We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Always a Pleasant Stay"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Angola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Certificate of Excellence
Crestwood, Illinois
1 review
“"Always a Pleasant Stay"”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We visit the Inn annually in December for a family reunion holiday weekend and will continue to visit for many more!! The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. Staff is helpful, friendly and welcoming. We love everything it offers from the indoor pool to the game room to the food to ALL the outdoor stuff!! We have always have a wonderful time and look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omymmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    120
    52
    30
    21
See reviews for
178
80
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I saw the review from the January traveler about bed bugs so feel I should post this because the same thing happened to us, last year. I didn't post it because...we love the Potawotami, had stayed before with no problems and figured it was an isolated occurrence. I travel frequently and always check the bed very carefully. Our room at the Potawotami looked fine at a quick glance, but with a careful search I found a bedbug in the mattress cording. No fecal stains that I saw, and only the one found, so it may have been a recent introduction. I took it to the desk and, similar to the other poster, was told this hadn't happened before. So, to the Potawotami management - your inn is wonderful and we'll stay again, but welcome to the new world of hotel travel. No place is exempt and when guests are finding bedbugs, you need to take serious action - treat the room (this does not mean just spray a little bugspray around; that won't help), enclose or discard the mattress, treat the adjacent rooms, have them inspected by an expert, get rid of the bedskirts dragging on the floor (they may look nice but they're not helping you here). It's otherwise an amazing inn, beautiful location, great restaurant and helpful staff and we look forward to staying again, hopefully minus the extra guests!

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
18 Thank traveler22260878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband reserved a room at the Inn for a birthday getaway. Being a health inspector, I check any room we reserve for signs of bed bugs before bringing luggage into the room. I was shocked when I found a live bed bug on the floor trim behind the bed. I collected it and brought it to the front desk. They were unaware of any issues with bed bugs and offered my husband and I another room. We checked the other room out, and I saw what appeared to be bed bug fecal stains on the underside of the box spring. We got a refund and left very disappointed but thankful at the same time!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Amber Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potawatomiinn, General Manager at Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
If you have questions regarding the Potawatomi Inn procedures in dealing with bedbugs please contact us. We take this EXTREMLY serious and monitor and inspect every room and deal aggressively and forcefully with any report or indication of bedbugs to make sure our guests rest easy. Please contact us if you have any questions.

Barry Barenfanger
General Manager


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Potawatomi Inn and we loved it! Our daughter and son-in-law stayed in a Historic double room at the Inn, we stayed with 2 grandkids in a Historic cabin with 2 double beds. The room and cabin is very small, very old, in need of repairs and updating. But our intention was to stay and spend time on the tobaggan ride and we got our money's worth for that! It was great! Food at the Inn was okay. Breakfast was really good, dinner just okay. Service was great.
We will return again during Christmas break but will stay at the bigger rooms in the Inn. Reservations go fast, (I found out the hard way) so I've already booked for 2013.
We had a lot of fun on the toboggan and swimming ( they need more chairs around the pool area, there was only about 10). The views around the Inn were amazing. It was nice to sit and read and play board games with the family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmg0g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARION
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

II am a twice a year visitor to this state park inn. I usually stay in the historic (meaning old) section or in one of the historic cabin rooms located a short distance from the inn itself. I enjoy Indiana's unique state park inns, but one needs to know what they are to avoid being disappointed. They are not for everyone. They are located within state parks, so there will be an entry fee (paid once) during the spring/summer/fall season. The inns are not located with entry on main highways. Most are older buildings with interesting histories and they all have thier own unique character. The Potawatomi Inn does have a newer section. There is a TV in each room, including the cabin rooms. My Verizon cellphone now works in both the inn and the cabins.This was not always the case. There is wireless internet service in the inn, but not in the cabins. I have always had good food in the historic dining room and particularly enjoy their Sunday buffets and have made a tradition of the Christmas buffet. There is also a cafe which is open limited hours on weekends. There is a nice indoor pool with a spa and sauna. The inn is located within Pokagon State Park, with two beaches on Lake James, a nature center, and hiking trails. An interesting featuure of this park is the Toboggan Slide, which runs mostly weekends from Thanksgiving through the Winter months. It runs on a frozen track, so does not need snow to operate. A bumpy ride for the adventurous.

Room Tip: Know what you want and choose a room accordingly. Rooms in the newer section are larger and some hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PJIMARION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angola
1.8 km away
Ramada Angola/Fremont Area
3.5 km away
Quality Inn hotel in Fremont
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn
38.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 7 in Auburn
160 reviews
33.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Kendalville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center

Property: Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center
Address: 6 Lane 100a Lake James, Angola, IN 46703-9591
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Angola
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Angola
Price range (per night): $74 - $188
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center is located in beautiful Pokagon State Park, on the shores of pristine Lake James, one of Indiana's largest lakes. Visitors will enjoy acres of outdoor recreational opportunities and all modern amenities. A historic structure, the Inn opened to the public in 1927. Many renovations and additions have added the modern conveniences that today's guests expect while preserving the historic importance of the Inn. The Inn features two restaurants. The Historic Dining Room is housed in the original historic section of the Inn and features a full menu and buffet service certain nights along with a bountiful Sunday Brunch. The Courtyard Cafe is a seasonal outlet that features quick service foods, our fresh baked pizza and ice cream. Guests can enjoy any one of the Inns many amenities including our craft room, where kids of all ages can create souvenirs to take home with them. Or if you are looking for a quiet place to read or do a puzzle in front of the fireplace, you can try the library or the Lonidow Lounge. Of course, the most popular amenity is the 1,600 acre Pokagon State Park with its miles of hiking and biking trails and not one, but two beaches. And don't think that we go dormant in the winter, from Thanksgiving weekend through the end of February the weekends come alive with the opening of the Toboggan Run which features two quarter mile refrigerated toboggan tracks that can reach speeds of 35 to 40 miles per hour! Come enjoy the Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center, Indiana's year round playground! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Potawatomi Inn Hotel Angola
Potawatomi Hotel Angola
Potawatomi Resort Angola
Potawatomi Inn Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing