We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History/Adventure/Paradise wrapped in a dream!”
Review of Mango Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mango Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Mango Creek is as charming as are the hosts Terry and Patrice. The cottages with decks are built over the water and are painted bright caribbean colors. A walk around the property reveals Terry and Patrice's hidden dream home, walking paths, bridges and is beautifully landscaped. The surrounding landscape is steep with thick tropical vegetation, duppies (ghosts) and possible pirate treasure.

Ask Patrice if you can read her copy of Anne Jennings book, "Roatan Odyssey" or pick up a copy at BJ's bar in Oak Ridge when Terry picks you up. It will give you a flavor of the area you are to visit.

We enjoyed our daily adventures: kayaking to the reef in front of the lodge and seeing a magnificent eagle ray, a boat adventure to the mangroves looking for sea crocodiles, a boat trip to Pigeon Key where we snorkeled and saw pristine coral, sea fans and fish. We stopped to snorkel at a ship wreak. Scuba diving with our instructor Leif was fun. We sailed around the tiny Cow and Calf cayes.

We enjoyed the informal meal times and lengthy conversations with Terry and Patrice and other guests and neighbors who stopped by. We were treated to a very romantic candlelight lobster dinner on top of the boat house one evening!

The week went by too fast. We hope to visit again sometime and encourage anyone who wants to "unplug', enjoy nature, and have some adventure to stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARGONAUT_DIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Mango Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

What a breath taking and relaxing vacation after we got married. We loved the food, accommodations and the adventures. We would love to bring friends back to such a beautiful place! Our favorite day was a trip to Pigeon Key to snorkel, on the way there we fished a bit and had the chance to swim with a pod of dolphins-amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We spent a wonderful week at Mango Creek. Terry and Patrice are excellent hosts, the cabanas are beautiful and very, very clean. Food was great and plentiful. Snorkeling was outstanding! Trip to Pigeon Key was like a great way to end the week, a remote island with beautful white sand beach, great snorkeling, fishing even a novice can do (Michael and Walter are great guides) and no one else around. Most relaxing vacation we've had in years.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Mango Creek is a truly amazing place and a great adventure starting with BJ's Bar in Oak Ridge where we waited to be picked up. We had a few beers and a great time there visiting with the ex pats and locals and BJ herself. We traveled by boat to the lodge, colorful cabanas over the water with lovely wooden interiors and furniture. Beautiful setting , beautiful property , lovely people who own it. We did not come to fish, although they do a lot of that there, but we did snorkle and one day went to Pigeon Cay for swimming and snorkling with lunch prepared and served on the beach by Dalia the most amazing cook. Seriously, some of the best food we experienced on the island. French toast made with bread she had made the night before, coconut shrimp with the coconut fresh off the tree, I could go on and on about the food it was that good. Terry and Patrice are great hosts and such interesting people. They really make you feel like part of the family. The few days we spent there were so relaxing. Eastern Roatan is so beautiful. If you get the chance don't miss Mango creek. Well worth it .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara94941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This place is amazing! We visited in the middle of january and the weather was perfect. Terry picks you up at the airport personally. You then have a scenic drive to the town of Oakridge where you can grab a beer at BJ's for your boat ride to Mango Creek. As you arrive via boat at MC all your troubles seem to disappear instantly. This place takes your breath away. The pictures online do not do it justice. As we walked into our over-the-water bungalow all we could do was shake our heads and keep say "amazing". The bungalow was handcrafted, clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable. The view from the deck is simply increadible. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are prepared with local fresh food. Guest staying at MC eat together which really turned out to be cool. We met some fascinating people from all over the world. MC has ample supplies of beer, wine and mixed drinks. For fun we went spin fishing with Michael. We caught a lot of fish including barracuda, tuna, mackerel and needlefish. It is obvious Michael is passionate about fishing and making sure we have have a good time (which we did). Definitely see Pigeon Beach for some snorkeling..its outstanding. Also, make time to take out the kayaks and do some snorkeling on your own. Our last day was spent on a private beach (just the two of us) snorkeling, swimming, hanging out and drinking beer. Prior to heading out on the kayaks we told Terry we would not be back for lunch. To our surpirse he had a boat deliver lunch to us! The amount of care Terry and Patrice put into their guests, environment and treatment of their staff (and families) is truly rare. There is no place in the world that would treat you better. From the staff to the scenic view (day and night), this place is worth every dollar. We have a rule to never visit the same place twice - to many places to see in the world. However, since visiting MC we decided this rule does not apply to them... We actually HAVE to go back to!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the over-the-water bungalows.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelken1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
34.5 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
19.3 km away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
30.2 km away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.3 km away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
598 reviews
11.9 km away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
346 reviews
32.1 km away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Creek Lodge

Address: N/a | Port Royal, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Price Range: $422 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Creek Lodge is the premier eco resort of Roatan. Located in secluded Port Royal, Mango Creek Lodge offers superb saltwater fly-fishing, angling, diving, snorkeling, hiking and kayaking in Roatan’s East End. Our over-the-water cabanas offer guests a private piece of paradise. Each cabana is furnished with a queen sized and single bed and opens up onto a private dock overlooking the Caribbean. We offer all inclusive packages and nightly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mango Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Creek Hotel Roatan
Mango Creek Lodge Roatan, Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing