We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dr.Askalany”
Review of Farah Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farah Casablanca
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Casablanca
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Actually not a 5 stars hotel at all.
Bad smelling in the room.
No tea or coffee in the room.
No tissues.
House keepers always opening doors.
Only food is good.
Staff is unprofessional.
Not recommended at all .
With this price easy to find a good hotel in Casablanca.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Hesham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicham O, Director Of Operations at Farah Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Let us, at first, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Golden Tulip Farah Casablanca. and it was with great bitterness that we note that we have not lived up to your expectations and we apologize for this.

Also, we do not understand, among other things, that your room could smell bad knowing that we are very careful about the olfactory ambience throughout the hotel and especially in the rooms.
There goes without saying that we have failed to deliver you the service you are able to expect from us and we apologize once again.

we hope that this unfortunate experience does nothing to taint the idea that you have about our hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you, in the rules of art, in a near future.

Until then,
Best regards,

Hicham OUAHDANI
Director Of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Farah Casablanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 169 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Well, the heading is probably a little on the harsh side but that is what one of our touring party called it after he discovered the toilet seat broken and cracked mirror. Another party found the skirt around the bed base to be grubby and demanded another room. In my case, the safe did not work, it must have taken about 5 men an hour to correct the situation including replacing the whole safe. My wife wanted to take a bath but there was no plug, called the concierge who said he would send one up but never arrived. The staff are very friendly but they just don't follow through which is what it is all about. I note others have expressed similar sentiments and the manager has commented they are working on it - the bottom line is they just don't seem to care, so, as our tour director from Insight warned us, check you room out carefully first before unpacking your bags. Insight need to up their standard, we purchased their tour on the understanding that it was a 4-5 star all the way, this hotel in my opinion falls short of 4 stars. The standard of cleaning for this hotel is not great, the rooms are acceptable but the passage way, windows etc, are grubby.
The Moroccan restaurant on the first floor was excellent as were the musicians who played non stop to us for nearly 2 hours - a worthwhile experience. The hotel is centrally located and I can assure you the goods and prices in some of the local tourist shops are as good as anywhere in Morocco, don't purchase from the leather tannery in Fes, too expensive as is the carpet place.
The hotel is 50 minutes from the airport and a taxi will cost you 250-300 MAD.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicham O, Director Of Operations at Farah Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Valuable Guest,

We are sincerely sorry to note that our services were not up to your expectations, and we are especially confused for giving you the impression that we do not attach any interest nor seem to care.

It is through feedback that we're getting better every day, and make sure to resolve any malfunction that may arise in a dynamic organization such as a hotel.
That been said, we have taken note of your comments, we thank you and we will ensure to fix what needs to be corrected.

Thank you again for drawing our attention,
And looking forward to welcoming you in a near future,

Best Regards,

Hicham Ouahdani
Director Of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here three nights as part of a package tour. The reception desk and breakfast room staff needed prodding to do the minimum. For example, we called twice to have laundry picked up but no one came. I took it to the reception desk, they would not help but sent me to the concierge who did take it. It was to be delivered to our room by 6PM. At 9 PM we had no laundry. I went down to the concierge who said 10 minutes. 30 minutes later I went down again, he said 15 minutes. 30 minutes later I was about to go again and as I opened the door they were there with the laundry. Very expensive. They should have been happy to get our business. At breakfast, we had to bug the staff for coffee cups, silverware, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10,234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicham O, Directeur des Opérations at Farah Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you, first of all, for taking the time to enlighten us about your stay at Golden Tulip Farah Casablanca. This exercise allows us to improve every day, and we'll never thank you enough for that.

Your comment proves that we lacked organization in managing your needs, and we're confused. It is also worth remembering you all the interest we pay you and all our hotel guests, it is our duty to welcome you to the rules of art, and if we have failed in some levels we sincerely apologize.

And while thanking for your feedback,
we remain hopeful to welcome you during a next visit to Casablanca,

Hicham Ouahdani
Director Of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I'been for 7 nights at this hotel. recommend 2 Int'l travelers. Book on half board & don't miss the Moroccan restaurant located at the first floor, serving excellent food all in a charming Moroccan Atmosphere. Ask for Royal CouCous or a Tajine, you have many varieties so you can select your choice

Room Tip: Make sure your room overlook the main Av Des Forces Armees Royales, take rooms at the 6th floor to a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gamal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicham O, Manager at Farah Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Valuable Guest,

we are pleased by your compliments and recommendations and we thank you for that.
We are, also, delighted that your stay with us was up to your expectations.

And while looking forward to welcoming you soon,
Receive, Valuable guest, the expression of our cordial greetings.

hicham Ouahdani
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The location of the hotel is nice close to everything.
They are saying it is a 5 start but it is not more than 4 stars.
The morocain restaurant is really bad.
The breafast is also not at the level of a 5 stars not even 4 stars.
The bar is not bad but absolutly nobody a dead place.
Most of the people are nice and friendly the servce is good.
The Spa and the gym are not good and the indoor pool is ok
l paid 135 euros per night ... the real value should be 90 euros max.

Room Tip: The road on the port is very noisy
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amédée S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicham O, Manager at Farah Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Guest,

Let us, first of all, thank you for taking the time to focus our attention on your stay at Golden Tulip Farah Casablanca.
Also, we are pleased that you liked our location, our staff, our service and our pool. However, we have taken note of the experienced weaknesses regarding our various dining outlets and our Spa, and we promise to spare no effort in order to reach the level you expect.

And looking forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Casablanca,
Best Regards,

Hicham Ouahdani
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casablanca hotels
0.2 km away
Sheraton Casablanca Hotel & Towers
0.5 km away
Hotel les Saisons
Hotel les Saisons
#21 of 78 in Casablanca
274 reviews
1.9 km away
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
Movenpick Hotel Casablanca
#10 of 78 in Casablanca
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sofitel Casablanca Tour Blanche
0.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
Hyatt Regency Casablanca
#3 of 78 in Casablanca
1,045 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Casablanca City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farah Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farah Casablanca

Address: 160 Av Des Forces Armees Royales, Casablanca 20000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Casablanca
#34 Luxury Hotel in Casablanca
Price Range: $118 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Farah Casablanca 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Farah Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Casablanca Hotel Casablanca
Casablanca Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Casablanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing