We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden away delightful restaurant”
Review of La Maison on Telfair - CLOSED

La Maison on Telfair
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: La Maison is closed for business as of October 1, 2015.
Reviewed 22 March 2015

We visited for a friends anniversary . It is a more formal restaurant with impeccable service . The frogs legs were so good I will make a meal of them next time . The sole Veronique was classic and delicious . Crème brulee was perfect . A must repeat place

Thank sallybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison E, Manager at La Maison on Telfair, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Sallybird,

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to see you enjoy the froglegs as much as we do :) We appreciate your business and compliments. Please join us again very soon.

Thank you!

La Maison on Telfair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2015 via mobile

My wife and I have enjoyed the company of both Chef Heinz and his lovely wife, and the wonderful bartender there many evenings. Not only is the food very excellent, but in a town in which you can rarely find anything worth eating, this place is a shining star of what should be a restaurant in Augusta. if you want fast food, you have plenty of options, and if you want some type of chain restaurant, you can also find plenty of that. If you want fine food, fine wine, a wonderful quiet atmosphere in which you can actually hear yourself think, please come and join us at this wonderful restaurant! Love you guys and hope to see you again soon

Thank nilda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison E, Manager at La Maison on Telfair, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Nilda S,

We thank you for your loyal support and comments on TripAdvisor. We value your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you!

La Maison on Telfair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Zero stars!!!!!!
If you attack the world with a healthy dose of reality, avoid this restaurant. Avoid this restaurant if you expect to be treated fairly. Avoid this restaurant if you read the menu provided for you and accept its prices as listed without expecting any hidden costs. I went with a party of 8 to their wine tasting dinner. The food was great. The customer service we received from the owner was simply unacceptable. She told us she was not going to get in a shouting match with us. She was the only one shouting. She was arrogant and rude and had no interest in listening to our grievance. The issue was over the pricing of the wine. The menu we were provided listed the wine at 23.50 a bottle, but when the bill came we were charged 48.00 a bottle. When we asked to speak to the owner she told us the 23.50 was the retail price and we were being charged the on premises price. Nowhere on the menu was this listed or explained. She refused to adjust the price. The restaurant is currently for sale and i think the owner is looking for every last dime before she cuts her losses and runs. The building is in very poor shape and will cost hundreds of thousands of dollars to renovate. It is in a really poor location but we are willing to venture down there as long as Chef Heinz Is cooking. His food is amazing, but nothing can overcome the poor ownership and lack of atmosphere this restaurant provides. It is basically an old house that has never been remodeled with filthy carpet and horrible decor. If you are ever in Augusta for the Master's Golf Tournament, do yourself a favor and avoid this place like the plague. The atmosphere sucks and the owner cares more about money than providing a quality dining experience. I have never had someone in the service industry be so rude with me and my guests. Zero star service outweighs 5 start food any day. Sorry Chef Heinz, the owner of your restaurant cannot be reasoned with. Avoid this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank chipkirksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison E, Manager at La Maison on Telfair, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Chipkirksey,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us for the Wine Dinner. We appreciate your business and the compliments you paid to our Chef. We apologize for the confusion about price for wine bottles, which are sold at retail prices to take away from the premises during the Wine Dinners. As is customary at all restaurants, bottles consumed inside the restaurant are charged at a higher rate than retail prices. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Thank you,

La Maison on Telfair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

The very best food, wine pairing, service and atmosphere. After traveling all over Europe and many US states, this is a top notch restaurant to spend your hard earned dollars, totally worth the experience. A very classy restaurant with a great chef, knowledgeable wine sommelier, every person who is a foodie and who likes wine should experience La Maison. Our friends and us would not miss reserving a table for the wine pairing when we are notified of the date it is taking place. Try it, you will love it!

1  Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison E, Manager at La Maison on Telfair, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Lydia H,

Thank you for your warm compliments! We are pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us. Please join us for our next Wine Pairing Dinner or anytime you are in mood for fine wine, food and company :)

Thank you!

La Maison on Telfair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015

One of the very finest restaurants I have ever eaten in. The food is over the top and the service was GREAT. Will go back there anytime I am in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison E, Manager at La Maison on Telfair, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Bill L,

Thank you for choosing La Maison on Telfair and for sharing your compliments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your business and support. We hope you will return next time you are in Augusta.

Thank you!

La Maison on Telfair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Maison on Telfair also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing