We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacularly beautiful & magical Riad with warm and wonderful people!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Jardin des Biehn
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I don't even know where to begin, it's only been a few hours since we landed back home and we are quite overwhelmed by the magic of this trip! This was our first ever visit to Africa, to Morocco, to Fez. We were lucky enough to find an amazing concierge/travel service who paired us with Le Jardin des Biehn. We chose LJDB after a lot of deliberation and not knowing much other than we wanted an authentic experience staying in a Riad in the Medina.

Le Jardin des Biehn is a magical place. It is a large Riad with only 10 guest rooms. This means that the rooms - even the standard ones - are large, airy and roomy. Not only are they large, but each room is beautifully curated and quite unique and significantly different from the others. Michel Biehn who owns this property is warm, friendly, an immensely chic world traveler, art connoisseur, food lover, cook book author and antique dealer. All of this and more shows through in this exquisitely and thoughtfully refurbished luxurious Riad. Attention to detail is remarkable from the hairdryer placed in a hand woven wicker basket, to the variety of books placed on the bedside table, to the organic and natural bathing soaps and shampoos in the naturally lit, stained glass embellished bathrooms.

We were quite fortunate to be visiting during Ramadan. We had originally chosen to stay in the 'Turk in Love room' but after one night decided to explore the other rooms to see if we could perhaps choose another for a different experience. Houcine, the property manager was kind enough to give us a tour of the property - he btw, is an expert at managing all the minute details too including our entire itinerary during the time we were there. We fell in love with the Caliph suite and spent 4 glorious days there. The Caliph suite was ridiculously perfect and unimaginably beautiful. From the 19th century hand painted Iranian mirror on the wall to the 200 year old woven and embroidered - museum quality - hanging behind our bed, this room continued to delight us with little surprises.

The thing is, the rest of the Riad is like this room - full of beauty, both hidden and apparent. The garden is especially wonderful. It is wildly exotic and hovers romantically between a garden let loose to nature and one that co-exists via gentle but minimal pruning from human hands. It is also full of very happy, singing birds. There is also a wonderful little 'gourd' gallery for want of a sweeter name that is a happy and eclectic collection of gourd vessels from all over the world. It's such a nutty surprise and only adds to all the overwhelmingly delicious eye candy in this perfectly curated and authentic Riad.

The Hammam is spectacular - a not-to-be-missed experience. Tag along a massage and it is bliss! Do this every day that you are there, and you won't want to go back home. Fayima and Ayesha who are the hosts of the spa were warm and incredibly adept at their jobs. We walked away feeling like we were walking on air.

The Fez Cafe has wonderful and delicious food, served daily. The meloui was spicy, flaky and the best we'd tried and the staff makes you feel like you are a part of the Biehn family. Soufian, Azzeddine and the talented Saad and his equally talented sous chefs kept us perfectly satiated by generously plying us with plates of baghrir, meloui, honey, argan almond butter, home made jams and glasses of fresh orange juice, and wonderful Meknes Rosé wines. We are now, thanks to them, a happy but reluctant 5 lbs heavier.

Mohammad the delightful and joyful doorman always had a smile on his face and no trek through the medina was ever too long for him - we were grateful for his help many times. Without him, we'd still be roaming around the intricate alleyways, bumping into walls! Do not hesitate to ask Houcine to send someone with you to get from point A to point B. While it is fun getting lost in the Medina, it's even more fun getting to know the Medina through someone like Mohammad.

For us, the icing on this already magical experience was meeting the owner Michel Biehn. Our morning and evening conversations with him will be treasured always. He is a remarkable and passionate ambassador for all that is Fez. Without him, we would not know, enjoy, and experience as much as we did in Fez. If you do visit and notice a wonderful always-smiling gentleman clad in a beautiful Djellaba - do smile and engage him in a conversation. You will find your visit exponentially enriched. We are so grateful for the opportunity to have stayed at Le Jardin des Biehn and to have met all the wonderful people who make up the family there - Michel, Houcine, Azzeddine, Soufian, Mohammed, Saad, Fayima, and Ayesha. We hope to come back soon! Le Jardin des Biehn is exceptional. Stay here!

Room Tip: Each one is different. Each one is luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at this garden refuge so much that I canceled a reservation in a highly recommended restaurant in order to have dinner a second time there.
This Garden oasis was a favorite of a pasha but today it is a favorite of travelers who enjoy a comfortable, serene place with truly individual personality. The owner has done a masterful job in personally selecting every bit of pottery, textile, decoration, and layout, in many cases using objects you would have to plunder an unusually good antique store to see, let alone have for your enjoyment.
Some of the spaces are quirky and would not necessarily suit those who really would prefer a Hilton hotel.
I felt like an honored guest here. The staff went out of their way to help us, always with a cheerful smile.
The garden itself is a miracle in the desert, reproduced according to the Pasha's original design. It was a great pleasure to sit in the cool of the shade and listen to the birds. Several tortoises made an enchanting appearance.
This is a happy place.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank quibblest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

The wonderful hotel with its peaceful and ambrosial garden, the tastefully furnished rooms, the typical Maroccan meals cooked with fresh herbs from the garden and notably the amiable staff made our stay a marvellous and recreative one.

Room Tip: Each room has its specific and unique character. Check the rooms on the homepage of Le Jardin des Bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine_Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Everyone here is so friendly and helpful. An absolute pleasure to be here.
The gardens are amazingly big and so perfumed. A delight to walk through and admire.
The rooms are all individually decorated and vary a lot. Very plush decorations in the superior suites. Well worth the extra money because they have seating areas, coffee machines, kettles and quite a lot of space.
The restaurant is also terrific. The breakfast is varied and yummy.
A great experience in Fez.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

I Spent a long time looking for the perfect riad for our birthdays and settled on Le Jardin and we just had the best time. Even before we left London we had excellent communication with Hicham, who arranged for the caretaker to meet us and lead us through the winding alleys of the old Medina, which was a nice touch and a good call.

Upon entering the incredible gardens we knew this was something special and were upgraded to fantastic suites with terraces ( rooms Le Favourite and Le Sultane) Nothing was ever too much for the staff who would lay tables wherever we decided to sit( this was February and we were desperate for some Winter Sun) , secretly arrange Birthday treats and open rooms so we can have a look around the property.

The breakfasts were great and they offered us Eggs every morning, fresh orange juice, and a selection of pastries all delicious and even remembered how we take our coffee in the morning

The Location of this riad is absolutely perfect too as it is not far from an exit with a taxi rank and close to the Ruined Garden Café and the two main streets are a 5 min walk away. Rooms are beautifully decorated, as per an Interiors magazine and Warm which is important in Winter in Fes and really reasonably priced!

If there was one area the Riad could improve on it is the Café. Instead of playing country and western music and having a French menu which is too pricey for a cafe it could be so spectacular with a little more imagination; we would love to dine under orange trees with charcoal burners and candlelight ; it just seems like there is so much untouched potential - this is no fault of the staff but really up to the owners to change; infact, we have stayed all over the world and in 5 star properties but we have never felt as if we had a team of personal butlers who were not intrusive but always there; all expertly lead by Hicham who is the warmest and most giving host we have encountered and a real credit to the Riad

If in Fes, do not look elsewhere, stay here !

Room Tip: pasha suite is incredible as is le sultane
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank msweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 km away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#22 of 100 in Fes
272 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 km away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#31 of 100 in Fes
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.5 km away
Riad Marjana suites & Spa
0.7 km away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin des Biehn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin des Biehn

Address: 13 Akbat Sbaa | Douh, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: $173 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Jardin des Biehn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin des Biehn is a large Andalusian garden in the middle of the Medina of Fez, scented by Isfahan roses, jasmin, orange blossom and bergamot. All around stands the summer palace of a Pasha : nine rooms and suites, a restaurant, a spa and an art gallery. It is a place of harmony and charm, of luxury and fantasy, of shadows and light passing through the palms, lulled by birdsong and the murmur of fountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Jardin des Biehn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing