We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING, SNORKLE HEAVEN, A FEW CAVEATS”
the coral house on treasure beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the coral house on treasure beach
living room with french doors opening onto the veranda comfortable veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
the coral house on treasure beach
living room with french doors opening onto the veranda
comfortable veranda
fully equipped kitchen
morning coffee view
view from the veranda dinning table
the view from the overwater deck
lots of french doors
a comfy spot for a siesta
the coral house and our coral reef
the coral house at night
a shady spot
tropical flora
one of the neighbors
overwater sunbathing/star gazing deck
veranda
just a few steps from the veranda to your beach
snorkeling our house reef
aahhhhhh
coral house exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Utila, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Duluth, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING, SNORKLE HEAVEN, A FEW CAVEATS”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at the Coral House Feb. 24 - Mar. 4, 2016 for a belated 25th wedding anniversary trip. Highly anticipated, it lived up to most of our expectations, surpassed a few, & held just a few disappointments that were more a result of our ignorance than any deficiency with the property. Let's start with the things that had us gasping in amazement.
The water & reef! We've been to Grand Cayman, Akumal, Mexico & even Roatan but the waters & reef just outside the Coral House are mind-blowing! Crystal clear aquamarine color & incredible coral reefs. We went diving twice with Utila Cay Diving which was great, but honestly, we saw more marine life right outside our door. We were able to swim with eagle rays, southern Rays, queen and French Angels, lion fish, porcupine puffers, trunkfish, jackknife, barracuda, squirrel fish, damselfish, reef butterfly fish, and more. If you are a snorkeler you will be in paradise in the water
The house itself - very spacious, expansive master shower, nice day beds to loll on on the porch, a great hammock under the palm trees. We had no issues with the AC units, being able to leave them off while we were out snorkeling & just the windows open. We were very comfortable at night. Trish & Dave are wonderful property managers, quick to respond to anything.
We ate at only two local establishments - Buccaneers on Utila & Neptunes there u the beach from the house. Buccaneers was good, icy cold Port Royal beer $2!!! Neptunes had better food - fish tacos were great & the hush puppies with some kind of honey dip out of this world! A word to the wise - if it has been raining AT ALL in the recent past do not attempt to walk to Neptunes via the jungle road that runs behind the house. It is a sloggy, miry, mud hole of a mess! We managed 45 min of plodding through mud & stinky water before finding a cut through to the beach & walking it the rest of the way. Another caveat, if y take the beach route there is a house with mean dogs & the people living there don't seem much inclined to let you know if they will bite or not!
As to the "cons", as mentioned, take these with a grain of salt. If you are more well traveled you will probably think, "Well, duh! You should've expected that!" We'd just like to relate this more for others like us who may not know what to expect, & too, there may be a tip or two the owners might want to give attention to to make the stay even better for their guests.
The kitchen could be a bit better equipped; there were no bowls to use for storage, so be sure you add sandwich bags or something like that to your provisioning list if like us you plan to cook most of your own meals. We had a little trouble with the freezer freezing ice the last couple days. There is a washing machine & nice clothes lines on the porch but not enough clothes pins to go round ( especially when you are using a couple to hold bags closed for refrigerated food). The house seemed pretty clean but there were a couple of things that seemed to have been overlooked - cobwebs up in the ceilings in a few places, & the master shower grout looked mildewed towards the bottom. A good bleaching might get rid of that. The beds are very firm, which we don't mind, but if you are particular about your sleeping pillow bring your own.
We weren't bothered by sand flies or bugs the first few days but on the fourth evening while out on the upper deck of the dock they were voracious! We heard baby oil helps keep them away & since we got home lavender oil has helped ease the itching a lot, but definitely take something with you for prevention & itching!
The thing we were most disappointed in was the lack of advice or forewarn we received for our boat trip back to Utila for the island hopper for our return flight. It was raining some & the waters were very choppy, & the boat had no covering. It's seats were already wet, & we had dressed in the warmest clothes we packed, anticipating chilly weather back home. Our suitcases were placed in the storage area at the front of the boat ( though the big suitcase was only partially in ) & we were told we could hold a heavy plastic tarp over ourselves. We could tell the captain was doing his best to mitigate the effect of the waves, going, slowly, but still we were soon soaked through. The tarp was heavy & agonizing to hold up for a 20 min or so ride, & had numerous large holes, so the water from the waves spraying us not only ran down our backs but funneled in streams through the holes. We had a leather camera back with very expensive equipment in it that was soaked. By the time we arrived in Utila were were completely soaked as was the camera bag & the large suitcase. ( We'd also picked up another couple & they were equally wet & told us they also had a bag with their camera in it that was soaked.)
We aren't unreasonable enough to expect control of the weather or waves or even to demand a boat with a covered area. What would have been nice was a " looking out" for us, a questioning of whether we had anything that could be damaged by wetness, an offer of rain slickers, or even a suggestion of plastic bags for anything needing to stay dry.
All in all, we had a remarkable visit, with many good & incredible moments to relive!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the reef & waters outside right at the house!
Liked least: The boat ride to Utila for our return flight
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHacker...
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

BETTER THAN THE PICTURES, BETTER THAN A RESORT AND THE BEST MONEY WE HAVE EVER SPENT!
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
As I write this review, I literally have tears in my eyes. I had absolutely no idea, how much we would Love Treasure Beach and The Coral House. So, much...that we are preparing to buy a lot within The Treasure Beach area. Saying that, let me give you the specifics of "the best vacation we have ever had!"
First, when asking about The Coral House, the owner responded immediately and put me in direct touch with his Properety Managers (Trisha and Dave our new friends for life), that live a few houses down. They were very helpful and detailed, they forgot nothing. They arranged the Island hopping flight from Roatan to Utila, where they met us with a driver. They shuttled us to our Boat waiting at the dock, that brought us to the Dock of "The Coral House." This all sounds very simple, but here is the KICKER. When, arriving on Utila, and then driving thru town...it was very reminiscent of any 3 world country, but when we got to the dock in town, THERE IT WAS...THAT CARRIBEAN BLUE WATER. The 15 minute boat ride, was inching closer and closer...TO PARADISE. As we approached the Dock of The Coral House, it was like something in our Souls was awakened, we could have cared less about the house at that point, because the reef surrounding the dock (our dock for the week) was FREAKING AMAZING! As, Trish and Dave walked us thru coconut palms and almond trees to our home for the week, there she was 'THE CORAL HOUSE", fully provisioned, unbelievibly beautiful and better than any of the pics they had posted. The Coral House, was AMAZING! Trish and Dave were AMAZING, they took us to town, arranged a fishing trip, arranged scuba, provisioned our pantry, they were AWESOME...they even provided us a phone with all the Numbers plugged in, so that if we needed anything or anyone, we had it. I have to say, that between the Property, The Owner, The Property Managers...The Coral House deserves more than FIVE STARS. It is a slice of Heaven.
We will be back...in the spring! WE LOVED THIS HOME, the people, the atmosphere...it was the Best Vacation, ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyHGolde...
Golden, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Off the grid, beautiful, tranquil, high-quality”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from a week at the Coral House. There were two families - 4 adults and three kids (two 8-year olds, one 10-year old). It was A.Maz.Ing!!! I'd give this 4 1/2 - 4 3/4 if they let me shade part of a circle :)

Dave and Trish were awesome - they acted not just property managers, but concierge services as well! They helped us with our many questions before we left, helped us find the right vendors for our excursions, and helped (as much as they could) with any issues/questions we had when we were there. Stocking the house with food/drink beforehand was definitely necessary and so helpful.

They greeted us upon arrival, helped orient us to the island & house after the boat ride, and ensured we could reach them when needed. They gave us contacts for (or in some cases even booked) our fishing expedition, kayak rentals, SUP rentals, scuba/snorkel excursion and boat ride to town.

The house was wonderful - everything as advertised! Nice space, comfortable furniture. We loved the daybeds on the porch - many a minute was spent lazing and reading, playing games and watching the world go by from those.

The house could have used some smaller plates (only had dinner sized) and another pan or two, but was otherwise well-stocked.

Unfortunately there were a couple of hiccups with the house - some lights were out - one major one in the kitchen. Being remote, the availability of replacement parts can be an issue, and it was here - we understood that. We made it work by taking a bulb from a bedroom light and getting upon the counter on a chair to replace, but that was a bit of a task.

More disappointing were the air conditioners that were out in two of the bedrooms. It made for quite an uncomfortable first night. We borrowed a fan from a neighbor for the second night and then finally got word from Dave that we could try to get air from the main area by leaving on the a/c without an extra electrical charge. By night three we had decent air flow, but not ideal. Again, being remote, it's not always quick to get an electrician to come look at things as resources are limited - of course we understood. We made do, but were a bit disappointed.

Snorkeling and other water activities were great. The snorkeling on the reef right off the dock was phenomenal. You can't get that just anywhere! We were spoiled for sure.

We also rented kayaks so that the whole family could go out at once. The kids loved paddling around. We paddled up the coast, down the coast, and over to neighboring cays. The access to Jewel and Pigeon Cays was just a quick paddle, and it was fun to take in the VERY local nature of this fishing village. We also rented a couple of stand up paddle boards for a day and had a blast with those. Just hope for calm'ish waters the day you have them! The current picked up later in the afternoon creating a bit more challenge.

We watched the sunset every night from the second floor dock deck. Drinks and apps in-hand, we laid back and enjoyed. Great star-viewing, too.

Beware of the bugs - not a knock to the property, as that's just what you get when you got to the reef. We tried a lot of different remedies - lemon/eucalyptus oil, Deet, Baby oil... not sure which combination worked best. Just know if you're usually susceptible, you'll likely end up a bit speckled by week's end. Bring anti-itch medicine/allergy meds.

The house isn't for everyone - it's off the grid - no wifi, TV, etc.; no nightlife close by (you can go to town for $100+) - but for us it was paradise and just what we were wanting.

Cheers to Utila Property Managers - Dave & Trish deserve many kudos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: seclusion and service
Liked least: a/c and bugs
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diversion...
Peoria, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Treasure Beach - Your own piece of paradise in the Bay Islands.”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Eight of us just returned from a fabulous week at Treasure Beach on Utila, staying at the Coral House and its sister property, the Pineapple House.

The properties are extremely well equipped, and maintained by an excellent property management team, who see to your every need, from provisioning the houses with food and drinks of your choice before arrival, to making sure you can get to places you want to visit during your stay. A team like this is vital at a vacation property of this type, located a 20-minute boat trip from Utila Town. The houses are nicely decorated and feature spacious bedrooms and baths, as well as a massive wrap-around porch where you're likely to spend a lot of your time. Each house has its own private stretch of beach, and they share a nice dock, complete with a great rooftop sitting area perfect for drinks at sunset.

The properties couldn't be more perfect for water lovers. Snorkelers will find a reef teaming with life right off the beach, with an easy entry and exit by ladder from the end of your own dock. Scuba divers and snorkelers alike can enjoy the amazing services provided by Utila Cays Diving. They will pick you up at your own dock each morning, for a mix of diving the nearby reefs, and those a short ride away on the north side. They take care of all your gear from the beginning to the end of your trip, even rinsing and hanging it to dry right at your house at the end of your stay.

It'd be easy to have breakfast, lunch and dinner at your own house each day, but other options include a short boat ride over to the Utila Cays for lunch or dinner, or a longer ride to Neptunes for lunch, followed by drinks on their nice stretch of beach. Boat trips into Utila Town can be arranged as well, and it's worth at least one trip to explore the eclectic village. Other adventure options include kayaks, included at the houses, and stand up paddle boards from Utila Cays Diving. It's an easy and fun 15-minute kayak trip to get over to the Utila Cays for a look around. For a day trip, consider arranging a boat ride to Cayos Cochinos, where you can have lunch at a Garifuna fishing village, and snorkel and dive in the marine park there.

In short, if you want to get away from it all for awhile, and don't want to go to an all-inclusive resort or big hotel, the Pineapple and Coral houses of Treasure Beach are just right for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The secluded location is perfect for a group of divers and snorkelers.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joie_Lane
Norcross, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Secluded paradise and adventure”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

What an amazing Island and such a cool place to stay. Treasure Beach is secluded and pristine–a literal tropical paradise. You do need to have a little bit of a sense of adventure to be happy on this Island though (if you are high maintenance this is not the place for you). However, if you bring your bug spray, sunscreen and your love of the ocean, you will never want to leave...

The Coral House is fantastic and Dave and Trish were always just a phone call away if we needed them for anything! They had us set-up with everything we needed when we arrived, and the house has everything you need to make your stay wonderful. Dave got us set up with Bogdan and Utila Cays Diving. We dove West End and Duppy Waters with 3 DM's between 8 people (see my UCD dive review). First rate valet diving in small groups–perfect!

The Coral reef in front of the house is spectacular and we snorkeled it everyday except for the day we dove with UCD. Waters Cay, which is just a 20 minute Kayak trip away also has phenomenal gin clear snorkeling. Waters Cay is so cool because it has such amazing diversity. The Leeward side of the island has a huge sand bar which is great for sun worshiping. Moving from the sand bar to the turtle grass you get a beautiful well lit perspective of the reef nursery. You see tiny versions of all of the bigger fish on the windward side of the Cay. As you round the back of the Cay, the waves and coral formations start in shallow water and wrap all the way around the windward side dropping into the deep–it's like swimming through a coral forest. The under water topography is striking. There are too many fish to name, but I have added images that might help. In this case a pic is worth a thousand words. Really there is no substitute for the real thing though, so buy your tickets and GO! I can't wait to go back.

Be sure to visit the Utila Cays right across from Treasure Beach. Have lunch, get the history of the Cays, and buy some fresh fish to throw on the grill back at the house. We bought an entire hogfish filleted, and 2 lobster tails for around $30.00 US. We ate that for 3 days grilled, broiled and in fish tacos. Yummm

Take a boat trip into Utila Town and walk or tuk tuk the streets checking out the different bars and restaurants. Skid Row makes an awesome rumenade and has some tasty sandwiches. Stop into Jade Gardens to see the glass mosaic sculptures. It looks like Utila Town would be fun to hang around for a few days and a few hangovers :)

I miss it all already!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Reef in front of the house and the spectacular view
Liked least: Biting Sand flies
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review . Our little island paradise hopes you'll stay with us again, soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing