We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Riad with Moroccan mosaic art and beautiful wood carving”
Review of Dar Ziryab

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Ziryab
Ranked #84 of 223 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Comfortable room and beds in a quiet location. The host & owner, Jalil El Hayar, is friendly and very welcoming - offered us tea and pastries on arrival. Most of the services were provided by Nassira and Meryem who we found to be very attentive and responsive. Jalil promised us a suite or a large room on the phone but gave us a small narrow room at check in. On our expressing strong displeasure for not honoring his word he did move us to a larger room. All the Riads we stayed in Morocco provided free bottled water. Jalil charged us two euros for large bottle. Bottled water, soft drinks, chips etc are available at a much more reasonable price in a small shop only a minute walk from the Riad. WiFi is free but connection in the rooms was slow and very spotty - not the best.

Room Tip: Avoid small and narrow rooms, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2017ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2017

Stayed one night, friendly staff, beautiful & comfortable rooms , very good breakfast served in a well kept rose garden.
Was shown the suite that has a nice indoor pool
Not the most professionally run hotel/riad but that adds to the charm.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antmachet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Ryiad Dar Ziryab is beautiful, located on a quiet street . The rooms are lovely with really comfortable beds. The staff are friendly. A traditional Moroccan breakfast is served in their attractive dining room.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We came here for dinner, and it was simply the best food we had in Fes. The nice thing about people in Fes is their hospitality. The owner came to our table, sat with us and we soon became friends. The place is amazingly decorated. The food was abundant and more of a true Fes homemade meal (his wife is the cook). If you want a true authentic experience, go there.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Hiam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Beautiful traditional riad but “don’t judge a book by its cover”! This place could use some help from an experienced hotel manager and some training in basics. We were given a large room with a nice balcony; however, the heat did not work and we had to request a radiator to be brought in. At the same time, the toilet was broken and would not flush. The hot water in the shower ran out after one shower.

To top that off, breakfast was very limited and we found hair in both the pancake (bghir) and the butter placed on the table.

On a positive note, the owner was very flexible with dates as we needed to change our dates unexpectedly at the last minute.

I would not recommend this riad.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAB900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jalil_el_hayar, Owner at Dar Ziryab, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear MAB900

Let me start out by thanking you for your comment and apologizing that the experience you had in our Riad during your two-nights stay was not up to your expectations.

However, I would like to add that you told us that you were happy with the solution we found for the heating and did not want to switch to another, similar sized room that we offered, and I am very sad that this seemingly was an issue during your stay.

I am also very sorry to only get to know from your review that the flush did not work properly during your stay, usually this kind of problem is picked up by our staff. We can only assume that due to it being a very busy period they forgot to forward the information on to us, and am very sorry for the inconvenience this caused. But it also saddens us that you did not give us a chance to fix this for you during your stay.

At the moment we are indeed experiencing problems with hot water at very busy periods, however we are working to upgrade our boilers in order to solve this.

At busy times breakfast is served as a buffet, meaning that there is a period during which the food is not in the hands of our staff, whose foremost priority is hygiene. This is the first time that we hear any bad comment about our breakfast (and food in general), leading us to conclude that you must have been very unlucky.

Please accept our sincere apologies, we hope that you will give us the opportunity to ensure your next stay will be smoothly as can be, should you visit Fes again.

Kind Regards
Jalil El hayar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
4.1 km away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
576 reviews
3.2 km away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#64 of 100 in Fes
101 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#46 of 100 in Fes
229 reviews
3.8 km away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
580 reviews
4 km away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ziryab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ziryab

Address: 2 rue Ibn Badis | Ville Nouvelle, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: $103 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Ziryab 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Une oasis de fraîcheur, située à deux pas de l'Hôtel Royal Mirage et duParc Prestigia où architecture Arabo-Mauresque raffinée, luxueux mobilier, art de table, cuisine exceptionnelle, linge de maison, broderies faites à la main, très belles suites ,Hammam, Pscine et jardins privatifs se mêlent pour faire de cette demeure contemporaine un authentique lieu Fassi où rien ne manque pour vous faire vivre un séjour inoubliable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Ziryab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing