We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip back to the 60s”
Review of The Koffee Kup

The Koffee Kup
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Arnolds Park
Price range: USD 5 - USD 12
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped for breakfast at my sister's suggestion. They have been eating here for years and loving it. She did say the price of a cup of coffee had doubled since last year. We had a great omellet. My husband did state it was mostly potato I side. My oatmeal was the real deal and delicious. They forgot our French toast and we got it later. Average. Service spectacular and the coffee excellent. We had bottomless refills.
If you like the diner experience, do not miss this place for breakfast while in Okaboji.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

My first visit to the Koffee Kup was a few years ago, and their cinnamon roll french toast was a syrup-drenched celebration in cinnamon! On subsequent visits, the charm wore off too quickly. This time was by far the weakest: the manager greeted us gruffly and seemed to try getting us to leave rather than wait to be seated. They needed at least one more person waiting tables, but really they need more tables out front. At least 3-4 could fit with umbrellas on the front patio. The food was fine, but they were out of the cinnamon french toast and didn't tell us until 20 minutes after taking the order (not the waitress's fault). These are management-level issues. Breakfast joints can either be nickel-stacking enterprises or quickfire thrifty little charmhouses. This one, unfortunately, is moving the wrong direction.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank KiPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmy P, Manager at The Koffee Kup, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

We're sorry your visits have you feeling this way. We do not put tables outside because it would then take away from any waiting area (since we are corned between a highway and parking lot). When we run out of any type of food, our waitress are informed right away. The waitress most likely forgot, by the time the kitchen got to your order, the waitress was re-informed. As far as how your cinnamon French toast changed/lost its "charm" how would you know if we were all out?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Our family of 5 went for breakfast and all loved our meals. The cinnamon rolls were warm and had lots of cream cheese frosting. The pancakes were good too and so was the egg sandwich.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmy P, Manager at The Koffee Kup, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thanks for the review and for stopping in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

The KK is the best place for breakfast. Small family place with great food, traditional Iowa giant sweet rolls, and a friendly staff.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmy P, Manager at The Koffee Kup, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We walked here from our cabin at Fillenwarth Beach and greatly enjoyed our coffee, omelette and huge cinnamon roll. This cafe has a nice small-town feel with great service and tasty food!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Koffee Kup also viewed

 

Been to The Koffee Kup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing