We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great taste of real Morocco in fantastic Fes”

Review of Dar Alexander

Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard
Master Bedroom Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Courtyard
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom En Suite
Second Bedroom
Third Bedroom
Fourth Bedroom
Children's Bedroom
Bathroom
Guest Bathroom
Guest Bathroom
Living Room Bathroom
Courtyard
Courtyard Salon
Terrace
Terrace
Terrace
Views from the Terrace
Views from the Terrace
Views from the Terrace
Terrace
Living Room
Courtyard Fountain
Hallway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris R
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“A great taste of real Morocco in fantastic Fes”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in April 2011

This was our first trip to Morocco and we couldn’t quite believe the ‘arrangements’ that we were given would go to plan. But they went like a dream. Met at the airport, driven to the edge of the Medina and then the cart carrying our luggage to lead us to the riad. It was absolutely the perfect introduction to a wonderful experience: the friendly locals, the kindness of the staff and, most of all, the peace and tranquility of Dar Alexander itself.

It is beautifully designed in perfect keeping with Moroccan culture, particularly that of Fes, and an excellent antidote to the energy and bustle that awaits just outside the door - an energy that you would never believe existed once you enter Alexander and close the door behind you. Our children were beside themselves with excitement exploring its myriad of corridors, levels and rooms there. The roof terrace was an added bonus and a lovely way to experience the early morning sun or the dramatic sunsets. The Dar Alexander staff were extremely sensitive and caring and the food was fresh and delicious – a genuine flavour of Fes.

And exploring the medina is just as exhilarating, especially thanks to our guide Malek, a proud and hugely knowledgeable Fes local who we were allotted by the manager of the riad. Whatever you want to look at or know about, he can take you there and even helps you barter – as barter you must. The guide is a must as the labyrinthine streets are not only difficult to tell apart but they are also bursting with fascinating shops and cafés – my children still talk about the café owner who entertains everyone with his handstands!

We then moved on to Marrakesh - which, in retrospect, we wish we hadn’t - and now can’t wait for another opportunity to enjoy the delights and relaxation of Fes and Dar Alexander.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hard to say: too much to choose from.
Liked least: One night there was a storm. Made for an exciting night!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim p
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful oasis of calm in the heart of the Medina”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 for a stay in April 2012

We arrived in the middle of a torrential downpour with the narrow streets of the Medina flowing like rivers. We ducked through a wooden door set into the wall of a building and wow - into a gorgeous calm central courtyard with a fountain running and as tall as a cathedral (luckily covered at roof level!) and a tray of Moroccan mint tea and pastries to revive the bedraggled family. The house has been beautifully restored over several years using local materials to great effect by Jan, the London lawyer who owns it and is run with charming hospitality by Youness with excellent local cooking by Khadija. We ate in every night of our stay and it was well worth it. The weather warmed up to perferct Spring while we were there but in the meantime there was the open fire in the cosy snug for the evenings. In the sun, a great roof terrace overlooking the old town. Youness organised an excellent guide for us which was essential for finding our way through the warren of streets. Fes is very authentic - less brash and hectic than Marrakech and no hassle for our group of two families. A wonderful stay - we shall definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully resporedhouse and great hosting by Youness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AddisonJa...
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“most unique holiday in ten years”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in June 2011

Usually we take holidays in beach and city locations, but this time we wanted to have somewhere that none of us had ever tried. a small group of friends rented this house in Fez and all of us were blown away.
we got to the walled town of old Fez, and then proceeded on foot with helpers to take our bags, as the only way to get into Fez is on foot. Immediately you are transported into a different time period, where things slow down and you become amazed at every corner as you weave thru the tiny alleys of Fez. the day to day life of an old world is right there for you to be part of, and suddenly we were stopped by our guide in front of a huge ancient wooden door set into the wall of an alley way. stepping thru we entered the beautifully and faithfully renovated house that was our home for 4 days. It was an amazing surprise - you are standing on the ground floor and look up the central atrium that rises all the way up to the fifth floor above. the staircase winds around it to the top, with traditional stone carvings and mosaic tiling lining the walls and rooms all the way to the top.
once we had ascedended to the top, we came out onto a roof terrace from which we looked out over the entire town of Fez below us - it was like being transported back to the 13th century. Amazing.
every morning and evening we had breakfast and dinner prepared for us by the cook, and gnarled old Morrooccan woman who makes fab salads!! We felt like sultans sitting on the roof terrace, being served course after course of local delicacies and dishes. Fez has many hidden jewels, great little cafes and restaurants you suddenly come upon as yu follow the directions the owner gave us. shopping in the markets was an experience in itself, where you haggle and barter for things that you never see in the normal holiday locations we go to.
by the time we left, we really felt like we had gone away to a different world, in time and place, and it is something i will never forget!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house itself and the variety of Fez as a location
Liked least: we should have stayed longer than 3 days
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjimin...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“It has the Wow factor”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in July 2011

Tucked away in the cultural Medina is he oasis of luxury and style that is Dar Alexander. I went with my two daughters who were aged 13 and 10 and stayed with another family. We all had a fanatastic time, we were perfectly accommodated and well catered for by the chef that was arranged for us. The location and the property was truly inspirational. Experiencing the Medinan markets and the restaurants was worth doing as was simply relaxing on the roof top terrace taking in the exceptional views. Definitely planning to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Liked least: I liked the whole experience
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing