We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
8
10
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
10
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood burning stove basic hotel water pressure in the shower these cabins pots and pans per night two nights living room area rustic cabin kalalau valley blankets provided high elevation bring a flashlight nice stay koke'e state park coffee maker the kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

I totally agree with the Paulene T rating. We expected basic accommodation, but we found dirt, mold, neglected maintenance with equipment beyond the lifetime. It was a neglected cottage, no investment - duplex OLO PUA. To live in one night would be a health hazard. We turned in the door and looked for other accommodation. There are more properties. However, if you want to stay in one of them, make sure the photos are the right property. Our cottage was not taken on the booking portal, there were photos only of those that look better.
It is true that cottages are right in the Kokee park, but other negatives totally outweigh this advantage. Waimea is only 20 minutes...
You will need a good rest after the hike. You will also want to dry your clothes and shoes and wash in warm water when you come back from all day hiking.
 This property does not fulfill any of this.

Room tip: stay somewhere else
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ivana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

My spouse, grown son, and I stayed at a cabin for three nights. The cabins are in a great location - walking distance to Koke'e Lodge and the Museum and close to great hiking on Kauai. The cabins have not been updated in a long time and are not in great shape. The knobs on the stove were kind of melted, most of the cabinets were painted shut, and the wall, doors, and ceiling were dirty. But the bathroom was really clean, the beds were clean and comfortable, the water as really hot, and everything worked. We bought 2 big bags of firewood for $14/each and the wood stove warmed the cabin nicely (it can get pretty cool up there). I recommend the cabins for hikers, birdwatchers, photographers, and other adventurous people who don't need luxurious accommodations. It was great for us - we could cook meals and sit in a warm cabin at the end of long hiking day and play cards.

Room tip: We were in a duplex cabin - getting a stand-alone cabin would be quieter.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idria50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We stayed in one of these cabins years ago when they were $49 per night, if I recall correctly, and they were fine, for us. We're Alaskans and are used to staying in U.S. Forest Service cabins on backcountry trails where we pay $35-45 for a cabin with four walls, a roof, wooden bunks, counter tops, a wood stove and outhouse. So for a few bucks more, getting electricity and running water was a real treat for us. When we looked on the cabins this year, we saw that the price had gone up, but from the pictures shown, it looked like they had been upgraded and made a lot nicer. However, the photos shown in no way reflect what we found. The place hadn't seen a paintbrush or thorough cleaning in quite a while. However, for us, it was okay, just a bit of a letdown after seeing the photos. The location is great, you can cook all your own food, (no dinners at the park cafe), and it's a nice getaway from traffic and easy access to lots of hiking trails. And beware of the pricing- it says $79 per night, but with taxes and fees, and a mandatory $45 cleaning fee, a 2-night stay will run you about $240.

Room tip: These photos taken at the Hala duplex cabin, ymmv
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank Alaskatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We stayed at one of the Kokee cabins for 2 nights. The cabin was rustic and clean. There were towels, soap and shampoo provided as well as bedding. The kitchen included a stove, fridge, microwave with complementary coffee. The wood stove that is used to heat the cabin was not in good shape and created a very smoky cabin until it finally started burning. Comfort would be improved considerably by replacing pillows and mattresses. Also it was chilly and extra blankets would be good. We did enjoy our time in the park and had some nice hikes. The cabins are well located for enjoying the park.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Hallerans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

I booked through Air B&B one of the Cedar cabins at Kokee State Park, one purporting to be managed by 'Patrick'. It was dire! DO NOT GO THERE unless you are looking to pay $150 plus for a barely maintained and poorly equipped cabin of questionable cleanliness disguised as a woodsy experience. The pictures on the site aaae wholly inaccurate. They show a light-filled cedar lined room with cream-coloured furnishings and a ukelele decoration creating a 'rustic' quaint feel. The reality couldn't be more different. The floors are scuffed beyond belief, the decoration and window sills are dirty, one of the curtain rails fell on my daughter as she was in bed. The shower was very unniviting, The lighting is poor and there is a dank feel about the place. I coughed all night, as I inhaled the old, dark grey blanket on the bed. (Someone who used to clean there said there was mould and damp issues in the cabins) I ended up leaving a day early as the place gave me the creeps. I've stayed in many cabins in various woods, and none were as neglected as this. One wine glass for four people, four spoons (two of which were teaspoons). Plus Waimea is only 30 mins drive - you might as well stay somewhere decent and save this $100 plus cleaning cost $59, plus the cost of wood $12 - all adding up to quite a bit of money for a seriously unpleasant place. Stay away!

Room tip: DON'T BOOK THIS PLACE!! Stay in nearby Waimea - only 30 mins away with more accommodation options of far better value.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews