We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Amazing”
the coral house on treasure beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the coral house on treasure beach
living room with french doors opening onto the veranda comfortable veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
the coral house on treasure beach
living room with french doors opening onto the veranda
comfortable veranda
fully equipped kitchen
morning coffee view
view from the veranda dinning table
the view from the overwater deck
lots of french doors
a comfy spot for a siesta
the coral house and our coral reef
the coral house at night
a shady spot
tropical flora
one of the neighbors
overwater sunbathing/star gazing deck
veranda
just a few steps from the veranda to your beach
snorkeling our house reef
aahhhhhh
coral house exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Utila, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ang123634
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I will be honest, We were a little apprehensive about travelling to Honduras. All of our apprehension was completely dissolved as we boarded a ferry in La Ceiba and travelled to our final destination in Utila....The Coral House. We were greeted by the property Managers Dave and Trish. They are far more than Property managers, they are Concierges, translators, caretakers ... and just amazing. We had a small health Crisis (not related to the trip) and they helped us every step of the way. They went above and far beyond. I cant imagine better people to have had as our contact. Warm, Friendly and a tremendous giving Spirit.

The House... OH MY GOSH. We were craving a beautiful, somewhat secluded , private vacation spot for our anniversary and that is EXACTLY what we got. We were able to pick and choose all the activity we wanted but for us we wanted very little. The property is exactly as described but way more beautiful. We had peace and quiet . We met some wonderful people while we were there. Ronald.. our water Taxi guy and connection to the most delicious fish ( Rock Fish) delivered right to us. Ronald is very gentle in his boatmanship and just a warm and wonderful person. His Brother and Sister in law made us a meal (take out style )and delivered it right to the house.. Super delicious.

Don't hesitate in booking here... If you are looking for a Safe, Tranquil Holiday in an absolutely Breathtaking environment.. THIS IS IT ! Thank you Dave, Trish and Ronald for helping us make our Anniversary Super Special. Hope to be back again SOON :)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karasemml...
Fort Pierre, South Dakota
2 reviews
“Magical!”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had a magical Christmas week at the Coral House! The home and the island truly were everything (and more!) than we expected. The property managers are fabulous. They went above and beyond to help facilitate a wonder vacation.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2018
thank you for the kind review, we're so glad to had a "magical christmas", that really warms our hearts. we hope to see you again at treasure beach in the not too distant future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iroamthis...
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, peaceful, and remote, the Coral House at Treasure Beach is the perfect place to get away from it all.”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My husband and I decided to do a quick little get away to disconnect with the world and recharge; we couldn't have found a more perfect place to do it than the Coral House.

After a long journey from California, we were met at the airport by Dave, the property manager, who made us feel immediately welcome with his warm hello and genuine smile. After a short trip from the airport through town, we jumped into a waiting dinghy and were whisked across the ocean to the remote Treasure Beach.

Let me tell you: Treasure Beach is exactly that. A treasure. The view is absolutely breathtaking, the water was warm and clear, and the house reef is full of life just waiting to be snorkeled with. At night the sky was full of stars and the milky way, the water was a firework show as the little fish spawned and bioluminesced below.

The Coral House itself is an adorable Caribbean style beach house with stairs that lead straight to the beach and that are only a few strides from the water. The decor is fresh, comfy, and beach modern. The kitchen has everything you need - especially since Dave and Trish (his lovely wife) do all the shopping prior to arrival.

Treasure Beach and the house are so private and remote. It was all peace and quiet - they don't even offer TV or Internet. Aside from the occasional local who strode across the beach and waved a friendly hello, we didn't really see anyone - unless we wanted to. Then all we needed to do was call Dave and Trish.

Dave and Trish were so much fun to talk to, we really enjoyed spending time with them. They arranged any trips we wanted to take into town and recommended a few places to hang out for food and/or drinks and Internet (if needed) if there was a day we didn't want to cook for ourselves. But, frankly, we were enjoying being on our own so much, we didn't really want to leave the beach to do anything but dive.

We went diving with a great little dive shop called Utila Cayes Diving located on a little caye just a stones throw away from the beach - they picked us up at our dock! Bogden and Mike were great to dive with. The water was super clear, the reef was alive with fish (BIG!), and the lion fish hunting was pretty cool to watch. The best was being able to play with the nurse sharks that are found in the marine reserve on the north side of the island.

With all the diving, eating, sunning, and reading the week went by way too quickly and we never missed TV or internet once.

We plan to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote beauty and ability to leave the world behind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
many thanks for the kind words, we look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gary h
Millstadt, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Destination”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was my first VBRO trip. Everything turned out wonderful. I was a little skeptical about the photos of the site. However, everything is even more beautiful in person. The reef was amazing. Snorkeled every day and seen many varieties of marine life and coral. The house had newer ac units. They worked great. The only thing that we didn't really care for was the power consumption meter. I've never gone on vacation where you have to pay this close attention to not running out of power. It was very hot there in the afternoons so you have to run the AC. The property managers Dave and Trish were very nice. They took us to town one day and we stopped at the keys on the way back to pick up some fish to grill. They left us a cell phone if we had any issues. Took a water taxi to Neptunes for lunch one day. Recommend this if you go. I really enjoyed reading in the morning with a cup of coffee. So relaxing. The stars at night are incredible too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we're so happy you enjoyed your stay.
please come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Duluth, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING, SNORKLE HEAVEN, A FEW CAVEATS”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at the Coral House Feb. 24 - Mar. 4, 2016 for a belated 25th wedding anniversary trip. Highly anticipated, it lived up to most of our expectations, surpassed a few, & held just a few disappointments that were more a result of our ignorance than any deficiency with the property. Let's start with the things that had us gasping in amazement.
The water & reef! We've been to Grand Cayman, Akumal, Mexico & even Roatan but the waters & reef just outside the Coral House are mind-blowing! Crystal clear aquamarine color & incredible coral reefs. We went diving twice with Utila Cay Diving which was great, but honestly, we saw more marine life right outside our door. We were able to swim with eagle rays, southern Rays, queen and French Angels, lion fish, porcupine puffers, trunkfish, jackknife, barracuda, squirrel fish, damselfish, reef butterfly fish, and more. If you are a snorkeler you will be in paradise in the water
The house itself - very spacious, expansive master shower, nice day beds to loll on on the porch, a great hammock under the palm trees. We had no issues with the AC units, being able to leave them off while we were out snorkeling & just the windows open. We were very comfortable at night. Trish & Dave are wonderful property managers, quick to respond to anything.
We ate at only two local establishments - Buccaneers on Utila & Neptunes there u the beach from the house. Buccaneers was good, icy cold Port Royal beer $2!!! Neptunes had better food - fish tacos were great & the hush puppies with some kind of honey dip out of this world! A word to the wise - if it has been raining AT ALL in the recent past do not attempt to walk to Neptunes via the jungle road that runs behind the house. It is a sloggy, miry, mud hole of a mess! We managed 45 min of plodding through mud & stinky water before finding a cut through to the beach & walking it the rest of the way. Another caveat, if y take the beach route there is a house with mean dogs & the people living there don't seem much inclined to let you know if they will bite or not!
As to the "cons", as mentioned, take these with a grain of salt. If you are more well traveled you will probably think, "Well, duh! You should've expected that!" We'd just like to relate this more for others like us who may not know what to expect, & too, there may be a tip or two the owners might want to give attention to to make the stay even better for their guests.
The kitchen could be a bit better equipped; there were no bowls to use for storage, so be sure you add sandwich bags or something like that to your provisioning list if like us you plan to cook most of your own meals. We had a little trouble with the freezer freezing ice the last couple days. There is a washing machine & nice clothes lines on the porch but not enough clothes pins to go round ( especially when you are using a couple to hold bags closed for refrigerated food). The house seemed pretty clean but there were a couple of things that seemed to have been overlooked - cobwebs up in the ceilings in a few places, & the master shower grout looked mildewed towards the bottom. A good bleaching might get rid of that. The beds are very firm, which we don't mind, but if you are particular about your sleeping pillow bring your own.
We weren't bothered by sand flies or bugs the first few days but on the fourth evening while out on the upper deck of the dock they were voracious! We heard baby oil helps keep them away & since we got home lavender oil has helped ease the itching a lot, but definitely take something with you for prevention & itching!
The thing we were most disappointed in was the lack of advice or forewarn we received for our boat trip back to Utila for the island hopper for our return flight. It was raining some & the waters were very choppy, & the boat had no covering. It's seats were already wet, & we had dressed in the warmest clothes we packed, anticipating chilly weather back home. Our suitcases were placed in the storage area at the front of the boat ( though the big suitcase was only partially in ) & we were told we could hold a heavy plastic tarp over ourselves. We could tell the captain was doing his best to mitigate the effect of the waves, going, slowly, but still we were soon soaked through. The tarp was heavy & agonizing to hold up for a 20 min or so ride, & had numerous large holes, so the water from the waves spraying us not only ran down our backs but funneled in streams through the holes. We had a leather camera back with very expensive equipment in it that was soaked. By the time we arrived in Utila were were completely soaked as was the camera bag & the large suitcase. ( We'd also picked up another couple & they were equally wet & told us they also had a bag with their camera in it that was soaked.)
We aren't unreasonable enough to expect control of the weather or waves or even to demand a boat with a covered area. What would have been nice was a " looking out" for us, a questioning of whether we had anything that could be damaged by wetness, an offer of rain slickers, or even a suggestion of plastic bags for anything needing to stay dry.
All in all, we had a remarkable visit, with many good & incredible moments to relive!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the reef & waters outside right at the house!
Liked least: The boat ride to Utila for our return flight
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing