has it all - inaccessible by car, a chap with a wheelbarrow took our luggage down the side streets, the last being too narrow to get down other than on foot. A 5 minute walk from the main square - great in the day, if you dodge the mopeds, but a bit scary at night and I could have done without being offered hash for the umpteenth time outside the riad. The welcome couldn't be faulted and we had a lovely cup of tea before being given the "tour". It's rustic. The 'pool' we were shown was marginally bigger than 3 domestic baths shoved together. The place was clean and tidy enough. The roof terrace was compact shall we say but it looked all very lovely. Our room was just not for us - I think we had looked at the better room pics on this site and assumed that they would all be as nice - the WC and bath (the interior of which was mud brown in colour) were separated from the bed by a curtain; sorry just not my idea of a nice experience. The previous guest had taken the one key with them so our room was insecure, there was a safe so at least our small valuables could be locked away. The following day some workmen were replacing the lock when we returned to our room after a walk.
Breakfast was very nice, and the staff helpful - their spoken English not great but then why should it be, our poor French was worse, but between the two we all got by. We decided that it really wasn't the place or the location for us.; fortunately the free wifi was just that so we organised another hotel with more European amenities & standards for the remainder of our stay. We left mid morning but there was no one of any standing to speak to as we left, as we didn't want to give the impression that there was anything wrong per se. But we couldn't communicate that and so departed, leaving a bemused member of staff behind.
In summary if you want it raw and traditional, then I'm sure you'll like it; but if you want something polished, then no, I'd give it a miss. And as for 4 or 5 stars, I'm sorry I couldn't conceive of any scale where more than 2 or 3 would be an honest reflection.

Room Tip: Contact the riad direct and describe which one you want from their photos
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modwolf63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed here for 7nights. Booked superior room through hotels4u, when reading room facilities it says tv, water garden, comfortable furnishings and modern amenities it had none of the above. The room had no cupboards, no bath but instead an old shower. I fell of the chair twice, bed was as hard as rocks. Breakfast was same everyday, we had 2 ask reception to clean our room after it had not been cleaned for three days. Had to ask reception for toilet paper everytime we ran out. Hotel is in heart of jama el fna so shops and restaurants near by but locals are very rude and didn't not make us feel welcome. When we questioned hotel why they clearly state that room includes tv,all they could say was sorry. Would not recommend anyone to stay in a riad unless you know what to expect or you'll be very disapointed. Hotel only has 5rooms and is more like a 2star then a 4star.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_shazad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kader F, Responsable relations clients at Riad des Eaux et Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear ASMELLA KOSAR & Bashir Mohamed Chazad.
Before we get started, we really appologize for the delay of our responding, even though we don't respond to all comments individually, we regularly read analyze and act on our customer feedback, what we all hope to improve the quality of our service .
My biggest gripe is that you shall call a responsable to face all those challenges, you choose keep quite.
I remember your first day, your wife criticized all because she was in bad mood because she didn't know or outward journey with Marrakech.
concerning your room you must leave your key, when you didn't call upon chambermaid the receptionniste ask you whether you want to make your room. you accept but you follow the house keeping one by one like saying "this lady is a thief and according to our law we should stone her to death" after you never leave your key . you never allowed the woman to make your room that why you require toilet paper.
for chairs no body complaints and this room is the most wished by all our guests, these parts are bought of Africa. so please i don't agree with you , the bath is traditionnal moroccan hammam style you can't understand.
Breadfast is not the same every day .
so please, we accept based arguments , no lies.
our riad is not 2 stars i can say better than five stars but its certainly more than 2 stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Friendly staff and manager.
Good breakfast.
Clean room.
Two streets from main square but peace and tranquility once inside.
No hard sell of trips.
Good price.
What's not to like ?????

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joncox30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews