We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated but overall nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Checked in on December 31st. The resort is extremely dated in the common areas and overall maintenance is not up to date. For example a cracked mirror on the garage level near the elevator that obivously has been that way for quite sometime. Our suite on the 12th floor was nice although it took the water easily five minutes to warm up. The staff was great and helpful. Our concierge was very knowledgeable and helped us quite a bit. We do wish the hot tub/spa was larger (could only hold about 10 adults) Also, children were allowed to be in it which also limited the capacity for other adults. We would stay again. Don't let the timeshare sales people BS you. Our rep tried to sell us a weeks worth of points for $46,000.00 and once we weren't interested reduced the price to $30,000.00. She was PO that we wouldn't buy anything and insisted on being out in the agreed to time of 50 minutes. She was very ticked that I started my stopwatch as soon as she greeted us. Don't buy at this resort. She said it was a $600 a night property but I just ran a quote using trip advisor for $1800 for a week with delux oceanview. You can stay here by paying a nightly rate without buying timeshare and without maintenance fees going up year after year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LandMinDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

883 - 887 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

This was our second stay at Kaanapali Beach Club, and we couldn't have been more satisfied. The staff is welcoming and friendly, and while it's not the Ritz Carlton, (it's more Embassy Suites) the location is what will bring us back over and over again.

First, not only are you easy walking distance to coffee - Java Jazz across the street, and Bad A** (rhymes with lass) coffee down the street - but a short walk down the Beach brings you to Duke's Beach Club for Breakfast, Lunch, Happy Hour, or Dinner, and there is also a Grocery Store close enough to walk to.

It's an easy 5 minute drive into Lahaina, and the INCREDIBLE beaches of Kapalua are about 10 minutes north. It's about a 40 minute drive from the Airport in Kahului (which is beautiful once you hit the coast). Overall, a very good jumping off place to see and tour the island.

On to the resort itself. The beachy/ sandy part of the resort is fine, but once you get into the water there is moderate reef so water shoes could be advisable. (We never bring any, and just look for the sandy bits). They have lounge chairs, and a towel service, and you can sign up for stand-up paddling classes close by.

There is a Gym at the resort and a lovely pool (with ample space for sunning, and also abundant lounge chairs), and there is a different musician nightly that plays in the lounge area. There are also Laundry facilities, a miniature golf course (it's not the best) and a parking garage, a place to get pizza, and even a few outdoor movie nights by the pool (with popcorn, of course!). That was cool.

The resort is well maintained, clean, and landscaped beautifully with several Koi ponds. The rooms are comfortable, clean, spacious (very surprised by the space actually) and the beds are comfortable, bathrooms spacious (great towels), and the kitchen area, while small, is perfect for a week away. Only downside is no cooktop, but there is a microwave, and the market across the street has a deli section with roasted chicken and all that... You can also rent movies there as well (the grocery store is called Times).

Seriously, no complaints here. Will gladly return. Mahalo Kaanapali Beach Club!

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank F00die67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Ka'anapali Beach Club Jan. 18th - 25th, 2012. The friend we went with is a time share owner with Diamond Resorts so we got cheaper pricing if we sat through their 120 minute presentation.

The good...Everyone at the hotel was VERY friendly and nice and always willing to help out. Our suite was really nice and big. The pool is really big and nice and great beach access. The property is well manicured with several water falls, koi ponds, picnic areas with grills. Our $15.00 per day parking fee was waived :o) and they didn't even charge us the lost room key fee of $25.00 when my husband misplaced his key card. The location is really great with a little grocery store and breakfast joint (Java Jazz and Soup Nutz) within walking distance. There is lots of great shopping just a few miles down the road at Whalers Village, Cannery Mall or in Lahaina. Lastly...I was worried the time share presentation was going to be high pressure but it really wasn't to bad.

The bad...our shower did have a good amount of black mold around the bottom. Our "Scenic View accommodation" was of the road and if the wind was blowing down from the mountain you could smell the sulphur smell from the water treatment plant down the road :o( however, we really didn't spend much time in our room. The breakfast buffet was a bit overpriced at $15.00 per person for an average buffet. We only did that one day then started going to Java Jazz accross the street. It is still around $15.00 per person but worth every penny! This next compaint is petty but I wish the ping pong table was out in the open but instead it is locked in the activity center which closes at 8pm but that is just me :o)

Over all we really enjoyed staying at the Ka'anapalie Beach Club and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tricklic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed at the Ka'anapali Beach Club in November 2011, we had an excellent holiday. The rooms are well maintained, clean and have plenty of space. We booked a partial sea view and were not disappointed, the location of our room was excellent we woke up every morning to the sun and sea outside of our balcony. Gym within the hotel was good, and very clean, my husband and I used it several times, pools and hot tub good too, although the hot tub is a little small. The grounds are well maintained. Breakfast buffet is available at a small cost and was value for money, we used this facility at least 7 times within our two week stay. The reception and Diamond staff are great at their jobs, we booked several trips and nothing was a problem to them. I hope that we get to visit this hotel again as coming from the UK, it is a long travel but well worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank family086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Very nice suite, if you have every stayed at an Embassy Suites, that is what you get. Nice pool, beach is just a few feet away from the pool. The room was clean & plenty large enough. Will stay here again.
We did stay here on a Diamond sampler package, our cost for the week was $995, no charge for parking.

Room Tip: Delux ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soonertravaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maui hotels
0.2 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,584 reviews
1.6 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.7 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.9 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.4 km away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761-9419
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#19 Spa Hotel in Maui
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price Range: $337 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking panorama awaits you at Ka'anapali Beach Club, a haven of a resort in a land that has perfected beauty. Located on Maui's western shore, Ka'anapali Beach Club promises to be one of the highlights of your chance of a lifetime getaway to Hawaii. If you're going to do Hawaii, you should do it right. By planning your stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club, you are creating the vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing