We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Dar Maktoub - but for golfing only”
Review of Riad Dar Maktoub

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Maktoub
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2017

This hotel has many good points but also a few not so good. If you play golf, you will be delighted as there are 3 courses in walking distance. If you don't play golf, you find yourself stuck in the middle of nowhere, 6 miles from Agadir, along a smelly river and nothing to eat of any quality for miles. The hotel restaurant is excellent but not cheap by Moroccan standards and you need to book your meal in advance, so are committed to a return to the hotel by 7 pm. This is not always convenient. The staff are excellent and friendly. The room allocated at first was near the roadside wall, hence noisy as there is no sound insulation of any kind. The room I changed to was much quieter. The hotel has a beautiful garden. The entire layout is charming and has style. Although the hotel itself is of a high standard, I would not book this again due to its distant location from anything but golf courses. It is not suitable for general tourism without a car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the rear of the gardens away from the roadside wall.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Franz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Riad Dar Maktoub
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2016

Beautiful Riad, friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are large and well furnished, lovely bed linen and a huge shower. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice.
We only ate in a couple of nights but the food was very good both times, especially the fish!
This is a delightful oasis of calm, as others have said, I would thoroughly recommend it. You do need a car to get around.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I chose this Riad because it was listed as wheelchair accessible on tripadvisor. However, when we arrived we looked at all rooms and whilst there is a ramp to avoid the flight of stairs at the front of the property, you still have 5 stairs to negotiate to the easiest of the rooms, plus you need to go up and down these several times a day to breakfast and dinner up at the main building. Architecturally it is gorgeous and the rooms and dinners are lovely. However, there is also a step up into the bathroom and a fairly wide tiled shower hob which I was unable to push my husband's wheelchair over. The other room's bathroom was not wide enough to even get a wheelchair into. An electric wheelchair would be out of the question at this property.

Room Tip: see above review
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jarn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Being located about halfway between the airport and the tourist area of Agadir, Dar Maktoub would have been difficult to find if not for the detailed directions sent to us before our arrival by the lovely manager, Manu. Whilst not especially convenient if you want to spend time in Agadir, the location of Dar Maktoub was perfect for us as we were looking for a quiet, peaceful few days of rest and relaxation. As others have said, the gardens and pool were stunning.
As a group of 3 we had booked 2 rooms; 1 standard and 1 superior (for the extra room for 2 of us sharing), but when we arrived it was to find that the standard room had been upgraded to a superior and we were next door to each other in a small private courtyard that was shared with just 1 other room. Both rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style and had large bathrooms with complimentary toiletries. We had efficient air conditioning, flat screen TV and 1 room had a fridge but not the other. There were no hair dryers but this was not a problem for us. Also no tea/coffee making facilities.
A cold breakfast buffet was available until 10:30hrs each morning and eggs were also available on request. It was necessary to advise the staff whether we wished to eat in at lunch and dinner time as they buy all the ingredients fresh each day. If there was anything we didn't eat we only had to say so and a substitute was served. We always ate out for lunch but we ate dinner there 4 out of the 5 nights that we stayed. There was no choice; 1 starter, 1 main and 1 dessert but they were always, all, absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. There was a limited list of Moroccan wines that were surprisingly good.
Manu has a small but excellent team who were keen to serve our every need but although they were attentive, they were never intrusive. In fact when we asked for some ice at the bar we were also advised that if we ever wanted some when there was no member of staff present, we were welcome to help ourselves. When we wanted to eat out 1 evening Manu made the booking at our chosen restaurant and organised a taxi for us.
All in all this hotel delivered on all fronts; comfortable rooms, beautiful gardens and pool and smiling and attentive staff.

Room Tip: From what we could see, all the rooms were individually decorated and fairly spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SurreyUmbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Stayed here for three nights as part of a nine-day tour of Morocco. It was a lovely place to stay. The room that we stayed in was spacious and clean, and the Riad's grounds were well-cultivated. The pool area was nice and the restaurant served delicious food every night.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.4 km away
Tikida Golf Palace
Tikida Golf Palace
#1 of 77 in Agadir
406 reviews
5.0 km away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
4.8 km away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Tildi Hotel & SPA
Tildi Hotel & SPA
#12 of 77 in Agadir
593 reviews
4.9 km away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
5.9 km away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#32 of 77 in Agadir
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Agadir

Been to Riad Dar Maktoub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Maktoub

Address: Avenue Moulay Ali Cherif, Agadir 80350, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range: $93 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Maktoub 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the three golfs courses of the Region (Golf du Soleil, Golf Les Dunes and Golf de l'Ocean), and in front of the superb National Park of Souss Massa Draa, Dar Maktoub is a unique place in Agadir combining elegance and authenticity. The domain is the perfect destination for golfers, friends and families to enjoy sport activities with a wonderful climate all the year long (25°C and 300 days of sun). Dar Maktoub welcomes its guests in a magical and enchanting environment, in the heart of the National Park of the Souss Massa, renowned for its exceptional Fauna and Flora (more than 300 species). Dar Maktoub offers its guests a personalized and high quality service during their stay. Combining a contemporary architecture with a traditional Moroccan style, Dar Maktoub is located in the middle of luxurious gardens, offering a charming environment to its guests. With its amazing panorama on the National Park of the Souss Massa Draa, Dar Maktoub is one of the most beautiful spots in Agadir. Enjoy the welcoming and relaxing atmosphere around the large outdoor swimming pool (200m²) during your stay. Located next to the swimming pool, the bar and its subdued lightings is the perfect setting to drink a refreshing cocktail at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Maktoub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing