We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to sleep if arriving late at the train station”
Review of Hotel Ibis Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Fes
Ranked #57 of 101 Hotels in Fes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Nothing special, but a perfectly decent place to sleep if arriving late at the train station. We did have a bit of a miscommunication with them though, having phoned ahead to make a reservation at the online winter special rate but finding on arrival late at night that the reservation was at the standard rate -- the reception staff didn't even seem to be aware of the special rate's existence and insisted that the staff we spoke to on the phone were "professionals" and wouldn't have negotiated a lower rate. We felt a bit taken advantage of at 3 AM, but the price difference was small and perhaps it was a reasonable misunderstanding given that the special rate was only available online and required pre-payment, which they didn't ask for on the phone. Don't let them include breakfast in the room rate if you aren't interested in it.

There also seems to be a strange shortage of pens at the reception desk. We borrowed one in the morning while sitting in the lobby and were approached no less than three times in ten minutes to see if we were done with it!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 236 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2009

Friendly reception. Good breakfast. Cleaness of the room is not an issue. Stayed only for one night. You'll be effectivelly helped to park in the outside, it works. After reception you'll be formally aproached by a credited guide. It helps a lot to have a guide to enter and see the Medina. Even on the second time we needed a guide and, approaching the Medina entrance, we accepted service of a young girl very educated that showed us the way to a museum we were looking for. When we left the museum she was still standing in front and guided us to the outside. Without insisting, showed us "her cousin's" carpets shop....All of them try to drive us to the shops of "authentic" and "cooperative made" handcrafted goods. Well, it is the opportunity to sit and rest.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SyncMasterPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

I was expecting a bland, soul-less, box of a room, but I was still very disappointed.
We asked to swap rooms a few times on check-in (to get a pool-facing room etc), and eventually found one.
The bedroom was really dirty, and seemed to get worse the more I looked. It had a carpet, which was an odd choice in a country where I never saw a vacuum cleaner (which may explain the filthy state of it). Lots of stains, scruffy scuffed and broken fittings.

The reason we booked here was because we were on a long trip around Morocco and needed to book up somewhere quick online for a few nights. We thought we'd get bland, but clean. But we didn't even get clean.

We checked out the next morning, cancelling our next 2 nights at the hotel.

The staff were pretty unhelpful, and didn't seem to care less.

Though convenient for the train station, its not really near anything else.

We had stayed at the beautiful Dar Seffarine in the medina the night before (so had been somewhat spoiled) but at only around £10 more per night than the Ibis, and that included breakfast (which the Ibis didn't) a million-times better value.

Avoid.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoteladdictnumberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We stayed 1 night at the Ibis in Fes. We arrived at the airport in the evening and we were planning to leave Fes the next morning by train. This hotel is next to the train station. The rooms are ok and the hotel has a nice garden with swimming pool. The food is cheap but don't excpect anything special. The staff is friendly. For us this hotel was perfect for 1 night. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CosmoTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

The location of this hotel was great. We arrived in Fez late at night and it was convenient to walk to our hotel from the train station. The room was a little small but cozy. However, It had an awful smell which did not go away until we left. The room was not cleaned during our stay there. The maid would always barge in our room in the mornings just to change the towels and leave. The bar was pleasant and we enjoyed going there. The restaurant had great food but was quite expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy-WDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 km away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#52 of 101 in Fes
686 reviews
3 km away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#62 of 101 in Fes
105 reviews
3.1 km away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#49 of 101 in Fes
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 101 in Fes
581 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#69 of 101 in Fes
61 reviews
3 km away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#4 of 101 in Fes
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Fes

Address: Avenue Les Almohades | Place de la Gare, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fes
Price Range: AU$50 - AU$92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Fes 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Moussafir Fès hotel is located a few minutes from the centre of Fès and the magnificent Médina, a universal heritage retracing the history of the Moroccan dynasties. 40 m from the railway station and 12 km only from the airport, the hotel has 123 air-conditioned rooms and a meeting room for organising seminars and conferences. Guests have the use of a garden with a swimming pool, a bar open 24/24, a restaurant and parking. Tennis courts close by. Golf 15 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ibis Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Moussafir Fes Hotel Fes
Accor Moussafir Fes
Ibis Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing