We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 150
USD 141
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 107
USD 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 148
USD 124
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Altoona)(Great Value!)
USD 110
USD 105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prairie Meadows Hotel(Altoona)
USD 180
USD 174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 114
USD 110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
67
71
72
43
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
71
72
43
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barpoolside roomamusement parkgreat for kidsseparate poololder kidswater slidesgame roomsdeeper poolkids poolzero entrypool area isbit datedsports bar and grillfree trolleyfun weekendafter reading the reviews
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

We really wanted to love our stay here as it is really difficult to find a fun and well-maintained indoor pool during the cold months. We were pretty impressed the first day. A staff person was monitoring the pool area including pool safety and the pool area and the hotel in general seemed very clean. Even though it was very busy, everything seemed to be well managed. Our kids had a blast swimming and we appreciated that a staff person was addressing pool safety issues. If I had left this review on the first night it would be much higher.

Night two was a different story. Similar to the night before, the pools were very busy and although a staff person was present, I don’t know what she was responsible for. There was a lot of really rough horseplay and the water was so cloudy that you couldn’t see the bottom at 3 feet deep. My kids were pretty disappointed that we cut their pool time short due to safety concerns. With teenagers thrashing/jumping around and holding each other underwater seemingly unaware of anyone else, and the pool water so cloudy that I couldn’t see my child when swimming under water, it wasn’t a safe situation. To top it off, there was trash and wet towels all around the pools for hours.

However, the greatest concern was with the water quality. We sat in the hot tub briefly before our eyes started to burn. The cloudy water, “pool smell” and eye burning are big red flags— a sign that there isn’t enough chlorine in the water. Sitting in a hot tub of others bodily fluids is just gross. That was enough for us. We really wanted to love it, but won’t be back.



Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We take pride in keeping our hotel as clean and safe as possible for our guests and will utilize your comments as needed improvement. We will forward on your safety concerns on to our maintenance and pool ref departments. We are glad you had a good first night and hope you will reconsider another stay in the future.
Bri Fors
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Came to this hotel specifically for the pools. We were holding a bday party for my daughter. We had been told we could check in at 4. We arrived to the hotel at 4:05 and when going to check in we were told that our room was not clean yet. It would be at least 30 mins. So now I have 6 girls that showed up for the sleepover portion with blankets, pillows, and bags. We also had 5 others in our party and we had NOWHERE to store our stuff. We were given wristbands and told we could swim and could use the public restrooms to change. Front desk asked for a phone number they could text when the room was ready. Well after we loaded all of ours and my daughter's friends belongings on a cart we went to the pool. We struggled to find an open table but did. The girls all changed in the restroom and started swimming. 4:50 rolls around and still no text for a room. My husband went back to the desk and we were finally assigned a room at a few mins til 5.

Things were ok from that point the girls enjoyed the food, the swimming, the arcade wad awesom. We even did a photo scavenger hunt and staff was pretty receptive of helping the girls out. The front desk lady especially.

The girls decided to swim until the pool closed at 10:30. We then walked up to our room on the second floor and we entered our room with 6 giggly and cold girls who were being somewhat loud. After not even 10 mins in the room we heard a knock on the door from an Altoona Police Officer. Was told there were wrestlers in the building that had an early Morning and we were being too loud. I am assuming he worked in the hotel or no way he could gotten A call and came within 5 mins for giggly girls. I was kind confused as to why I didn't receive a call from front desk? This was the first time I have ever been called on for noise complaint so maybe that is common practice for police to respond. Anyway I thought a simple phone call would have been fine as again we weren't in the room for 10 mins and I was working on getting them to settle down.

The room was nice and comfortable beds. I was also able to get. Rollaway and that was in good condition. However when we arrived there was also a wad of paper towel or tissue in the bathtub. Not sure what it was but it was weird. I would stay here again but would get a pool side room because that area is really noisy anyway until about 11pm.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank kmscully1680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience with us. We apologize for the time it took to assign you a clean room and will pass the comments on to our housekeeping staff. We are happy to hear that the girls enjoyed the pools and arcade. The scavenger hunt sounds like a great idea. As for the noise complaint, we will look into why the front desk did not reach out to you first before the officer addressed your room. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.
Bri Fors
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

called the hotel directly s I was having some difficulty on line. A very helpful and courteous Alexis helped me get the best deal possible. She went above and beyond and I want to say thank you. Saving money is nice but its always better to be treated like you are more than a faceless phone caller.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 838jeffereyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience with us. We appreciate your comments and will pass the job well done on to Alexis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

After reading the reviews I was a bit skeptical. After our stay I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were a bit outdated but they were very clean and comfortable. We were there with 2 young kids, an infant and a 3 year old. The pool was great for all. It was nice to have a kids pool and a separate pool for older kids and adults. Along with a hot tub. The was water was a good temperature. Another thing we really liked for our son was the toddler play room and the arcade. Both were great! The arcade was very reasonably priced! We had both a poolside room and a room in a different wing. By 10:30 the halls were very quite even though I knew the parking lot was full. Would recommend for families with kids of all ages!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. We love hearing that you and your family enjoyed the pools, arcade, toddler play area and rooms. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

The Adventureland Inn is starting to show its age and is probably due for some modernization, but the property is clean and staff pleasant and helpful (though perhaps on the young side). Obviously the hotel's main draw is being located adjacent to the Adventureland Resort (amusement park, water park, etc.) with trolley shuttle service to/from the park (we drove to/from but if you were staying multiple days this could be a good option, but may need to wait for their shuttle times). Worst case it is walkable to the park though a long walk. The other main draw is the indoor swimming pools. They have two main pool areas. One is divided into two pools, a shallow little kids play area and pool and a second more adult area pool (with a swim-up bar and hot tub), though kids are welcome on either side. The other pool area is an older kids pool with taller slides and deeper pool.

Be aware, this is a hotel for families with kids who are hyped up on all the activities and the amusement park so be prepared for running in the halls, loud laughing, talking, yelling, splashing, etc. They play music over the loudspeakers in the pool areas until, I think, 10 pm so if you have a room facing the pool don't expect to go to bed until after that time. Also be aware that the interior rooms face the pool areas and don't have exterior windows (but the ground floor rooms do have direct access to the pool areas).

When you check in they give you wrist-bands to wear that give you access to the pool area. They do have "supervisors" in each area to keep the peace (relatively speaking) though they are not necessarily full fledged life guards. They also have game rooms and a decent on-site sports bar and grill which doubles as their breakfast place in the mornings.

So if you have younger kids who love to swim and go to Adventureland this is the place for you!!

Room Tip: Ground floor interior rooms have direct pool access. Outside rooms and 2nd floor are less noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmerko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience with us. We appreciate you explaining the ins and outs of our hotel for future guests and hope to see you again soon.
Bri Fors
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews