We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
295
118
29
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
295
118
29
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt bar gas station iowa state front porch lobby area great hotel waffles hotel breakfast pool and hot tub business center conference room place to stay in town short drive room was clean front desk staff des moines
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The breakfast is one of the best hotel breakfasts, it has something for everyone. My 8 year old got to have fruit loops, I had the yogurt bar, and my husband had eggs, ham, and toast. We were all satisfied with everything. The beds are very comfortable. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jordand546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Thank you for a wonderful stay. You are always our choice when we come to Ames. My generation has been coming to Ames to visit our grandparents forever. We all love the campus and surrounding areas. Go Cyclones!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank timetravlr1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I was in town between business trips and came down with the flu. Becca went above and beyond to make my stay as comfortable as possible. She offered an upgrade to a suite as the carpets below my room were being done and was worried there would be too much noise. She also offered to call around town for places that offered gluten free soup. Please continue your incredible caring touches!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cowgirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We chose this hotel due to others reviews. It was a good choice for location for our visit to Iowa State University. Very convenient. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is clean. During our stay they were doing some maintenance - upgrading the hallway wall coverings. There were no issues with the work going on - other than passing them in the halls, you wouldn't know they were there working.
We didn't use the pool or the fitness room while there, though both areas looked clean and nice. The breakfast consisted of waffles and pancakes, cereal, fruit, bread, bagels, eggs (powdered kind) and ham one day, sausage the next. There was also hot oatmeal with several toppings offered. Coffee, water, orange juice and apple juice were also available. The best part of the breakfast is the amount of dining space. They have plenty of tables - which is a nice change from most hotels.
I agree with some other reviews about the thin walls. They are very thin. Could hear most everything from the neighboring room, including a sneeze.
Would consider staying at this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 249CindyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We stayed at this hotel last weekend while we we visiting our daughter. This was the 4th different hotel in Ames we have tried on visits. All where decent, but this place was tops. Wonderful location, close to campus. lobby was bright and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean , beds comfortable, and it was quiet at night. My 15 year old son likes to swim, and he said the water in the room was nice and warm. Breakfast was also top notch. A wonderful weekend, and we will be staying here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews