We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
309
32
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
32
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace exploring fez great view of the medina moroccan trip place to stay beautiful place special thanks a wonderful stay dar luggage heart morocco taxi terras interior treasure
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016

My Partner and I absolutely loved our stay at Dar Gnaoua!! Ahmed was there to meet us when the transfer car dropped us off just outside of Bab R'cif and showed us the way to the Riad pointing out the signs on the way so that we would not get lost when we went out by ourselves! We went into a tiny door to discover a palace inside! Such a lovely old building, full of character and beautifully restored! There is a photo book that details the work and restoration that took place. Ahmed showed us around the Riad and made us feel so comfortable and at home. Once we had settled in he took us to the main part of the medina and introduced us to the owner Miss Laurance who has an art shop on one of the main streets. She is so friendly and lovely and helped me with my stomach problem whilst I was in Fes and gave me some of her herbal medicine.
We later met Rachid who mostly works there in the evening...again he was so lovely and friendly.
Breakfast was delicious and served every morning on the rooftop terrace. The Terrace was amazing and we sat outside there most night enjoying the ambiance.

Rooms are spacious, comfortable. Very clean, bed was super comfy.
We had such a lovely time here and it was a pleasure to meet such lovely people who help make Dar Gnaoua so unique and beautiful.
Thank you to you all!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathanandcarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We arrived from our long journey from Mergouza and were met be Ahmed at the taxi stand. He arranged for our luggage to be taken to the Riad and personally walked us to the Riad, showing us along the way several landmarks that would be invaluable.
The property is well restored and esthetically pleasing. We had booked two rooms (triple and double) for our family of five but were given three rooms. All the rooms are very large, cozy and exceptionally clean. They all had A/C but we didn't need it. The property has lots of public spaces that you can read or just relax. There is even a small kitchen downstairs that you can use. The best is the roof top terrace with an incredible view of the city. You are in the Medina and we could sit for hours watching the people, children, animals on the roof tops.
We had planned dinner upon arrival at the Riad but it was so delicious that we chose to eat there the second night as well. You can set your own menu and everything we ate was amazing. We took our dinners and breakfasts on the roof top terrace to enjoy the moderate temperatures and incredible views of Fes.
The best part of our trip, however, was not the property but the people. The owner, Lournve was around a lot and helped us on several occasions. She was especially kind to my wife who had the stomach bug and not feeling well. Ahmed was amazing. We had originally thought we would hire a guide but after a not so good experience in Marrakesh, we were unsure. Ahmed and Lournve also recommended we could easily do Fes without a guide and that was great advice. Every morning Ahmed would sit down with us and help us plan out an itinerary for the day. Each day a little different but we feel we saw most of the sights and truly experienced Fes (which we greatly preferred over Marrakesh). He even walked us to the main part of the Medina on the first morning, showing us the many Dar Gnaoua signs and major landmarks. We wondered the city for two days and never got lost. From arrival to final departure, I can not say enough good things about Ahmed. He is truly there 24/7 to ensure you have a wonderful experience. We are sooooooo thankful we stayed at Gar Gnaoua!!!!! Thank you Lournve and Ahmed.

Room Tip: We had a variety of room and all were great
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank utdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

We came stressed to Dar Gnaoua – and left totally relaxed. Achmed and Rachid are probably the most friendly Moroccains we met on our trip. They were really helpful and accommodating.
The breakfast is tasty and the rooms vary from sweet to romantic dreams. The old house itself is perfectly renovated and the inner design more than tasteful. The view from the terrasse is awesome. Another plus: In the labyrinthy Medina of Fes, there are good way signs to Dar Gnaoua.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinzenz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Dar Gnaoua is a wonderful place. It has been restored with impeccable taste, and prices are very reasonable. We had the lovely room at the top of the house, looking out to the terrace. Breakfast was delicious, as was the dinner we had one night on the terrace. Laurence is a great host, and Ahmed was wonderfully helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We booked this Riad for 1 night last minute based on the rave reviews of the place.

Whilst Ahmed was incredibly sweet and tried to accomadate us as much as possible, the Riad was absolutely freezing. The aircon heater did not function properly and none of our group had a very good sleep that night. The Riad is also quite far in and difficult to find and we did not find it conducive to pop in and out of and were afraid to come back too late at night. Beyond this the facilities were acceptable but unimpressive.

What really upset us to no end was the fact that at the beginning of our stay we were told the riad would be able to store our main luggage for us for 2 days so that we were able to go away with just backpacks on a weekend trip to Chefchouen. Everyone in the group packed accordingly but on the morning of our departure, we were told that the Riad would not be able to keep it. We even got Ahmad to phone the riad owner Lawrence whom we actually begged to store our 3 suitcases. We were rudely told that this was not possible. Absolutely no effort was made to accomadate our luggage situation despite agreeing to it the day before. Finally after the upsetting phone call and in a rush to catch our bus and with nowhere to leave our luggage,we contacted the riad in the old city that we had stayed in earlier that week, who happily agreed to store our luggage in their riad. We were forced to pull our heavy luggage through the old city and up hills to another riad. This experience left us all upset and we were shocked by how we were treated by the owner. We travelled through Morroco for 3 weeks and stayed at a number of Riads where everyone went out of their way to welcome and help us and besides this riad we did not have a single bad experience. We were truly horrified and would never stay here again or recommend that anyone stays in a place where guests are treated in such an appaling manner .

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank nabilaqwet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_alberro, Propriétaire at dar gnaoua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016
Google Translation

Chère Nabila ,
Je suis désolée que vous n'ayez pas aimé notre service. Nous essayons de faire le maximum pour nos clients : pour un sejour d'une nuit pour 3 personnes , nous avons été vous chercher spontanément à votre riad précédent , nous avons payé la carriole de vos très lourds bagages . Nous vous avons attendu jusqu'à plus une heure du matin , ce qui est vraiment très tard en medina de fes, et je crains que vous ne soyez rentrées un peu trop fatiguées par votre soirée arrosée pour remarquer les chauffages a bain d'huile dans vos chambres, d'où votre sensation de froid .
Effectivement nous ne pouvions garder vos très gros bagages pendant 48 h sans avoir la moindre idée de l'heure et de l'endroit où vous vouliez que nous les emmenions , et vous exigiez ce service , naturellement rendu à des clients revenant au riad mais plus délicat autrement ( et interdit par la loi ...)Nous vous avons proposé de les emmener à votre riad suivant , mais vous avez refusé de prendre en charge les 2€ de la carriole et je crois , Nabila que vous n'aviez pas encore réservé votre prochain établissement .( c'est tellement plus fun de changer d'adresse tous les soirs pour profiter des tarifs last minute et exiger un service de majordomes privé !!) . Nos lecteurs apprécieront le 284e commentaire de Dar gnaoua , le SEUL horrible !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews