We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It should be better!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Angola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It should be better!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

A resident of Indiana I am embarrassed by the Potawatomi Inn at Pokagon State Park. I always book rooms in the original building that is over 80 years old. It is well designed with a great deal of character. The television was a new flat screen of ample size the room was good size. The temperature control was no existent, we were advised to open the window on a 10 degree night to get relief. I expect small bathrooms in a building of that age but I also expect it to function. The shower was not usable because of wild fluctuations in pressure and temperature. The room was not completely furnished, no bedside table.
The food served was real embarrassment. The buffet food was cold and tasteless at all three meals. Tasteless is a polite word, it was bad.
We had fresh snow and everyone really had fun on the toboggan run which is refrigerated to make it more dependable. The park was beautiful every one had a great time. I only wish that they would pay attention to detail and make our holiday even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are first rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potawatomiinn, General Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns regarding the Historic Section of our Inn. We take these concerns very seriously we only wish you would have brought the displeasure with your stay to our Front Desk agent so that we would have had the opportunity to address the issues with you in person and hopefully resolved them before your departure . Unfortunately we do not know what room you were staying in so that we could address and rectify your complaints. We will however deliver your concerns to our housekeeping department so that they can do a complete check of our Historic Section to make sure that each and every room is in good working order. We do depend on our guests to let us know if something is not to their liking so that we can have the opportunity to make their stay with us a good memory. Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate that our Inn is as beautiful and pleasing as you found Pokagon State Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    111
    50
    27
    20
See reviews for
167
75
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The Potawatomi is a beautiful Inn and Resort located right on Lake James, and in the heart of Pokagon State Park. The restaurant in the inn is quite old, and I recently took my Grandma to the restaurant and she remarked that she had her senior prom in what is now the restaurant area back in the 40s. There is so much to do here, and it is such a beautiful area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyschnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
250 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Hidden away just west of interstate I-69, in northern Indiana is the Pokagon State Park. Situated near Angola, Indiana, both the park and the inn are well kept and well managed. It is Indiana’s fifth oldest state park, given its status in 1925. The park gains its name from Leopold and Simon Pokagon, a father and son team of notable leaders of the Potawatomi Native American community.

The lodge is old, but clean and neat. Rooms in the old part are small, but adequate unless you want to spend a lot of time in the room. Who would want to do that when there is a lake just outside and down the hill, and trails wind through old growth forests just feet away from the front door of the lodge. Make sure you are back in time to enjoy one of the excellent meals served in the main dinning room at the lodge, and make sure you set aside some time to relax within view of the lake.

In the summer, Pokagon is great for hiking, swimming, boating, and with nearby lakes for fishing and picturesque sunsets.

In the winter Pokagon is Indiana’s best parks for winter activities, because of the long toboggan run. It is the only one of its kind in the Indiana park system for winter sports.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestwood, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We visit the Inn annually in December for a family reunion holiday weekend and will continue to visit for many more!! The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. Staff is helpful, friendly and welcoming. We love everything it offers from the indoor pool to the game room to the food to ALL the outdoor stuff!! We have always have a wonderful time and look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omymmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I saw the review from the January traveler about bed bugs so feel I should post this because the same thing happened to us, last year. I didn't post it because...we love the Potawotami, had stayed before with no problems and figured it was an isolated occurrence. I travel frequently and always check the bed very carefully. Our room at the Potawotami looked fine at a quick glance, but with a careful search I found a bedbug in the mattress cording. No fecal stains that I saw, and only the one found, so it may have been a recent introduction. I took it to the desk and, similar to the other poster, was told this hadn't happened before. So, to the Potawotami management - your inn is wonderful and we'll stay again, but welcome to the new world of hotel travel. No place is exempt and when guests are finding bedbugs, you need to take serious action - treat the room (this does not mean just spray a little bugspray around; that won't help), enclose or discard the mattress, treat the adjacent rooms, have them inspected by an expert, get rid of the bedskirts dragging on the floor (they may look nice but they're not helping you here). It's otherwise an amazing inn, beautiful location, great restaurant and helpful staff and we look forward to staying again, hopefully minus the extra guests!

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
18 Thank traveler22260878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angola
1.8 km away
Ramada Angola/Fremont Area
3.5 km away
Quality Inn hotel in Fremont
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Kendalville
38.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn
26.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Coldwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center

Property: Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center
Address: 6 LN 100A Lake James, Angola, IN 46703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Angola
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Price range (per night): $78 - $198
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center is located in beautiful Pokagon State Park, on the shores of pristine Lake James, one of Indiana's largest lakes. Visitors will enjoy acres of outdoor recreational opportunities and all modern amenities. A historic structure, the Inn opened to the public in 1927. Many renovations and additions have added the modern conveniences that today's guests expect while preserving the historic importance of the Inn. The Inn features two restaurants. The Historic Dining Room is housed in the original historic section of the Inn and features a full menu and buffet service certain nights along with a bountiful Sunday Brunch. The Courtyard Cafe is a seasonal outlet that features quick service foods, our fresh baked pizza and ice cream. Guests can enjoy any one of the Inns many amenities including our craft room, where kids of all ages can create souvenirs to take home with them. Or if you are looking for a quiet place to read or do a puzzle in front of the fireplace, you can try the library or the Lonidow Lounge. Of course, the most popular amenity is the 1,600 acre Pokagon State Park with its miles of hiking and biking trails and not one, but two beaches. And don't think that we go dormant in the winter, from Thanksgiving weekend through the end of February the weekends come alive with the opening of the Toboggan Run which features two quarter mile refrigerated toboggan tracks that can reach speeds of 35 to 40 miles per hour! Come enjoy the Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, Indiana's year round playground! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Potawatomi Inn Hotel Angola
Potawatomi Hotel Angola
Potawatomi Resort Angola
Potawatomi Inn Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing