We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky, friendly, and fun!”
Review of Gran Hotel Sula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Sula
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“quirky, friendly, and fun!”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We live in Honduras and needed to be in San Pedro early morning so decided to try the Gran Hotel Sula. The location right on the park was wonderful, we finally got the chance to explore downtown. The staff was friendly and the restaurant staff at the diner were exceptional- I must have gone down there a dozen times for small purchases or requests and they always complied and were friendly and accommodating. Not behavior I'm used to in Honduras!

The hotel is old, not renovated and full of quirks. I got sprayed in the face as I turned on the shower and couldn't move the nozzle. One of the elevators was making a frightful noise, and the balcony furniture left much to be desired. But the quirks add to the charm and I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel.

Beds were comfortable, wireless worked perfectly, breakfast was included, great TV channels, nice pool. Our biggest complaint is the across the street parking, though our car was fune.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    59
    40
    13
    11
See reviews for
11
31
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Not that you want to spend much time in SPS, this hotel is a great location, and the roooms are classic downtown Centro America types from the 60-70's. Well appointed, had a HD TV, and nice mattresses. The pool and cafe is really pretty, and the bar is typical expat kind of place. Lost of Hondurans were here, there was a wedding on the Sat night I was here, so a fun gaggle of guest dressed to nines. The plaza across street is fun in daylight, and the sunday market off the plaza near the RR Tracks is typical and authentic local shopping and supplies. cant go wrong, its the place to stay in SPS.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
224 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This Hotel is favored as the staging point by American fundamentalist Protestant Church people entering this country to do whatever it is they do here. If that doesn't sound like what you want to be in the midst of, go a few blocks up the street to the Crowne. Anyhow, the Gran entered service in 1968 and has been patched together ever since. Even without having gone through a renovation, it's held up pretty well. Rooms fronting the street are noisy, but the old York built-in air conditioners muffle it pretty well. Internet, TV, bed comfort all pretty decent here for a night or two. Not much to see or do in walking distance in this part of town. Visitors permitted, although after 8 pm there's a ten-dollar charge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliff, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Although the rooms are a bit dated, they are kept very clean and I have "always" found the staff to be friendly, professional and helpful. My last stay in March of this year, was for 10 days and as always was treated with the greatest respect and if there was a concern it was handled immediately. The hotel has security that is always posted at the front door and is always watching out for its guests. The rooms have new mounted flat screen TV's, radios, new beds,safes, in room coffee makers and comfortable balconies that are great to sit on and have an early morning cup of coffee as you watch the beauty ot the sunrise over the mountains. Since my last visit, they have had to limit the time on the computer, but if you speak with them prior to getting on the computer, they will just charge you (minimal fee,pennies in our monetary denomination) for time beyond the 15 minute limit. I found the room to be quiet with no imposing noise from other rooms, as I am a light sleeper and would have found that a major problem. They have a cafe that is open 24 hours, so if you miss dinner or just want a late night snack, you have that convenience. I may be returning to Honduras later this year and intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: Be specific about the view and the bed size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoys_her_rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We have stayed here many times and the staff always goes out of their way to make us comfortable. From the desk staff, to the doorman and the restaurant staff, they are all professional. The rooms are dated but comfortable. Rooms include complementary coffee, flat screen TV and WIFI internet coverage that was spotty this time. The food is good and safe to eat. The gym has a good treadmill, weights and an older bike and stairmaster. We will definitely return as this hotel has earned our loyalty.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumbonav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Su...
#7 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
99 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#2 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
510 reviews
2.0 km away
Guacamaya Inn B&B
Guacamaya Inn B&B
#5 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
#13 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
51 reviews
4.9 km away
Metrotel Express
Metrotel Express
#10 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
129 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
#3 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Sula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Sula

Property: Gran Hotel Sula
Address: Calle Este 1 | entre 3 y 4 Avenidas, San Pedro Sula CT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price range (per night): $93 - $188
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Hotel Sula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Sula is located in the heart of the city of San Pedro Sula, Honduras. We offer comfortable and clean rooms with all the amenities guests looking for your business or leisure to the industrial city of Honduras. .You will find for your convenience: refreshing pool, bakery, Café Skandia, Bar Oro Verde, souvenir shop, bank, gym, dental clinic, medical service delivery, prayer center, parking and frequent stay program. Our 35 years of experience guarantee total satisfaction! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Sula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Pedro Sula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing