We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Great Service

Used Jose and Quetzla tours for transportation for roundtrip from Coatepeque to Antigua during the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
lmulion03
,
Los ANgeles
Reliable and fun

I've used Quetzal Tours 4 times: to Fuentes georginas, santa maria hike, and two times for... read more

Reviewed 4 December 2018
Donya a
,
Helsinki, Finland
via mobile
Read all 38 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Quetzaltenango
from USD 44.00
More Info
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
32
1
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
1
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee plantation open fire customer support shuttle service local families local guide great tour fair price his customers watch the sunrise day trek santa maria lake atitlan other companies the owner first night private shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Three day Xela to Lago hike with Alex was amazing. We hiked through farms and forests and Alex was great with telling us the names of the plants and trees. Sometimes the hike was challenging and very steep, but Alex was patient and went at our pace. Staying with local families was a hilight, as was the Temascal (Mayan Sauna).

The first night we stayed in a little village, very traditional. It was raining, so we were happy to relax on the porch and read or chat with each other. The second night we stayed in a town. We arrived early in the afternoon, so we had time to explore the town, visit the market, see the church and the Central Park, drink a beer and talk/play with the local children. All of the local people were quite friendly and we had a great time singing the alphabet song with the kids (singing in four different languages). Our host family had some fresh black beans for sale and Alex explined how to prepare them.
We had a small group, so it seemed very personalized. The trip was very well organized and when we arrived in San Pedro la Laguna our bags and onward transportation were there and waiting for us. No wasted time!
Thank You Quetzal Tours for a wonderful time!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank chey_baybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzal T, Propietario at Quetzal Tours Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thankyou by giving us the oportunity to orginize your activities in our country and very thankyou for your support too therer are only a feew tourists who lakes supporting local people one of them you are so you are the best people on the world very thankyou again i hope i will see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Did a 3 day trek from xela to lake atitlan. Really enjoyed that our guide Alex was local and knew a lot of stories and the local community. We slept at locals families, which made it even better. Don’t forget to try to the maya sauna!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank miaravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzal T, Gerente at Quetzal Tours Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Vey thankyou for your support we really apreciate that you gave us the oportunity working in our country that is a way how we can survive as mayan people in Guatemala very thankyou again come back to Guatemala we will be more than happy guiding you in our Countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We made a great trek in the mountains of Guatemala from Xela to San Pedro for three days. It was wonderful and our guide Alejandro was so kind, helpful and funny. We wanted to collaborate with a local agency. It was exactly what we expected of this trek. We were a perfect group of 5. Having a local guide facilitate us the contact with the Local people and we learned many things about Guatemala. The organisation was perfect : meals, timing, homestay and temazcal . We recommended of course this company. Don't hesitate to go with them!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Lionel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzal T, Propietario at Quetzal Tours Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Very thankyou Lionel C we really apreciate your support and apreciating our cuture is amazing for us again thankyou to all of the 5 trekers of you guys congratulation you were really good trekers you are welcome to guatemala ( Xela) any time you want to come back Quetzal Tours Guatemala is your home thanks guys I wish the best for you in all your trip!. Jose Quetzal Tours coordinator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

The manager Jose was very helpfull and flexible in planing our 3-day trip from Xela-Lago Atitlan. Any question i had Jose was able to answer on weChat within a half-hour.

We ended up doing this trek as only two poeple, but still got a more than fair price. During the hike we had a Great tourguide Alex!

I really dont have any negative to say about this company, and would highly recomend them for anyone :)

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank GeorgH454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzal T, Propietario at Quetzal Tours Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks George for your support we love our job so hope you come back to xela for more adventures! .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

I had a fantastic tour to Laguna Chicabal: there is also a view point so you can look at Santa María/ Santiaguito at the same time. Great to go with a local guide: Jose was very knowledgeable and also great company! The prices are very competitive especially if you are a group with multiple people

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzal T, Propietario at Quetzal Tours Guatemala, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks Beky really thankyou I Loved guiding you hope your next trip in guatemala we will guide you for more adventure, you are so kind! . Jose Quetzal Tours Guatemala Coordinator!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews