We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great lodging in Ames, near ISU” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gateway Center Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lodging in Ames, near ISU”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Great rate, really nice room, friendly staff! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistermoose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    61
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
16
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a conference and it was close to campus, which suited our needs. Maybe we were the only group there but the hotel main areas seemed a bit empty. Every time a group of us would go to the bar, they never had enough waitstaff and they didn't seem to know how to take a big group's bar order. We're all in the food business - so maybe we noticed it more than others. This hotel could use an upgrade as it felt like the 80's were still alive and living there. For the area - it's not a bad deal and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eviowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I am a new visitor to Ames Iowa. My son will be attending Iowa State this fall. We went down to Ames for orientation on June 23-24. Reserved this hotel thru Hotwire. The location was close to the school. The room was large and clean. The bed was very comfortable. I liked the down blanket. The hotel has a nice restaurant and bar. Very nice after a long exhausting day. Free internet was nice too! I will check into availability for future trips to Ames.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdenPraireMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne Wyoming
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel for a family wedding. The rooms were clean and lovely. The beds were comfy and we had plenty of room. Several members of our family stayed as well, and we all had good experiences. I would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed at the Gateway Center Hotel over the weekend. It was a great stay, we enjoyed the convenient location, the courteous staff, and the room.

We originally booked through priceline.com and got a really good deal on a king bedroom. The room was HUGE and the staff were really great in accommodating our room request for a king.

Were already planning a trip back and we'll be staying at the Gateway!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmbhe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
5.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Center Hotel

Property: Gateway Center Hotel
Address: 2100 Green Hills Drive, US 30 & Elwood Drive, Ames, IA 50010
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Price range (per night): $142 - $259
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Hotel & Conference Center is a full service business hotel located in a beautiful natural setting near Iowa State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TravelClick and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Gateway Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Ames
Hotel Gateway Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing