We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Guatemalan Coffee Plantation

Had a great tour with Jose to a typical working coffee plantation. Booked it just one day ahead... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Annabel D
,
London, United Kingdom
Camping at volcano viewpoint

My son and I had an amazing experience with Jose!! He was friendly and accommodating. He let my son... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sarah C
,
Thuwal, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
via mobile
Read all 33 reviews
  
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
29
1
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
1
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local families private shuttle local guide hot springs great trek lago atitlan day hike santa maria jose rony competitive viewpoint temazcal sauna bags laguna treks
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

I did the 3 day hike from Xela to Lake Atitlán in a very small group organized by Monte Verde Tours and it was great! I booked the tour with Quetzal Tours, but I can't recommend this agency, they don't give lots of information - except of telling you to go to the supermarket to buy water and chocolate... Anyway I'm happy they assigned me to Monte Verde Tours. Kaqchel tours instead gave lots of information about the hike itself and what to bring, but unfortunately there was no group I could have joined.
Monte Verde is definitely a very good choice.
Our guide Carlos was great, he's a very judicious and responsible guide, there is no rush and you can always take your time. You really feel that for him it's not just a job, he's enjoying the scenery and nature like you do and always has a nice chat with the local people! He even organizes individual tours. You can contact him via WhatsApp +50257648465. Tanks a lot!

1  Thank sim1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzal T, Propietario at Quetzal Tours Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

i apreciate the review, but is not convincing of what has been said here. i think someone payed you to promote other agencies, and give a bad review to Quetzal Tours, just to get other agencies business. if we sent you to another company, it is because you did not want to pay the adecuate payment for 1 person.. we tried everytime within our reach to do the best for you, so you can have a just
and fair price for the trip, so you would enjoy our country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Three day Xela to Lago hike with Alex was amazing. We hiked through farms and forests and Alex was great with telling us the names of the plants and trees. Sometimes the hike was challenging and very steep, but Alex was patient and went at our pace. Staying with local families was a hilight, as was the Temascal (Mayan Sauna).

The first night we stayed in a little village, very traditional. It was raining, so we were happy to relax on the porch and read or chat with each other. The second night we stayed in a town. We arrived early in the afternoon, so we had time to explore the town, visit the market, see the church and the Central Park, drink a beer and talk/play with the local children. All of the local people were quite friendly and we had a great time singing the alphabet song with the kids (singing in four different languages). Our host family had some fresh black beans for sale and Alex explined how to prepare them.
We had a small group, so it seemed very personalized. The trip was very well organized and when we arrived in San Pedro la Laguna our bags and onward transportation were there and waiting for us. No wasted time!
Thank You Quetzal Tours for a wonderful time!

Thank chey_baybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzal T, Propietario at Quetzal Tours Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thankyou by giving us the oportunity to orginize your activities in our country and very thankyou for your support too therer are only a feew tourists who lakes supporting local people one of them you are so you are the best people on the world very thankyou again i hope i will see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Did a 3 day trek from xela to lake atitlan. Really enjoyed that our guide Alex was local and knew a lot of stories and the local community. We slept at locals families, which made it even better. Don’t forget to try to the maya sauna!!

Thank miaravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzal T, Gerente at Quetzal Tours Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Vey thankyou for your support we really apreciate that you gave us the oportunity working in our country that is a way how we can survive as mayan people in Guatemala very thankyou again come back to Guatemala we will be more than happy guiding you in our Countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We made a great trek in the mountains of Guatemala from Xela to San Pedro for three days. It was wonderful and our guide Alejandro was so kind, helpful and funny. We wanted to collaborate with a local agency. It was exactly what we expected of this trek. We were a perfect group of 5. Having a local guide facilitate us the contact with the Local people and we learned many things about Guatemala. The organisation was perfect : meals, timing, homestay and temazcal . We recommended of course this company. Don't hesitate to go with them!

Thank Lionel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzal T, Propietario at Quetzal Tours Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Very thankyou Lionel C we really apreciate your support and apreciating our cuture is amazing for us again thankyou to all of the 5 trekers of you guys congratulation you were really good trekers you are welcome to guatemala ( Xela) any time you want to come back Quetzal Tours Guatemala is your home thanks guys I wish the best for you in all your trip!. Jose Quetzal Tours coordinator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

The manager Jose was very helpfull and flexible in planing our 3-day trip from Xela-Lago Atitlan. Any question i had Jose was able to answer on weChat within a half-hour.

We ended up doing this trek as only two poeple, but still got a more than fair price. During the hike we had a Great tourguide Alex!

I really dont have any negative to say about this company, and would highly recomend them for anyone :)

1  Thank GeorgH454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzal T, Propietario at Quetzal Tours Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks George for your support we love our job so hope you come back to xela for more adventures! .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews