We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodging in Ames, near ISU”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gateway Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Great rate, really nice room, friendly staff! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistermoose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 127 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a conference and it was close to campus, which suited our needs. Maybe we were the only group there but the hotel main areas seemed a bit empty. Every time a group of us would go to the bar, they never had enough waitstaff and they didn't seem to know how to take a big group's bar order. We're all in the food business - so maybe we noticed it more than others. This hotel could use an upgrade as it felt like the 80's were still alive and living there. For the area - it's not a bad deal and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eviowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I am a new visitor to Ames Iowa. My son will be attending Iowa State this fall. We went down to Ames for orientation on June 23-24. Reserved this hotel thru Hotwire. The location was close to the school. The room was large and clean. The bed was very comfortable. I liked the down blanket. The hotel has a nice restaurant and bar. Very nice after a long exhausting day. Free internet was nice too! I will check into availability for future trips to Ames.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdenPraireMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel for a family wedding. The rooms were clean and lovely. The beds were comfy and we had plenty of room. Several members of our family stayed as well, and we all had good experiences. I would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thetutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed at the Gateway Center Hotel over the weekend. It was a great stay, we enjoyed the convenient location, the courteous staff, and the room.

We originally booked through priceline.com and got a really good deal on a king bedroom. The room was HUGE and the staff were really great in accommodating our room request for a king.

Were already planning a trip back and we'll be staying at the Gateway!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helmbhe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
3.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2100 Green Hills Dr, US HWY 30 & University Drive, Ames, IA 50014
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Price Range: $129 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel & Conference Center At Iowa State University is the largest full-service hotel & conference center in Ames, Iowa. Located at the entrance to Iowa State University on Highway 30 and University Blvd. It is the closet hotel to the Iowa State Center, ISU Research Park, Reiman Gardens, and Ames Airport. Developed by the leadership of Iowa State University on 14 acres of beautiful lawns, trees, and cattails, next to the Gateway Green Hills Park with 1.5 miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Ames
Hotel Gateway Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing