We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
494
60
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
60
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean claude saffron suite rooftop terrace the owner a wonderful stay narrow streets made us feel at home old city simo guide medina morocco heart hosts taxi meknes courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

This tastefully decorated Riad is charming, comfortable and in a great location. The owner and staff are helpful and authentic and went above and beyond for us during our stay. The rooms were cozy, clean and the beds comfortable. We loved our visit to Fes and our stay here!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank carau69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Upon arrival in Fes, we were greeted by Simo who was able to guide us through the labyrinth of alleys and narrow streets to find the Riad Laayoun. To our surprise we walked through the doors and found ourselves in a beautiful space. Our room was private and tucked away and we had full access to every spot in the Riad. Jean Claude made us feel at home, ensuring that all of our needs were taken care of. We were able to enjoy quiet nights on the rooftop to wind down from the business of the Medina. We had a wonderful breakfast and Jean Claude even packed us a breakfast to go when we left for our trek at 7am, which was early. We had thought my boyfriends money clip with all of his cards had been lost in the Medina but it was found by Jean Claude and he graciously mailed in back all the way to Chicago for us. This place truly was a wonderful stop on our way through Morocco and we would encourage anybody to stay here.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The management is out of this world in taking care of you and the place is beautiful. However, it is a bit far from the main strip of Fes.

Pros
1. Service: The manager was amazing. He gave us helpful tips about Fes and how to get around. He arranged our trip to Meknes. He regularly checked in on us to make sure everything was going swimming. Best service at any establishment we've stayed at. The breakfasts (included) were among the best we had in Morocco.
2. Beautiful: The rooms are immaculate and spacious. It has amazing artistry. We were awestruck when we got there. We were in the Saffron suite and couldn't have been happier.
3. A/C: Good A/C in Morocco is not a given. The room was always the appropriate temperature.

Cons
1. Location: It's a bit far from the main two roads in Fes. You're going to have a 15-20 walk uphill to get there.
2. Shower: The shower lacked alot to be desired. One of the worst I've seen in a hotel.
3. The Bed: Our bed was a bit creaky and not the most comfortable.

Warning: Make sure you bring a ton of cash as you'll have to pay for your room in it. They don't accept credit cards.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LeviN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Walking through narrow lanes, we finally reached the Riad Laayoun.
Such a beautiful place to stay in the heart of Fes. Couln't be better. Lovely service, wonderful bedrooms, the best breakfast we had during our stay in Maroc. We say thank you to Mohamed, a perfect host which makes our stay unforgetable in terms of all explications, orgaisation of sight seeing and last but not least arraging tipical cooking lessons for us. It felt as we were staying much longer than only 3 nights. Sabine

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fsschaefer2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

This Riad has been beautifully renovated and furnished. It is an absolute delight and respite from the busy streets outside and in the heart of everything you need to see in Fes. The roof top terrace where we ate breakfast each day has amazing views over the old city. We received an upgrade to a suite which was very spacious and the whole Riad has a large and airy feel to it.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank annobrien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews