We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
136
76
28
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
76
28
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold chicagogrand stayone bedroom suiteseparate bedroomsfull size refrigeratorrooms are greathickory parkhome away from homefold out couchdance competitionextra roommy sonlocation was perfectplace to stayiowa statesmall poolpool and hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018

The room was great but would have liked king size bed. Very clean and great breakfast. Forgot a bracelet there and they found it and are sending it to me. They gave me a first floor just like I asked for and would stay there again if we are ever in Ames again

Room Tip: Great room but need king size beds
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marilynm985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

2 moms and 2 daughters stayed in a 2 bedroom. We each had our own private bedroom. With shared small living room and kitchenette. Was a reasonable place to stay. Wish the pool was bigger or had an outdoor pool. Breakfast in the mornings was decent.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

I had to extend my stay twice and they were able to keep me in the same room for the duration. I was very grateful for the effort made by the front desk personnel. The room was clean and there is plenty of space, much more relaxing when staying for more than a night.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ariveir0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

falmily reunion went well. helpful staff. breafast was great. pool was good. meeting room was great. nice location for family. snowed that weekend which was okay. It was Iowa in February. Fun time for the family.

Room Tip: nicely arranged room. bedroom and living room/kitchen that had a fold out bed. internet worked well
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bkbohnker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We have stayed many times in Ames at GrandStay. Whether it be work or play it's our go to place in Ames. They just remodeled and updated the top floors which is very nice. Staff is always great!
We love having Old Chicago connected too!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank iowagena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at GrandStay Hotel & Suites with others. We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendly staff, and we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Ames, IA!

Best regards,
Brad Ainsworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews