We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boat House - Best place to stay in Utila!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 14 Utila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boat House - Best place to stay in Utila!”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

You know how when you see a place on the web that looks good then you get there and it's not quite as good as it looked ........ NOT the case with Lazy daze and Boat House, much nicer than the pictures! Cozy, clean, private quiet and easy walking distance to everything. Jim & Vickie are great hosts who work hard to make sure the guests are comfortable, have what they need and making sure the property is properly maintained. Thanks for making our vacation was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlySoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
34
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is the place to stay in Utila! It is right on the edge of Utila Town. It is close to everything but not too close.

The innkeepers, Vicki & Jim are very attentive and personable. This was our second trip to Utila and we didn't even need to waste time deciding where we wanted to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cstrahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Very cozy, clean, and a great location. Had all we needed, air, kitchen, TV, near everything.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank deaztlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We were relieved staying at clean, peaceful and quiet Lazy Daze after staying at another younger crowd place. At Lazy Daze, we were kindly welcomed. We stayed in room 1 and although it is right by the street, we didn't mind the very little noise of the vehicles. It is located close to a great diving center and the best restaurant on the island. We appreciated the dock at Lazy Daze where we hopped onto the catamaran to Roatan. The room was very clean and cozy. We loved the spacious closet. We wish we had stayed there longer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1destinationAyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Lazy Daze offers beautiful accommodations and a great location on the small island of Utila, part of the Bay Islands of Honduras. There are both single rooms and apartments, as well as a fantastic Boat House offered at Lazy Daze. I had booked a single room for two weeks of scuba diving (at Alton's Dive Center, located just two docks away, which I can recommend as well) and Vicki offered to upgrade me to one of the two room apartments because it was available. Both offer A/C, private bath, cable TV, kitchen (the apartment added a stove), and are beautifully kept up and cleaned (the cleaning lady who came on Friday of my stay was FANTASTIC).

To top it off, all rooms are just steps from the dock and the water. Nothing like floating around off your own private dock. Or watching the sunsets over the ocean.

Vicki and Jim are extremely helpful about finding things on the island, helping you get settled, and figuring out things when you get confused by "the island way of doing things". Some of the nicest folks you will meet.

It is close enough to everything to walk. Overall, a great place to stay which contributed to my having a great two weeks in Utila.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank das404ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utila hotels
1.2 km away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.1 km away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
43 reviews
0.9 km away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
69 reviews
1.5 km away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 8 in Utila
48 reviews
0.9 km away
Mango Inn Resort
Mango Inn Resort
#5 of 14 in Utila
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Daze on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Daze on the Bay

Property: Lazy Daze on the Bay
Address: The Point, Utila 34210, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Price range (per night): $100 - $141
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel located right on the waterfront of Utila bay. Just a short walk from the center of town and with a range of accommodations, we specialize in helping divers and those who simply want to relax and enjoy our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lazy Daze on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing