We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 150
USD 141
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 165
USD 140
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 130
USD 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Altoona)(Great Value!)
USD 110
USD 105
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Prairie Meadows Hotel(Altoona)
USD 180
USD 174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 136
USD 115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchendownstairs roomliving roomfresh fruitnext morninggreat locationdes moinespondvineyardspropertyguestsiowa
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

A unique b & b. We stayed on our way back to Wisconsin from seeing the eclipse in Nebraska, so of course we were hours late (heavy traffic) and arrived in the dark in the rain; we'd communicated with Victoria by phone and there she was, waiting in her car with the headlights on at the end of the driveway so we wouldn't miss it. Typical of our stay – outstanding in every detail. The b & b is actually a beautifully furnished modern home with upstairs and downstairs bedroom suites (just 2 of them), built for a family member who took a job elsewhere in the US after a few years. So Victoria and her husband (they live in a different home elsewhere on the extensive property) made it into a b & b. Upstairs (entrance floor) is one bedroom suite, a beautifully equipped kitchen (guests can use it, we heated up the dinner we'd brought), dining area, and a huge combined living/dining room with big windows looking out to the woods. Downstairs, where we stayed, is a common lounge/computer area, and another bedroom suite – it is at walk-out level on the sloping property. We were the only guests on a rainy Monday night, so Victoria showed us through the upstairs room. Beds were big, fluffy furnishings, and luxuriously comfortable. Bathrooms are deluxe and large. Everything is absolutely spotless. The décor has Spanish touches throughout the house. Sleeping was great, it was absolutely quiet in the house. Victoria served a first- rate gourmet breakfast the next morning, and made an interesting and entertaining breakfast companion.

The location is surprisingly convenient for the country atmosphere: it is minutes to I-35, I-80, and US-65. They are located on an urbanizing rural road with a farm next door, but the city is expanding toward it. Across the road is a new developing office/light industry complex, and what we were told is Facebook's national data center (I assume one of them) is in it already a half mile away. So summing up, an absolutely first-rate b&b that would be our first choice without question if we're ever in the area again. Recommended without qualification.

Room Tip: Upstairs room is suite, downstairs a bit more private. Both excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SocEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

My husband and I recently stayed at Victoria's Vineyard B&B while participating in a recent Iowa Bicycle Ride. What a find! This place is simply gorgeous and so neat and clean! Everything you could possibly want/need is available for your use. We stayed in the master room and I highly recommend! Very nice size room and bathroom with a jet tub. The view from the bedroom is amazing. We saw a deer pass by one night. Take a walk in the woods to the pond with fountain. Amazing scenery and beautiful landscape that is so well maintained. The Chichaqua Valley Bicycle Trail is very close to this property so it is easy to take your bike and connect with the trail from the B&B, The outdoor, salt water hot tub was a wonderful way to end our bike riding day. Enjoy nature and the beauty that surrounds this place. Victoria is an amazing host and she cooks every breakfast from scratch served with fresh fruit, coffee, juice, etc. Amazing!! Enjoyed our conversations with Victoria as well. If you are looking for a very beautiful, clean getaway......this is your place! Don't miss it! We definitely plan on a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebandMike2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Lovely, lovely home! Carefully furnished with eye to the smallest of details. Victoria is a very warm and accommodating person; she takes pride in her b&b. Everything is nice and clean too. My husband & I had the downstairs room with en suite bathroom, good air conditioner. We had the place to ourselves (another guestroom & bath upstairs). Walked the vineyard, fields, lakes and forests on the property. We enjoyed her outdoor hot tub. Next morning, served a wonderful, Spanish style breakfast, all delicious and fresh. Unique set-up and a great find! Will definitely stay here again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank read-Janet-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Stayed at Victoria's Vineyard B&B for 4 nights following a conference in Altoona and used for our home base as we explored the region. Only 25 minutes from the Neal Smith National Wildlife Refuge and an hour from Lake Red Rock. So glad that we found this hidden gem. It is one of the nicest B&B's that we have stayed at. Our 1st floor room was good sized with private bath, impeccably clean with large picture window overlooking a small pond/wetland area. You have access to the grounds for walking and as birders, this was a nice plus. The setting provides for a quiet relaxing place to come home to after a day exploring. What puts this B&B over the top is that Victoria is so friendly and welcoming and is also an amazing chef. I am gluten sensitive and she didn't hesitate to say yes, she could do GF breakfasts. Wow! We had made from scratch gourmet GF meals that were different each day. My husband, who is not GF, raved about the GF food that included a quiche, souffle, muffins and always fresh fruit. Some places claim to do GF but this is the real deal. Simply amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

It was like staying at a friend's house who happens to be a gourmet chef. The food was better than any of the restaurants we experienced during our trip to Spain a few years ago. Victoria is a wonderful host and made us feel right at home. It was money well spent.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMFD94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews