We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Athens GA”

Athens Welcome Center
Ranked #9 of 40 things to do in Athens
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Jeff Clarke was our tour guide and he did an awesome job. He was very knowledgeable of the area and made the whole experience worth it. He kept you interested in learning about history and the area. Even my 14 year old daughter enjoyed it. Thank you!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Momofone0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rocking chairs"
in 2 reviews
"heritage tour"
in 2 reviews
"back porch"
in 2 reviews
"visitor center"
in 3 reviews
"information"
in 9 reviews
"church"
in 4 reviews
"neighborhoods"
in 2 reviews
"sparsely"
in 3 reviews
"circa"
in 2 reviews
"clarke"
in 2 reviews
"architecture"
in 2 reviews
"georgia"
in 3 reviews
"campus"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2018

Free admission. It is a beautiful example of architecture, but it's VERY sparsely decorated. Took about 15 minutes to walk through. I really appreciated their collection of local brochures and that they offer tours, although I didn't end up taking one.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

went in for some maps the little girl that works in there is in a period dress she is very friendly and very knowledgable about the whole area placed things on the maps for us told us all the places to visit and where to eat and drink around town

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Blackcat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Stop by here to get help on getting around the city of Athens. Parking right beside the location and restrooms if needed.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank S1849DHmichaelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthensWelcomeCenter, Manager at Athens Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

So glad that you stopped by and that we could be of service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Had a bit of trouble finding it but they did have a lot of good information. There is parking but it was a bit of a walk.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank 106DavidW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthensWelcomeCenter, Manager at Athens Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you for stopping by. I am so glad we had the information you needed. I am so sorry that you had trouble finding us and had to walk a bit to get here. To help other readers, we are located on Dougherty Street at the corner of Thomas, with our onsite parking lot accessed from the Thomas Street side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Athens Welcome Center also viewed

 

Been to Athens Welcome Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing